Affiliated Leagues


Downie leads Loddon Valley at Horsham

by Nathan Dole

A GUN recruit to Mitiamo this year, Tyrone Downie is captain of the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley Football League’s senior team for Saturday’s clash with Horsham District.

The Wayne Mitrovic-coached LVFNL line-up will trek west to play at Horsham City Oval in the Worksafe AFL Victoria Community Championships action.

Recruited by Mitiamo from Barooga, Downie’s experience and skill inside the forward 50m arc will be a huge plus as Loddon Valley chases back-to-back wins at inter-league level.

A co-coach of the Superoos, Downie previously coached at Kangaroo Flat and Barooga.

The talented forward also played for Bendigo Gold in the VFL and was drafted by Gold Coast Suns as a mature-age rookie.

In Horsham, Downie will team with Mitiamo clubmates Ryan Wellington and Lachlan Woodward; Pyramid Hill’s Bailey George; Harry Gadsden from Bears Lagoon Serpentine; and Bridgewater’s Darren Clutton against Horsham’s defence.

The marking power of Wellington and Clutton, now a member of the LVFNL’s 200 club and a seven-time premiership player for the Mean Machine, will test the opposition all match.

In defence, Loddon Valley has Harry Graham from Marong, Bridgewater’s Joseph Mayes and Maiden Gully YCW’s Alex Pearson to rebound from the half-back line.

The play of Mitiamo’s Jarryd Wiegard and Max Simpson will be crucial.

An in-form midfield is led by Mitiamo’s Terence Reeves, with the pacy Nic Waterson from Maiden Gully YCW and Peter Rothacker from Bridgewater on the wings.

Bears Lagoon-Serpentine ruckman Nathan Twigg will team up with the classy Jake Hall from Calivil United, and Pyramid Hill star Billy Micevski.

Loddon Valley v Horsham District

Saturday at Horsham City Oval



B: Jarryd Wiegard (Miti.), Max Simpson (Miti.), Chris McLean (New.)

Hb: Joseph Mayes (Bw), Harry Graham (Mar.), Alex Pearson (MGYCW)

C: Peter Rothacker (Bw), Terence Reeves (Miti.), Nic Waterson (MGYCW)

Hf: Harry Gadsden (BLS), Ryan Wellington (Miti.), Lachlan Woodward (Miti).

F: Bailey George (PH), Darren Clutton (Bw), Tyrone Downie (capt., Miti.)

Foll: Nathan Twigg (BLS), Billy Micevski (PH), Jake Hall (CU)

Inter: Justin Hynes (Mar.), Sean Moyle (MGYCW), Tyler Romeril (New.), Dylan Clohesy (Miti.)

Coach: Wayne Mitrovic (MGYCW).

Club legend – BLS Bears Lagoon Serpentine; Bw Bridgewater; CU Calivil United; MGYCW Maiden Gully YCW; Mar. Marong; Miti. Mitiamo; New. Newbridge; PH Pyramid Hill.


B: L. Middleton, B. Ervin, N. Byrne

Hb: C. Deutscher, M. Butler, D. Folkes

C: P. Staude, S. Hobbs, S. Carey

Hf: R. Folkes, S. Close, P. Weir

F: J. Cocks, N. Koenig, J. Gunn

Foll: J. Ryan, N. Pekin, E. Guthrue

Inter: R. Miller, T. Cooper, M. Healy, N. Clough



Mitchell Ronchieri (Bears Lagoon Serpentine); Harry McKinley, Nicholas Naughton, Will Stringer (Bridgewater); Jack Demeo, Mikey Maxey, Jack Sinclair, Jedd Thompson (Calivil United); Tate Brealey, Jaidyn Berry, Caleb Flood, Mason James, Callum March, Darcy McKinley, Kallum Schepers, Joshua Worsley (Maiden Gully YCW); Mitchell Colston, Fraser Millar, Gus Reade (Marong); Joshua  Covington (Newbridge); Ed Caburnay, Brad Moon (Pyramid Hill).

Coach: Bill Higgs.


Loddon Valley – Anita Dorrington, Carly Scholes, Jessey Wilson (Bridgewater); Tegan Bickerdie, Kim Dalton (Marong); Amelia Ludeman, Lucy Morcom (Mitiamo); Alyssa Cole, Leah Dixon, Jane Reid (Newbridge).

Coach: Carmen Shevlin.

17-UNDER NETBALL, 12.30pm:

Loddon Valley – Macey Holland (Bears Lagoon Serpentine); Bridget Baker, Mila Grant, Mia Peters (Calivil United); Olivia Hall (Maiden Gully YCW); Jordan Broad, Olivia Hampson, Jorja Moon, Amy Murfitt (Pyramid Hill).

Coach: Karlee Gilmore.


Categories: All NewsNumber of views: 224