BFNL Football U/18’s | Preliminary Final PREVIEW

Young guns from Gisborne, Golden Square contest under-18s match

IT will be the young guns from Gisborne or Golden Square who qualify for the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s under-18s footy grand final after they meet in Saturday’s preliminary final at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

The all-Bulldogs clash kicks off a big day of action at 10.45am.

This season’s record stands at two-one in favour of Gisborne after it a 64-60 victory against Golden Square in the qualifying final.

Shane Clough kicked three goals for Gisborne in that match as Sam Wilson added two.

Best for the team in red, white and blue were Sam Simpson, Connor Bills, Kne Minns and Cameron Freake.

Golden Square’s Baxter Gurd led the attack on three goals as captain Macey Eaton, Xavier Carter, Nick Sherriff and Zac Wescott were best.

In last weekend’s action, Gisborne went down 28-52 in the second semi-final showdown with Sandhurst.

The Square struck back from defeat to mark a 74-50 win against Strathfieldsaye in the first semi.


A key to Golden Square’s chances will be limiting the supply to Gisborne’s gun forward Harry Luxmoore who has kicked 66 goals in 19 matches.

Gisborne also has the goalscoring power of Darcy Lockens, 38; Jack Ryan and Sam Wilson 20; and  James Fox 16.

Other players to watch for Gisborne are ruckman Jesse Evans, Jarrod Ainsworth and Darcy Young in midfield, Connor Bills and Phoenix James in defence.

Preliminary final week kicked off with Golden Square’s Macey Eaton being declared winner of the George Symons Medal as the under-18s competition’s fairest and best.

Eaton polled 26 votes to join an illustrious group that includes Eaglehawk’s Rod Ashman, Golden Square’s Ricky Nixon and Nathan Brown, and Sandhurst’s Peter Tyack.

Runner-up for this year’s medal was Sandhurst’s Dayten Uerata, 24 votes; as Maryborough’s Jai Howell scored 19 votes to be third.

Golden Square ruckman Nick Sherriff will play a key role in the quest to reach a grand final, as will on-ballers Bailey Cain and Liam Thomas.

Key targets in Golden Square’s forward line are Baxter Gurd, 38; Tommi Turner, 25; Hugh Freckleton, 23; and Flynn McConville, 21.

Other players to watch in the blue and gold are Ned Jenkyn, Billy Meade and Zackery Tickell in midfield, Aidan Corr and Bailey Rackstraw in defence.


Written by Nathan Dole.