CVFL Round 9 Preview


Woorinen meets Eaglehawk in match of round

LOCKED on win-loss tallies of three-four, Woorinen and Eaglehawk meet this Saturday in the ninth round of the Champions IGA-backed  CVFL senior women’s footy competition.

It’s third against fourth from 1pm at Woorinen Recreation Reserve.

Runner-up last season, Woorinen starts this round 15 per cent clear of Eaglehawk.

It’s a crucial contest as the Katelyn Hazlett-coached Woorinen could meet the Hawks in the first week of the finals series.

The Tigers will be fired up after an 87-point loss at home to Golden Square last round.

Eaglehawk won its latest hit-out against Sandhurst at Queen Elizabeth Oval by 43 points.

Key players for Woorinen include captain Tenay Fellows, Jenna Bannam, Samantha Johnston, Brydi Lewis and Casy Unger.

An Eaglehawk team jointly coached by Molly Metcalf and Geoff West will be determined to mark a fourth consecutive victory.

Metcalf’s four goals against Sandhurst lifted her season tally to 22.

Players to watch for the Two Blues include Mia Bolitho-Williams, Jess Dover, Caitlin Evans, Lexie Moss and captain Alex Summerfield.

The round kicks off with Friday night’s matches at Golden Square’s Fur Life Oval, and Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

Second in the premiership race on a six-one record, Golden Square takes on Bendigo Thunder from 7pm at the Wade Street ground.

The Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square dominated last Sunday’s match at Woorinen.

Paynton Jolliffe kicked seven goals against the Tigers and looms as a huge threat to Thunder’s chances.

Best in the latest win by the blue and gold included Kate Douglass, Taylah Moore, Caitlin Nash, Terina Pickering and Gemma Roberts.

Bendigo Thunder is back in action after a bye.

In the previous round the Mick McInnes-coached Thunder went down to Woorinen, 31-50 at Weeroona Oval.

The play of Tracey Anderson, Jaime Sawers, Emily Galtieri, Lucy El Hage, Britney Mueck and Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke will be a key to Thunder upsetting the Bulldogs.

The unbeaten Castlemaine takes on Winslow White Hills Demons from 7.30pm at Camp Reserve.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine has plenty of attacking power through midfield and near goal.

Captain Tiahna Cochrane leads a formidable team which includes Tiffany Bradley, Emma Pedretti, Maeve Tupper, Rachael Stubbings and Chelsea Cole.

Was a superb effort by White Hills to beat North Bendigo by six goals last round.

Demons’ co-captain Oakley Turner was superb as she kicked five goals.

The Phil Murley-coached White Hills team which heads south for this match includes co-captain Hannah Ripper, Courtney Gibson, Kadeisha Smith, Daisy Gee, Kayla and Kendall Ash.

On Sunday it’s North Bendigo on home turf at Bendigo Club Oval in Atkins Street against Sandhurst.

The Bulldogs and Dragons clash starts at 1pm.

The Ross Egleton-coached North Bendigo won its latest home game, but is up against an opponent determined to keep the heat on the fourth-placed Eaglehawk.

Best for the Bulldogs in the match at White Hills were Ella Dobell, Matilda Henley-Johnstone, Nicole Woodman and Maddie Jelbart.

The squad for the Andrew Saladino-coached Sandhurst includes Imogen, Laura and Liv Douglass, Lily and Ruby Campbell, Chloe Swatton and Chloe Taylor.

Marong has the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 979 per cent, 28 points; Golden Square 708, 24; Woorinen 212, 20; Eaglehawk 197, 20; Sandhurst 103, 12; Bendigo Thunder 72, 12; White Hills 22, 8; North Bendigo 20, 4; Marong 1, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

36 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

29 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

25 Brydi Lewis, Woorinen.

22 Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk.

19 Isabella Ayre, Golden Square.

19 Samantha Johnston, Woorinen.

17 Chelsea Reeves, Sandhurst.

16 Tiahna Cochrane, Castlemaine.

16 Tenay Fellows, Woorinen.

13 Jenna Bannam, Woorinen.

11 Taylah Moore, Golden Square.

11 Victoria Winstanley, Golden Square.

10 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

10 Brianna Burt, Castlemaine.

10 Lily Campbell, Sandhurst.

10 Rachael Stubbings, Castlemaine.

10 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

9 Freda Wosomo, Woorinen.

8 Amanda Carrod, Sandhurst.

8 Kate Douglass, Golden Square.

8 Courtney Hingston, Golden Square.

8 Oakley Turner, White Hills.

7 Caitlin Evans, Eaglehawk.

7 Shelby Faulkner, Eaglehawk.

7 Lacey Nihill, Sandhurst.

6 Sasha Pearce, White Hills.

Round in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL under-18 girls competition kicks off with Friday nigvht’s match at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

The Castlemaine Magpies will play the ladder-leading Winslow White Hills Demons from 5.45pm.

Massive test for Castlemaine against the unbeaten Demons who had the bye last round.

On Saturday it will be Woorinen on home turf to play Eaglehawk from 11.15am.

The Woorinen Tigers start this round locked on 12 points, but significant percentage behind the fourth-placed Sandhurst.

Match of the round will be Sandhurst against Golden Square on Sunday from 10.30am at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Big match for both clubs in which Golden Square is the rebound from a three-point loss at Woorinen last round.

Strathfieldsaye has the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL under-18 girls footy ladder:

White Hills 370 per cent, 24 points; Strathfieldsaye 173, 20; Golden Square 265, 16; Sandhurst 114, 12; Castlemaine 76, 12; Woorinen 67, 12; Eaglehawk 5, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

20 Mia Clark, White Hills.

18 Alysha Boyd, Strathfieldsaye.

18 Tarliah Murphy, White Hills.

13 Tiara Davis, Golden Square.

12 Scout Carmody, Sandhurst.

11 Grace Ayars, Woorinen.

10 Ellie Bellenger, Sandhurst.

10 Eve Cail, White Hills.

9 Kate Batchelor, Castlemaine.

9 Hannah Cochrane, Sandhurst.

8 Sunny Barry, Woorinen.

8 Chloe Butcher, Castlemaine.

7 Ava Barker, Golden Square.

7 Freja Dahl, Strathfieldsaye.

7 Eve Kalms, Strathfieldsaye.

7 Evie Nuttall, Strathfieldsaye.

7 Nadia Peebles, White Hills.