Affiliated Leagues


Young Bloods fire up to beat Storm in under-16s preliminary

by Nathan Dole

SOUTH Bendigo fought back brilliantly to beat Strathfieldsaye in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Junior Football League’s under-16s seniors preliminary final on Saturday.

The clash between the Bloods and Storm at the Queen Elizabeth Oval was one of many highlights in week three of the IGA and Cavalier Homes-backed BJFL finals series.

South Bendigo led 30-17 at half-time, but Storm dominated the third term to add 3.3 to 0.2.

The play of Wil McCaig, Darcy Radford, James Tyack and Jai Adams inspired the Bloods as they scored 4.2 to 1.2 to complete a 9.4 (58) to 6.10 (46) victory.

Bryce Laird and Thomas Martin kicked two goals each for the Bloods who will now face Sandhurst in this Saturday’s grand final at the QEO.

Best and goalkickers for Strathfieldsaye were not supplied.

In the under-18 girls competition, Golden Square defeated Strathfieldsaye by three points.

The Rising Star in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s netball competition, Bree Heiden was best afield as Golden Square won 2.5 (17) to 1.8 (14).

Brooke Hards, Annabel Strahan and Molly Pianta were best for the blue and gold.

Strathfieldsaye’s best were Tara Slender, Maeve Tupper, Alice Bailey and Eliza Long.

The under-18 girls grand final between Kangaroo Flat and Golden Square will be played on Sunday from 4pm at Enterprise Oval, Tannery Lane, Strathfieldsaye.

Strathfieldsaye Thunder capped a terrific last quarter fightback to defeat Kyneton in the under-15 girls preliminary final by three points.

The Tigers led 33-19 at three-quarter time.

Thunder fired up to score 2.5 to nil in the last to clinch a 5.6 (36) to 5.3 (33) victory.

Natasha Bratby and Indi Power kicked two goals in a superb team effort by Thunder.

Paige Koliba led Kyneton’s attack on two goals and was best along with Lexie Turner, Lila Freeman and Eliza Bell.

Thunder faces Sandhurst in Sunday’s grand final at Enterprise Oval.

The under-16 reserves preliminary final ended in a 15-point victory for Huntly against South Bendigo.

Waylon Draper kicked four goals as the Hawks won 8.10 (58) to 6.7 (43).

The Bloods’ attack was led by Jack Di Valentine on three goals.

Best for the Hawks were James Fleming, Harry Kjaer, Mitchell Billings and Ben Hilson.

South Bendigo’s best were Oska Smith, Jakub Fitzsimmons, Andrew Bennett and Conor O’Toole.

The under-14s seniors clash ended in 52-40 win by Strathfieldsaye against Kyneton.

Eaglehawk dominated the under-14 reserves 1 match against Castlemaine.

The Hawks won 10.23 (83) to 8.5 (53).

Zac Hillier kicked two goals and was best for the Hawks along with Izak O’Sullivan, Kody Cairns-Oxley and Caelab Wall.

The Magpies’ attack was led by Campbell McLennan and Daniel Chaplin on three goals.

Chaplin, Taylar McKnight, Joseph Corcoran and Asher Buther played well for Castlemaine.

Dockers fought back from a 14-point deficit at half-time to win the under-14 reserves 2 preliminary final against Kangaroo Flat by two goals.

Wilson Butler booted three goals and William King added two goals in a 56-44 victory.

Best for the Dockers were Nicholas Alexander, Matthew Griffin, Lachlan Doran and Connor Rowshan.

The Kangaroos’ best were Ryan Hocking, Brayden Crandell, Ronnie Grant and Jarred Brown.

Golden Square won its way to the under-12A grand final.

The Bulldogs defeated Kyneton, 7.9 (51) to 3.11 (29).

Max Lowery kicked three goals and was best for a Golden Square team in which Dash Daniels, Hunter Boswell and Sampson Tully played well.

Kyneton’s best were Jye Chambers, Lincoln Koliba, Oliver Morris and Angus Mills.

The under-12A reserve preliminary final between Golden Square and Quarry Hill ended in a 59-18 win for the Bulldogs.

Seth Anderson kicked three goals for the blue and gold.

Hunter Wright, Raymond McNamara, Seth Anderson and Riley Woods played well for Golden Square.

Quarry Hill’s best were Charles Duke, Isaac Tzouroutis, Kaden Mitchell and Lewis Sims.

The under-12B preliminary final was won by White Hills.

The Demons fired to a 38-23 victory against St Therese’s.

Jack Monaghan, Wyatt Bellerby, Dusty Crawford and Benjamin Masters were best for White Hills.

Sebastian Dalton, Darby Whatley, Oscar Farrelly and Finn Cooney worked hard for the Sharks.

Closest match of the weekend was in under-12C where Kangaroo Flat defeated Strathfieldsaye, 3.0 (18) to 2.5 (17).

Oliver Lowndes kicked two goals for the Roos.

Best for Kangaroo Flat were Tajh Blythman, Atticus Edgley, Matthew Holmes and Cameron Breed.

Archie Stevens, Rossi Stevens, Llogan Mayman and Alex Wingrave played well for Strathfieldsaye.

Quarry Hill Demons fired up to win the under-12D match against Maiden Gully YCW Eagles.

The Demons won 4.8 (32) to 3.5 (23).

Sebastian Rossi kicked two goals for Quarry Hill in a match where Noah Armstrong, Miller Armstrong, Ava Bibby and Ned Howe were best.

The Eagles’ attack was led by Tyler Rayson on two goals.

Jonty Davis, Xavier Emmerson, Lachlan Thomas and Wil Conroy played well for Maiden Gully YCW.

Grand final weekend kicks off with the under-16s seniors match on Saturday between Sandhurst and South Bendigo at Queen Elizabeth Oval in View Streeet from 9am.

Draw for Sunday’s grand finals at Tannery Lane, Strathfieldsaye:

Under-12D: North Bendigo v Quarry Hill, 8.30am on Enterprise Oval.

Under-12A: St Therese’s v Golden Square, 8.45am on Main Oval.

Under-12C: Maryborough v Kangaroo Flat, 10am on Enterprise Oval.

Under-12A reserve: St Kilian’s-St Peter’s v Golden Square, 11.30am on Enterprise Oval.

Under-12B: Huntly v White Hills, 1pm on Enterprise Oval.

Under-14 reserves 2: South Bendigo v Dockers, 10.15am  on Main Oval.

Under-14 reserves 1: Kangaroo Flat v Eaglehawk, 12.10pm on Main Oval.

Under-16 reserves: Marong v Huntly, 2.05pm on Main Oval.

Under-15 girls: Sandhurst v Strathfieldsaye Thunder, 2.30pm on Enterprise Oval.

Under-14 seniors: Sandhurst v Strathfieldsaye, 3.55pm on Main Oval.

Under-18 girls: Kangaroo Flat v Golden Square, 4pm on Enterprise Oval.


Categories: All NewsNumber of views: 660