BFNL Netball | Preliminary Final PREVIEW

Rebounding Roos take on Gisborne in A-grade preliminary

AFTER  a shock 39-goal loss in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s second semi, Kangaroo Flat has to rebound in Saturday’s preliminary final against Gisborne to keep A-grade netball premiership hopes alive.

The Roos had a week’s rest courtesy of finishing on top of the ladder, but were outgunned by Sandhurst in last Saturday’s second semi-final at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

In pursuit of a fourth consecutive A-grade premiership, Sandhurst marked a 65-26 win against Kangaroo Flat.

Bouncing back from such a big defeat will not be easy for the Jayden Cowling-coached Kangaroos who went down to Gisborne, 45-40, on the Bulldogs’ court at Gardiner Reserve in the 16th round.

First meeting between the preliminary finalists was in round seven where the Roos won 52-40 on their court at Dower Park.

Two of the league’s most dominant teams in a 2021 season cut short by Covid and then throughout the ’22 campaign, Kangaroo Flat and Gisborne will be fighting to earn a shot against Sandhurst in the grand final.

After a 33-48 loss to Sandhurst in the qualifying final, the Tarryn Rymer-coached Gisborne won a first semi-final against Castlemaine in extra time.

The red, white and blue fought on for a 51-48 victory.

Key players for Gisborne include Rylee Connell, Jordan Cransberg, Kirby Elliott who was recruited from Riddell, goal attack Claudia Mawson, and Maddy Stewart,

The Roos will look for big games from the likes of Lou Dupuy, Ingrid Hopkins, Abbey Ryan, Carly Van Den Heuvel, and Milly Wicks at wing defence.

A foot injury kept Ash Ryan on the sidelines as the Roos took on Sandhurst in the second semi.

The Roos will be sweating on Ryan’s return to the court.


It will be a Kangaroo Flat and Gisborne showdown in A-reserve.

The Roos beat the Bulldogs by 21 goals in round seven at Dower Park and by six in the 16th round at Gardiner Reserve.

Gisborne began its finals campaign with a 33-41 loss to Sandhurst in the qualifying final.

In last weekend’s play, Kangaroo Flat went down to Sandhurst, 44-47 in the second semi, while the Bulldogs scored a 47-41 victory in the first semi against South Bendigo.

Both teams had players poll well for the Holborn Medal awarded to the competition’s fairest and best.

Ella Wicks led the way for Kangaroo Flat on 21 votes to be runner-up to South Bendigo’s Sarah Nash who earned 28 votes.

Gisborne’s Eloise Rodda was third on 18 votes.

Players to watch for the Kangaroos include Meg Ginnivan, Ava Lowndes and Ashlee O’Shea.

The Gisborne line-up includes Charlotte Crook and Olivia Rodda.


Third of the five finals Kangaroo Flat features in is B-grade where it’s up against South Bendigo.

This season’s meetings have been a 44-27 for the Roos in round seven at Dower Park, and a 41-all result in the 18th round on the QEO court.

The Bloods stayed in the premiership race after a 51-49 victory against Gisborne as the first semi-final went into extra time.

Kangaroo Flat marked a 46-45 win against Gisborne in the qualifying final, but went down 44-49 in last Saturday’s second semi-final showdown with Sandhurst.

South Bendigo has fought its way to week three of the finals by scoring a 37-24 win against Strathfieldsaye in the elimination final, and then the thrilling first semi.

Leading vote-getters for Kangaroo Flat in the league fairest and best award won by Sandhurst’s Briona Giddings were Zoe Magnusson, 20; Darcie Fry, 13; Lily Dickson, Bronte Miller and Bella Pearse, 10.

The Bloods’ charge was led by Emily Bakes, 14; Annie Hockey, 13; Hayley Harrington, 11; Imogen Kinder and Jeanette Ross, 10.


It will be another Kangaroo Flat and Gisborne showdown in B-reserve.

The Bulldogs won both of the home-and-away matches by margins of six and five goals.

They met again in the qualifying final where Gisborne claimed a 49-44 victory.

Last weekend’s matches were a 48-57 loss for Gisborne in the second semi against Sandhurst, while the Roos marked a 39-36 win in the first semi against Eaglehawk.

In the league’s fairest and best award, Kangaroo Flat’s Molly Drum polled 21 votes to be fourth as a team-mate Alyse Faulkner was a place behind on 20.

Award winner was Sandhurst’s Isabelle Whiteley, 28, from Golden Square’s Hannah Schmidt, 25, and Eaglehawk’s Deanna Duane, 23.

Gisborne’s Hannah Weier scored 23 votes to be equal third as Ellie Kays was on 14.

Other players to watch for the Roos are Claudia Shelten and Hayley Smith.


In the 17-and-under competition, Sandhurst takes on Kangaroo Flat.

It’s two-one in favour of the Roos.

The round four clash at the QEO went Flat’s way, 45-40, and the Roos triumphed on their court, 38-29 in the 13th round.

First match in the finals series was the 17-and-under qualifying final in which Sandhurst played inspired netball to score a 42-37 victory.

The Dragons went down to Gisborne, 51-44 in the second semi-final.

Kangaroo Flat won the first semi-final against Maryborough by 14 goals.

In the race for the Sing Medal as league fairest and best, Sandhurst’s Maggie Keating polled 21 votes to be equal third with Kangaroo Flat’s Rose Kennett and Castlemaine’s Megan Wilson.

It was a one-two result for Gisborne as Tori Skrijel led on 28 votes from team-mate Emily McDonald, 23.

Players to watch for Sandhurst include Sophie Giles and Polly Robertson.

The Roos’ line-up includes Lindsay Andrews and Amaya Schmidt.


Schedule for Saturday’s preliminary finals at Queen Elizabeth Oval:

17-and-under at 10am: Sandhurst v Kangaroo Flat.

B-reserve at 11.20am: Gisborne v Kangaroo Flat.

B-grade at 12.40pm: Kangaroo Flat v South Bendigo.

A reserve at 1.30pm: Kangaroo Flat v Gisborne.

A-grade at 3.20pm: Kangaroo Flat v Gisborne.


Written by Nathan Dole.