Affiliated Leagues


BFNL - October Newsletter

Congratulations to all netball and football teams who competed in the 2016 finals series.  There were competitive matches played in all levels of football and netball.  In the senior football, Sandhurst defeated Golden Square to win their first premiership since 2004. Kangaroo Flat won A grade netball for the second time in three years. Sandhurst also won the reserves football, while in the U18’s Strathfieldsaye won back to back premierships.  Golden Square netballers also won back to back premierships in the A reserve.  Kangaroo Flat won B grade, South Bendigo won B reserve and Gisborne were premiers in 17/U netball.

The 2016 Michelsen Medal was awarded to Sandhurst’s Kristan Height, who previously won the Morris Medal in the Ovens and Murray League and the Morrison Medal in the Goulburn Valley League.  Height completed the rare triple winning the Michelsen Medal, a premiership and the Nalder Medal for Best on Ground in the Grand Final. 

Brianna Dalrymple-Monro of Strathfieldsaye won her second Betty Thompson Medal after winning in 2011. 

Congratulations to Kangaroo Flat’s Nathan Newlan who won his second McDonald Medal for the Reserves after winning last year. Braydon Welsh of Golden Square and Oliver Leonard-Shannon of Sandhurst were joint winners of the U/18 George Symons Medal.  

Sandhurst’s Erica Dalrymple-Monro won the Holburn Medal for A Reserve while Kyneton’s Jess Mangan won the B grade best and fairest and Chelsea Crapper of Strathfieldsaye won the B Reserve medal.  Melinda Luke of Gisborne and Danielle Markwell of Kangaroo Flat were joint winners of the 17/U Sing Medal. 

The David McCann Champion Club went to Golden Square for the second year in a row.  This award recognises club success and depth in all grades of netball and football and is something all clubs should aspire to win.

The final series was extremely successful despite the weather.  It was great to once again have the BJFL U/16 grand final prior to the preliminary finals, showcasing the up and coming talent in our region.  Having the opportunity to play on a ground such as the Queen Elizabeth Oval is wonderful and we thank the City of Greater Bendigo for their support with this. 

Football and netball seasons are long and as a league we rely heavily upon a volunteer workforce at club level both during the home and away season and also during the finals series.  Many thanks to the netball and football umpires who have officiated throughout the season. Thank you also to our tribunal officials for the work they have done diligently throughout the year.    

Congratulations to our Senior Football Interleague team who defeated Gippsland and our Open Netball team who were runners up in the Netball Victoria Association Championships. 

We are appreciative of the support we receive from our sponsors and media partners.  Bendigo Bank have been a long term sponsor while others such as Bendigo Mazda have given excellent support.  Also thanks to our other sponsors, Carlton and United Breweries, Bart n Print, AFS, Sherrin, Workforce XS, Workspace Australia and SportPower and our media partners WIN TV, Fresh FM and the Bendigo Advertiser. We are fortunate to have support from our football patron, Craig Lapsley and netball patron Senator Bridget McKenzie.

Finally, congratulations to club presidents, committees, coaches, support staff and players on a successful season.  


Categories: BFNL NewsNumber of views: 1484