Affiliated Leagues


Tigers captain earns Kyneton’s team champion award

by Nathan Dole

KYNETON captain Josh Govan capped a superb season in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League  by winning the Tigers seniors best and fairest award.

The tough on-baller played a crucial role in the club’s  run to a third-place finish and the double chance for the finals action.

Govan’s play earned selection in the Bendigo Advertiser Team of the Year on the interchange bench.

Runner-up for the Tigers’ major award was ruck-rover Rhys Magin, a three-time winner of the club’s best and fairest.

The Tigers’ most valuable player award was presented to key defender Harrison Huntley.

Magin and Huntley were selected as ruck-rover and full-back in the Bendigo Advertiser Team of the Year.

On the goalkicking front, Ethan Foreman led the Tigers attack on 58 goals.

The Luke Beattie-coached senior line-up achieved a win-loss record of 12-5 after it kicked off the season with a draw against South Bendigo at Tigerland.

Kyneton’s finals campaign was not so great as Eaglehawk and Sandhurst scored big wins.

Winner of the Kyneton senior women's footy best and fairest award was Teagan Ainslie.  Runner-up was Natalie Korinfsky."

On the netball court, Kyneton scored a 47-46 victory against Kangaroo Flat to be premiers in the A-reserve competition.

Michelle Fletcher was best and fairest for the premiership-winning team as Jessica Mangan and Hayley Page were joint runners-up.

It was double celebration for the Mangans as Brooke Mangan was named most valuable player.

Kyneton FNC award winners for the 2018 season:

Senior football:

Best and fairest: Josh Govan.

Runner-up: Rhys Magin.

Most valuable player: Harrison Huntley.

Reserves football:

Best and fairest: Tim Kirk.

Runner-up: Darcy Kelly.

Coaches award: Jacob Plowman.

Under-18 football:

Best and fairest: Jonah Harris.

Runner-up: Angus Livingstone.

Coaches award: Ethan Turner.

A-reserve netball:

Best and fairest: Michelle Fletcher.

Runners-up: Jessica Mangan, Hayley Page.

Most valuable player: Brooke Mangan.

B-grade netball:

Best and fairest: Rebecca Ingleton.

Runner-up: Maggie Copeland.

Coaches award: Lilly Nolte.

B-reserve netball:

Best and fairest: Jessica Seddon.

Runner-up: Alisha Turner.

Coaches award: Sharryn Smith.


Categories: All NewsNumber of views: 545