Affiliated Leagues


Top three victorious in final round

by Nathan Dole

THE league’s top three teams were victorious in the weekend’s 15th and final round of the IGA-backed Central Victoria Women’s football league.

It was closely-fought contest at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye on Sunday as Storm took on Eaglehawk.

The Hawks most recent hit-out against Storm ended in a 47-1 victory for the Two Blues on home turf at Canterbury Park.

On Sunday it was Storm which led 7-2 at quarter-time and then added two goals to just three points in the second quarter for a 19-5 lead at the long break.

Strathfieldsaye’s dominance rolled on in the third term as it kicked two goals, although the Hawks did score their first goal.

The Borough won the final term, 6-1, but it was Strathfieldsaye which marked its eighth win of the season in a 5.3 (33) to 2.7 (19) result.

Tameeka Morrissey led Strathfieldsaye’s attack on two goals as Laurelle Brown, Liza Edwards and Grace Edlin were on target.

Goalkickers for Eaglehawk were Emma McLean and Rebecca Wray.

Best for Storm were Kirsten McCoy, Angela Gamble, Roslyn Hynes, Mikaela Warne, Grace Edlin and Crystal West.

Lauren Maloney, Megan Bagnall, Taylor Bellesini, Alex Prosser, Georgina Hyett and Jacynta Cochrane played well for Eaglehawk.

The round kicked off under the Kyneton Showgrounds lights on Friday night as the Tigers took on Kangaroo Flat.

A 10-goal haul by Kelly Mensforth led the Roos to a 15.16 (106) to 0.1 (1) victory.

Mensforth also clinched the league goalkicking award as she finished on 42 goals, eight clear of Golden Square’s Amanda Carrod on 34.

Despite the cool conditions, the Roos were in hot form as they led 13.13 to nil at three quarter-time.

The play of Mensforth was superb as Lily McNair, two goals, Lily Campbell, Eilish Cumming and Shelby Knoll were also on target.

Best for Kangaroo Flat were Kelly Mensforth, Lily McNair, Sarah Moerke, Lily Campbell, Millee Rice and Kate Hare.

Mikaela Holman, Shannon White, Paige Webber-Mirkin, Emily Gibson, Heidi Erasmus and Skye Sinclair worked hard on a tough night for the Tigers.

It was the battle of the Bulldogs as North Bendigo took on Golden Square at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street, North Bendigo on Sunday.

Square made a brilliant start as it chased a 15th consecutive victory.

The blue and gold led 6.3 to 0.1 at quarter-time, and 60-1 at half-time.

North Bendigo lifted its defensive play to limit the visitors to 2.4 in the second half, but the home team was scoreless.

At the final siren, Golden Square led 11.10 (76) to 0.1 (1).

The Golden Square attack was led by Sarah Baldwin, Olivia McEvoy and Liz Watkins on two goals apiece.

Best for the ladder leaders were Jane Mackinlay, Madeleine White, Letisha Stewart, Olivia McEvoy, Liz Watkins and Carly McRae.

Dayna  Parsons, Roweena Ilsley, Dayna McGough, Jesse Jorgensen, Sharna Appleby and Tracey Anderson played well for North Bendigo.

Central Victoria Football women’s league ladder:

Golden Square 853 per cent, 56 points; Kangaroo Flat 444, 52; Strathfieldsaye 115, 32; North Bendigo 49, 20; Kyneton 24, 12; Eaglehawk 23, 8.

Leaders in the goalkicking race were Kangaroo Flat’s Kelly Mensforth, 42; Golden Square’s Amanda Carrod, 34; Strathfieldsaye’s Britney Mueck, 31; Kangaroo Flat’s Shelby Knoll, 27; Golden Square team-mates Olivia McEvoy and Sarah Ingram on 22 and 18.

Best for their respective clubs were North Bendigo’s Alisha Lourie, 16; Kyneton’s Heidi Erasmus, 14; and Eaglehawk’s Emma McLean on 11.

Finals action kicks off this Sunday at Weeroona Oval in Napier Street, Bendigo.

Strathfieldsaye and North Bendigo will fight to keep their season alive when they contest the first semi-final from 1pm.

Golden Square and Kangaroo Flat meet in the second semi-final at 2.45pm.

The winner of the Square and Flat contest advances to the September 1 grand final.


Categories: All NewsNumber of views: 222