BFNL Reserves Football | Grand Final WRAP UP

Hogan’s Heroes claim another flag for Golden Square

A SEVENTH grand final for Golden Square coach Jamie Hogan ended with victory in Saturday’s reserves clash with Gisborne on Bendigo Bank Football Netball League grand final day.

The competition’s two best teams met on the wet and slippery Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Stung by a loss to Gisborne in the second semi after a 17-1 run in the home and away series, Golden Square made a flying start to the match to decide the season’s best.

Defences were well on top early before a soccered goal by Dylan Hird put Square up 11-nil in the 12th minute.

Shortly after and it was the classy Hird who outpointed several opponents in a contest and snapped truly to give the blue and gold a 17-point lead.

The hard-working Brodie James applied a great tackle and was rewarded with a free and goaled to make it 23-0 just before quarter-time.

It was then Gisborne which would attack to the city end of the ground.

Key forward Dan Davie brought up Gisborne’s first goal in the fifth minute of the second term.

A Harry Thomas mark and goal in the seventh minute cut Square’s buffer to 10 points.


A running snap by Heath Simpson hit the post.

Gisborne added another point as the ball rarely went inside Golden Square’s attacking zone.

As the half-time siren sounded it was Square which led 23-15.

Goal of the day honours went to Hird after a brilliant shot from the boundary line  in the scoreboard pocket made it 31-15 in the 10th minute.

A Paul Symons mark and goal gave the blue and gold a 22-point lead in the 15th point.

A point by Luke Weber was the first score at the Barnard Street end of the ground.


Faced with a 21-point deficit at three quarter-time, Gisborne had it all to do in the last.

When Hird slotted his fourth in  team tally of six the blue and gold had the match won.

A long shot from Gisborne’s Clinton Young on the run in the pocket near the broadcast box made it 44-23 in the 14th minute.

Golden Square won the next centre clearance.

Will Thrum earned a free for a tackle about 30m from goal, but when Hird was thrown to ground a 50m penalty was awarded to him and he slotted another major from the goalsquare.

By the final siren, Golden Square led 50-23.

Gisborne coach Mark Lamplugh said the opposition was too strong on the day.

“We have played a couple of times in finals and in the season and it’s been a tough contest every time.

“Today showed we still have a bit of work to do to be better and to challenge again next year.”

Before the cup was raised by co-captains Sheldon Burke and Dean Norris, winning coach Jamie Hogan congratulated Gisborne on its play all season.

“We have been the two best sides all year,” Hogan said.

“Congratulations to Gisborne on a great season, celebrate that.

“We knew we would have a task on our hands today and would have to work hard.”


The R.F. Turner Medal was presented to Dylan Hird.

A long-time caller of football with Radio 3BO, Dick Turner was a passionate supporter of Golden Square.

Best for Golden Square in this grand final victory were Dylan Hird, Jack Threlfall, Callum Draper, Will Thrum, Nic Ross and Tanner Rayner.

Gisborne’s best were Elijah Bretherton, Harry Thomas, Matt McDonald, Jacob Murphy, Rohan Nicol and Matthew Jinkins.

In the rooms, Jamie Hogan thanked the players for all their work in pre-season and across the year to achieve ultimate success.

“In the twos we had a squad of 32, and it’s important to acknowledge that.

“Today is not just our win,” he told the 22 players who represented the club on grand final day.

“There are some that miss out, but they played an important part in getting us to this day.”

Hogan went into the match with a win-loss tally of three-three in grand finals.

“This is the last one,” he proudly said.


Golden Square’s premiership-winning team:

B: Sheldon Burke, Seb Pellegrino, Zach Holmes.

Hb: Harry Burke, Nic Ross, Jack Threlfall.

C: Callum Draper, Drew Barrett, Brodie James.

Hf: Alex Jenkyn, Jack Sampson, Dylan Hird.

F: Brad Eaton, Will Lee, Will Thrum.

Foll: Tanner Rayner, Dean Norris, Lachlan Humphrey.

Inter: Paul Symons, Kane Shelton, Ben Parkes, Nick Simpson.

Emerg: Chris Cox.


Written by Nathan Dole.