LVFNL Round 10 Football Review | Bears outplay Blues at Serpentine


THE third-placed Bears-Lagoon Serpentine outplayed Inglewood in Saturday’s 10th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL season.

It was a crucial match for the Bears and Blues at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve.

The Justin Laird-coached BLS went into the match just four points clear of Inglewod in the fight for a top-three berth.

A high-scoring opening term ended with the Bears in front, 33-26.

In the second it was the Darrell Billett-coached Inglewood which took control to score 6.5 to 3.5.

Quarter three was to be one of the Bears’ best of the season as they turned a two-goal deficit at half-time into a 35-point lead by three quarter-time.

In a brilliant blitz, BLS slammed on 7.8 to just three behinds.

The Blues fought on to win the last, 32-7, but it was the Bears who marked a 112-102 victory.

Andy Gladman led the BLS attack on four goals as Laird added three.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Bears were James Bailey, Adian Brohm and Nash Kemp on two each.

Inglewood had Sam Dorevitch, Charlie Ingham, Tarran Kilcullen, Jayden Leach and Cody Wright kick two goals apiece.

Best for the Bears were Aidan Brohm, Andy Gladman, Harry Gadsden, Nash Kemp, Charlie Gadsden and Justin Laird.

Gabe Nevins, Fergus Payne, Bregon Cotchett, Charlie Ingham, Jayden Leach and Callum March played well for the Blues.

Newbridge marked a triumphant return to its home base of Beck Legal Riverside Oval.

On a day where Chris Dixon played his 300th match for the club, Newbridge led 22-12 at quarter-time of the clash with Calivil United.

A closely-fought second quarter went the way of the Maroons, 18-15.

The Anthony Dennis-coached Calivil United scored 1.6 to 1.4 in the third.

Led by the play of Caleb Sanders, Austin Fithall and Will Daly, Newbridge held its nerve in the last to score 4.2 to 3.1 to complete a 76-58 victory.

Dixon capped his milestone with three goals as Liam Nihill and Caleb Sanders added two each.

The Demons’ attack was led by Ben Baker on four as Cody Thompson added two.

Best for a Newbridge team coached by Sam Gale, playing, and Daniel Smith, non-playing, included David Romer, Dylan Stevens and Dylan Lloyd.

Blair Richards, Evan Ritchie, Thomas Piazza, Cody Anderson and Cody Thompson were Calivil United’s best.

Bridgewater overcame a seven-point deficit at three quarter-time to beat a determined Mitiamo by 14 points.

The Jon Varcoe-coached Mitiamo led 16-12 at quarter-time of the clash on Bridgewater’s turf.

In the second it was Bridgewater’s accuracy which was a key factor as it added 4.1 to 1.3 to lead 37-25 by the long break.

Mitiamo then scored 4.1 to a goal in the third to really put the heat on the Rick Ladson-coached Mean Machine.

Inspired by the play of Ben Derrick, Nic Naughton and Darcy Wood, Bridgewater scored 3.1 and kept Mitiamo scoreless in the last for a 64-50 result.

Nic Naughton capped a great match with four goals as Lachlan Cohen and captain Josh Martyn added two each.

Mitiamo’s attack was led by Brayden Baines on three.

The Mean Machine’s best included Charlton Hindle, Ayden McDowell and Harry Donegan.

Daniel Walters, Luke Lougoon, Seth Wright, Ross Turner, Brayden Baines and Dylan Clohesy played well for the Superoos.

For the second time this season, Marong kept Maiden Gully YCW Eagles goalless.

The reigning premiers dominated the match at Marong’s Malone Park.

In the first term Marong slammed on 10.5 and then added 6.4 in the second as the Eagles were scoreless in the opening two quarters.

A formidable Marong attack which included 10 goals by Brandyn Grenfell, and five by Kain Robins capitalised on the on-ball and midfield dominance.

The Linton Jacobs-coached Panthers kicked on to win 29.15 (189) to 0.3 (3).

Marong’s best were Lachlan Lee, Brandyn Grenfell, Nathan Devanny, Michael Bradbury, Jack McCaig and Jonty Davis.

Best for the Eagles were Jayden Magnusson, Ed Crisp, coach Jay McDonald, Tyler Miles, Lachie Sobina and Sam Keneally.

Pyramid Hill had the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 654 per cent, 36 points; Pyramid Hill 205, 28; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 115, 28; Inglewood 121, 20; Bridgewater 92, 20; Calivil United 62, 8; Maiden Gully YCW 46, 8; Newbridge 45, 8; Mitiamo 42, 4.

In next Saturday’s 11th round, Newbridge is back on home turf at Beck Legal Riverside Oval to take on Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

Inglewood hosts Marong on the Blues’ ground at Dissy Machinery Oval.

Pyramid Hill tackles Calivil United at Pyramid Hill’s Mitchell Park.

Maiden Gully YCW plays Bridgewater at Marist College Bendigo.

Mitiamo has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

59 Brandyn Grenfell, Marong.

39 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

34 Kain Robins, Marong.

28 Charlie McGaw, Inglewood.

24 Matt Riordan, Marong.

22 Justin Laird, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

22 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

20 Andy Gladman, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

19 Bailey George, Pyramid Hill.

18 Sam Dorevitch, Inglewood.

17 Ben Baker, Calivil United.

17 Jack McCaig, Marong.

17 Jay Reynolds, Mitiamo.

16 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

16 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

15 Thomas Brennan, Pyramid Hill.

14 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

14 Will Perryman, Pyramid Hill.

13 James Bailey, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

13 Dylan Collis, Pyramid Hill.

13 Daniel Polack, Inglewood.

12 Andrew Cussen, Mitiamo.

11 Mitch Dingwall, Pyramid Hill.

11 Chris Dixon, Newbridge.

11 Darcy Poulter, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

10 Brayden Baines, Mitiamo.

10 Bregon Cotchett, Inglewood.

10 Sam Gale, Newbridge.

10 Nic Naughton, Bridgewater.