Affiliated Leagues




Worksafe AFL Victoria Country has released an initial senior representative squad ahead of its 2017 Brian Molony Cup clash against the Victorian Amateur Football Association (VAFA) on July 8.

Thirty-eight of Victoria’s best country players are in the running to don the Big V jumper when the pair meet at Frankston City Oval next month.

Eight different country football leagues are represented in the initial squad, with Ovens & Murray Football League (eight), Geelong Football League (eight), Mornington Peninsula Nepean Football League (five) and Ballarat Football League (five) boasting the most selections.

Three training sessions will be conducted in the lead up to the representative clash, with the final squad to be trimmed to 22-players.

Held biennially, the 2017 Brian Molony Cup is set to reignite one of the longest-standing rivalries in community football, as the best from the bush take on the best from the burbs.

WorkSafe AFL Victoria Country will be looking to extend its winning streak over the VAFA after defeating their metro rivals by 62-points in the pair’s last meeting at Bendigo in 2015.

Country Victoria’s top senior footballers will be led by former AFL player and coach and Bungaree Football Club product Danny Frawley, who took over the reins from Hawthorn legend Peter Knights last year.

WorkSafe AFL Victoria Country Football Manager Jim Cail said the 2017 Brian Molony Cup presented country Victoria’s top community players with the opportunity to showcase their skills.

“The Brian Molony Cup provides an opportunity for some of country Victoria’s best senior players to test themselves against the top talent in the state.

“For some players, the Brian Molony Cup will be the highest level of football they will play in their career, while for others, it is a chance to move a step closer to achieving their AFL dreams,” he said.

“In addition, a number of players who have gone on to play at the elite level will also enjoy the challenge of playing in a representative competition and donning the Big-V jumper.”

The 2017 Brian Molony Cup will kick off at 2:15pm at Frankston City Oval on Saturday July 8.


Rob Condy Geelong FNL Newtown Chilwell FNC
Matt Dussin Ovens & Murray FL Myrtleford FNC
Jonathon Spina Ovens & Murray FL Lavington FNC
Dylan Jones MPNFL Bonbeach FNC
Jayden Symes Geelong FNL Geelong West Giants FNC
Lachlan Howe Ovens & Murray FL Yarrawonga FNC
Ben Monkhorst AFL Yarra Ranges Woori Yallock FNC
Scott Dwyer AFL Yarra Ranges Wandin FNC
Michael Newton Ovens & Murray FL Wangaratta FNC
Matt Thornton Bendigo FNL Sandhurst FNC
Sam Dobson Geelong FNL St. Mary’s FNC
Aaron Edwards MPNFL Pines FNC
Rory Taggert Hampden FNL North Warrnambool Eagles FNC
Tim McIntyre Hampden FNL Koroit FNC
Steven Stroobandts Goulburn Valley FNL Rochester FNC
Jarrah Maksymow Ballarat FNL Bacchus Marsh FNC
Shane McDonald MPNFL Bonbeach FNC
Jason Davenport Geelong FNL North Shore FNC
Campbell Floyd Geelong FNL Colac FNC
Matthew McMahon Geelong FNL Newtown Chilwell FNC
Chris Moreland Geelong FNL Geelong West Giants FNC
Scott MacLeod MPNFL Frankston YCW FNC
Jason Cole Goulburn Valley FNL Seymour FNC
Nathan Marrone Goulburn Valley FNL Rochester FNC
Elliott Powell Ovens & Murray FL Albury FNC
Brian Graham Ballarat FNL Darley FNC
Scott Sherlock Ballarat FNL Bacchus Marsh FNC
Andrew Collins Bendigo FNL Sandhurst FNC
Ben Dobson Geelong FNL St. Mary’s FNC
Sam Martyn Goulburn Valley FNL Benalla FNC
Kyle Hutchison MPNFL Frankston YCW FNC
Brayden O’Hara Ovens & Murray FL Albury FNC
Jack Geary Bendigo FNL Golden Square FNC
Michael Bordignon Ovens & Murray FL Wangarratta FNC
Liam Hoy Ballarat FNL Redan FNC
Shane Page Ballarat FNL Darley FNC
Codie Price Bendigo FNL Sandhurst FNC
Jack Di Mizio Ovens & Murray FL Wodonga Raiders FNC



Categories: All NewsNumber of views: 890