BFNL Netball | Preliminary Final WRAP UP

Roos bound into A-grade netball decider

KANGAROO Flat made a remarkable final quarter fightback on Saturday to stay in the race for the A-grade netball premiership in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League.

On the rebound from a big loss to Sandhurst in the second semi-final, Kangaroo Flat’s season looked gone as Gisborne led by six goals at three quarter-time of the preliminary final.

The Jayden Cowling-coached Kangaroos lifted their play in all thirds of the court at Queen Elizabeth Oval to achieve a 52-49 victory.

There were many stand-outs in the Roos win.

Chelsea Sartori and Milly Wicks were superb at centre and wing attack.

Adjudged first and second in the race for the Betty Thompson Medal as the league’s fairest and best, Gisborne star Maddy Stewart and Roos’ gun Chelsea Sartori played great netball once again.

The defensive work of Ava Lowndes in the final quarter was a major turning point in the contest.

Roos’ goalers Lou Dupuy and Abbey Ryan capped the excellent work of team-mates up the court.

Agony of defeat for Gisborne was compounded by an Achilles injury to Rylee Connell late in the match.

Although bitterly disappointed not to have made it to the grand final, the Tarryn Rymer-coached Gisborne put together another superb season.


In the second semi-final it was Sandhurst which dominated the clash with Kangaroo Flat to win by 39 goals.

The Roos’ line-up has fought extremely hard to earn another shot at premiership glory against Sandhurst.

There were exciting finishes to several preliminary finals.

Gisborne stunned Kangaroo Flat to record a 48-45 victory in A-reserve.

A great run by South Bendigo kept rolling in B-grade as the Bloods won 50-34 against Kangaroo Flat.

The B-reserve clash between Gisborne and Kangaroo Flat ended in a 63-42 victory for the team in red, white and blue.

Play began with a one-goal thriller between Sandhurst and Kangaroo Flat in the 17-and-under competition.

It was the Roos who celebrated a 43-42 victory.

There will be four clubs represented in netball grand finals on Saturday.

Sandhurst will compete in four grades, and Gisborne in three.

It’s the A-grade and 17-and-under teams from Kangaroo Flat vying for premiership glory, and South Bendigo in B-grade.


Schedule for Saturday’s grand finals at Queen Elizabeth Oval:

17-and-under at 9am: Gisborne v Kangaroo Flat.

B-reserve at 10.30am: Sandhurst v Gisborne.

B-grade at 12pm: Sandhurst v South Bendigo.

A-reserve at 1.30pm: Sandhurst v Gisborne.

A-grade at 3pm: Sandhurst v Kangaroo Flat.


Written by Nathan Dole.