BFNL Football | Round 16 WRAP UP

Kyneton proves too strong for Hawks at Tigerland

KYNETON marked another win at home as it scored an 85-62 victory against Eaglehawk in Saturday’s 16th round in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s senior footy season.

The showdown between the Tigers and Hawks at Tigerland was crucial to the finals hopes of both clubs.

Kyneton led 25-24 at quarter-time and 44-37 by the main break.

The classy Cameron Manuel and Angus Nolte went on to kick five and three goals respectively as the Tigers went on to take the points in an 85-62 victory.

Leading goalkickers for the Hawks were Cameron McGlashan and Dilllon Williams on three each.

Best for the Paul Chapman-coached Kyneton were Dean Bartrop, Cameron Manuel, Frazer Driscoll, Harrison Huntley, Angus Nolte and Hamish Yunghanns.

Dillon Williams, Ben Thompson, Clayton Holmes, Cameron McGlashan, Jacob O’Brien and Liam Marciano were Eaglehawk’s best.

Victory lifted Kyneton to fourth on the ladder ahead of next Saturday’s big showdown with Sandhurst, 8-8, at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

The Travis Matheson-coached Eaglehawk is now seventh, equal on points with Sandhurst, but more than 14 per cent behind the Dragons.


It was a point between them in round eight, but this time Strathfieldsaye surged to a 64-point win against South Bendigo on Storm’s turf at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Strathfieldsaye led 18-13 at quarter-time and then scored 8.1 to 3.0 in the second.

The Bloods worked hard to be within 33 points at a quarter to go, but a Storm line-up which had Callum McCarty, Riley Clarke and Lachlan Gill set up many attacks was too strong.

At the final siren, Storm led 110-46.

Strathfieldsaye captain Lachlan Sharp kicked a match-high four goals as Baxter Slater added three.

The Bloods’ leading goalkickers were Kaiden Antonowicz, Brock Harvey and Will Keck on two each.

Best for the Darryl Wilson and Shannon Geary-coached Storm included Baxter Slater, Daniel Clohesy and Harry Conway.

South Bendigo’s best were Braydan Torpey, Michael Herlihy, coach Nathan Horbury, Liam Byrne, captain Zac Hare, and Will Keck.


Gisborne’s forwards had plenty of supply in the clash with Kangaroo Flat on the Bulldogs’ turf at Gardiner Reserve.

The Dogs led 27-13 at quarter-time and then scored 6.4 to a goal in the second.

Captain and gun forward Pat McKenna went on to kick a match-high seven goals as Ethan Foreman marked his return to the seniors after hamstring injuries to boot five goals and be among the best in a 157-26 victory.

The Roos had four goalkickers against a strong defence.

Gisborne’s best were onballers Flynn Lakey and Seb Bell-Bartels, Foreman, McKenna, Matt Merrett and Luke Ellings.

Best for the James Flaherty-coached Kangaroos were Ethan Roberts, Bryce Franzini, Ryan O’Keefe, Mitch and Liam Collins, and Xavier Dingfelder-Hope.


Sandhurst overcame a slow start to score a 100-plus points win against Maryborough on the QEO.

It was the Rick Andrews-coached Maryborough which led 11-8 at quarter-time.

The Dragons fired up to score 7.6 to nil in the second.

Key forward Cobi Maxted went on to kick six goals as Joel Wharton and Lachlan Zimmer, three; James and Lee Coghlan, two, played well in attack.

Maryborough’s leading goalkicker was Chris Freeman on two.

Best for the Dragons were James Coghlan, Cobi Maxted, Noah Walsh, Jeremy Rodi, Joel Wharton and Lachie Hood.

Liam Latch, Aidan Hare, Jake Postle, Chris Freeman, Lachie Mackie and Mitch McClure worked hard for Maryborough.


Golden Square’s forwards capitalised on the onball and midfield dominance of team-mates to score a 30-goal win at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

The Christian Carter-coached Bulldogs led 40-1 at quarter-time and 80-2 by the long break.

Quarter three was to be the best for the blue and gold as it scored 10.7 to a point.

The Magpies goaled through Camblar Kays in the final term.

Just as they did in round eight, Joel Brett and Jayden Burke tore the Pies’ defence apart with 10 and seven goals respectively in a 193-9 result.

Zavier Murley and Braydon Vaz added three goals apiece for Golden Square.

Best for the Bulldogs were Ricky Monti, Joel Brett, Jayden Burke, Liam Barrett, Terence Reeves and Zavier Murley.

On a tough afternoon for the Don Moran-coached Castlemaine it was Riley Pedretti, Liam Wilkinson, Declan Slingo, John Watson, Brendan Josey and Sam Nettleton who were best for the Magpies.


Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Gisborne 281 per cent, 60 points; Strathfieldsaye 188, 52; Golden Square 48, 258; Kyneton 119, 36; South Bendigo 96, 36; Sandhurst 128, 32; Eaglehawk 114, 32; Kangaroo Flat 51, 16; Castlemaine 31, 8; Maryborough 25, 0.


Leaders in the Ron Best Medal goalkicking award:

87 Joel Brett, Gs.

62 Rhys Magin, Kyn.

55 Pat McKenna, Gis.

50 Jayden Burke, GS.

49 Lachlan Sharp, S’saye.

44 Cobi Maxted, Sh.

43 Brock Harvey, SB.

37 James Schischka, S’saye.

35 Cameron Manuel, Kyn.

33 Kaiden Antonowicz, SB.

32 Lachy Wilson, KF.

29 Josh Kemp, Gis.

27 Darcy Richards, Eh; Braydon Vaz, GS; Joel Wharton, Sh.

26 Matt Merrett, Gis.

23 Liam Marciano, Eh.

21 Matthew Panuccio, Gis.; Harry Thomas, Gis.; Matt Thornton, Sh.

20 Lachlan Zimmer, Sh.

19 Chris Freeman, Mb; Kallen Geary, S’saye; Michael Herlihy, SB.


Highlight of Saturday’s 17th round will be the all-Bulldogs showdown between Golden Square and Gisborne at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

Another big contest will be at Queen Elizabeth Oval where Sandhurst takes on Kyneton.

Eaglehawk and Castlemaine clash at Canterbury Park.

Kangaroo Flat is on its ground at Dower Park to face Strathfieldsaye Storm.

Maryborough and South Bendigo do battle in the Magpies’ nest at Princes Park.


Written by Nathan Dole.