BFNL Football | Round 14 WRAP UP


McKenna kicks eight as Gisborne dominates Storm

GISBORNE captain and gun forward Pat McKenna kicked eight goals in a big win for the Bulldogs against Strathfieldsaye in Saturday’s 14th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League season.

McKenna and his Gisborne team-mates showed they will be tough to beat in the race for this year’s Bendigo Advertiser premiership cup.

Strathfieldsaye led 16-12 at quarter-time of the contest on Gisborne’s turf at Gardiner Reserve.

The Rob Waters-coached Bulldogs then scored 5.4 to 2.1 in the second.

Ruckman Braidon Blake was in superb form as were Pat McKenna, Nic Doolan and Ethan Minns as Gisborne slammed on 10.10 to 4.5 in the final hour to win 116-58.

McKenna was the focal point in attack as Ethan Minns and Matt Panuccio chipped in with two majors to be among the best along with Sam Graham for the red, white and blue.

Storm’s attack was led by captain and multiple Ron Best medallist Lachlan Sharp on five.

On a tough day for the Darryl Wilson and Shannon Geary-coached Storm, Lachlan Ratcliffe, Callum McCarty, Joseph Mayes, Riley Wilson, Lachlan Sharp and Jack Neylon were best.


Golden Square won all quarters on its way to a 69-point victory against Sandhurst at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

The Dragons upset Golden Square in the clash for the Ron Best Memorial trophy in round five, but this time it was the Bulldogs who dominated.

The Christian Carter-coached Bulldogs led by 29 points at half-time after a brilliant defensive effort to limit the Dragons to a goal in the first hour.

A Blair Holmes goal lifted Sandhurst in the early minutes of the third term, but it was the blue and gold who then seized control by adding 7.2 to lead by 64 points at the last break.

Joel Brett went on to kick five goals for the Bulldogs as Jayden Burke added three.

The Dragons’ leading goalkicker was Blair Holmes on two.

Best for Golden Square were onballer Ryan Hartley, defender Jon Coe, captain Jack Geary, Jack Hickman, Joel Brett and Liam Barrett.

The Dragons went into the match determined to mark Lee Coghlan’s 200th senior game with a win, but it was not to be.

Sandhurst’s best were Isaac Carracher, Cooper Smith, James Coghlan, Jake McLean, Jeremy Rodi and Blair Holmes.

Nine goals by Rhys Magin earned best on ground honors as Kyneton beat Kangaroo Flat by 63 points at Tigerland.

The Tigers led 23-18 at quarter-time and then added 6.7 to two goals in the second to gain a decisive lead.


The James Flaherty-coached Kangaroos worked hard to win the third term, 31-25, but it was Kyneton which kicked away to score seven goals in the last.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Tigers were Steven Georgiou, Cameron Manuel and Bailey McGee on two each.

It was two goals apiece for Roos’ team-mates Jack Barras, Mitch Rovers, Campbell Smith and Lachy Wilson.

Kyneton’s best were Rhys Magin, Harrison Huntley, Bailey McGee, Sam Pyers, Mitch Comben and Dean Bartrop.

Liam Collins, Ryan O’Keefe, Mitch Rovers, Ethan Roberts, Nic Lang and Patrick Murphy played well for the Kangaroos.


Eaglehawk moved back into the top five after a 14-goal win against Maryborough on the Hawks’ ground at Canterbury Park.

An evenly-fought first quarter ended with the Hawks up by 18 points.

The Two Blues then added 4.2 to 1.1 in the second term.

Eaglehawk held a 59-point lead at the final break and then unleashed its best quarter as it added seven goals in the fourth to win 126-42.

Sean Williams kicked four goals as Matt Noden and Jack Thompson added three each.

The Maryborough attack was led by Aidan Hare and Brady Neill on two.

Hawks’ onballer Billy Evans was best afield as key defender Clayton Holmes, Jack Thompson, Liam Marciano, Lewin Davis and Joel Mullen also starred.

Maryborough’s best were Thomas Gardam, Aidan Hare, Liam Latch, captain Coby Perry, Liam Murphy and Brady Neill.


A seven-goal burst in the first quarter set up South Bendigo’s win at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

The Bloods led 45-7 at the first break and then had goal tallies of four, five and four across the next three quarters on the way to a 136-39 victory.

The skilful Brock Harvey kicked six goals as Michael Herlihy and Alex Smith, four; and Kaiden Antonowicz, three, capped off the work of the onballers and midfield.

Castlemaine’s leading goalkicker was Brodie Byrne on two, but the Pies did rack up 14 scoring shots.

Key defender Andrew van Heumen was best afield for the Bloods as Michael Herlihy, Brock Harvey, Cooper Leon, Kaiden Antonowicz and Zac Hare also played well.

Young ruckman Brodie Browne-Kerr played a great game for the Magpies, along with Brendan Josey, Tom Cain, Liam Wilkinson, Riley Pedretti and Tommy Horne.


Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Gisborne 276 per cent, 52 points; Strathfieldsaye 173, 44; Golden Square 251, 40; South Bendigo 105, 36; Eaglehawk 120, 32; Kyneton 120, 32; Sandhurst 120, 24; Kangaroo Flat 51, 12; Castlemaine 33, 8; Maryborough 26, 0.


Leaders in the Ron Best Medal goalkicking race:

72 Joel Brett, GS.

59 Rhys Magin, Kyn.

46 Pat McKenna, Gis.

43 Jayden Burke, GS.

40 Brock Harvey, SB.

36 Lachlan Sharp, S’saye.

35 James Schischka, S’saye.

34 Cobi Maxted, Sh.

29 Kaiden Antonowicz, SB; Josh Kemp, Gis.; Lachy Wilson, KF.

27 Darcy Richards, Eh.

26 Cameron Manuel, Kyn.

24 Braydon Vaz, GS.

23 Joel Wharton, Sh.

22 Liam Marciano, Eh; Matt Merrett, Gis.

21 Matt Thornton, Sh.

19 Kallen Geary, S’saye.

18 Matt Panuccio, Gis.

17 Michael Herlihy, SB; Harry Thomas, Gis.

16 Chris Freeman, Mb; Mitch Rovers, KF; Lachlan Zimmer, Sh.

15 Lewin Davis, Eh; Guy Dickson, Kyn.; Hamish Morcom, GS; Ben Thompson, Eh.


There are plenty of highlights in Saturday’s 15th round.

South Bendigo will tackle Gisborne at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

There will be plenty of interest centred on the result of the Eaglehawk and Sandhurst match at Canterbury Park.

Golden Square takes on Kyneton at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street.

Kangaroo Flat and Castlemaine clash at Dower Park.

Maryborough faces Strathfieldsaye at Princes Park.


Written by Nathan Dole.