BFNL Round 10 Football Review | Eaglehawk outpoints Bloods at Canterbury Park


EAGLEHAWK returned to the winners’ list as it scored a 56-point win against South Bendigo in the 10th round of the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL senior footy action on Saturday.

After a run of three defeats by single figure margins and a draw, Eaglehawk was desperate for the points against the Bloods at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

The Bloods led 14-9 at quarter-time before the Hawks scored 5.5 to 3.0 in the second.

A two-goal lead for the Borough at the main break grew to 22 points by the final change.

Led by the play of Noah Wheeler, Kallen Geary and co-captain Billy Evans, Eaglehawk kicked 6.5 to 1.1 in the last to complete a 103-47 victory.

Lewin Davis and Darcy Richards kicked three goals as eight team-mates chipped in with a major.

The only multiple goalkicker for the Bloods was Will Allen on three as the Hawks’ defence worked well to limit the dangerous Brock Harvey and Steven Stroobants to a goal each.

Eaglehawk’s best included Clayton Holmes, Dylan Hird and Charlie Hillier.

Mac Cameron, Sam Langley, Tait Poyser, Andrew van Heumen, Will Allen and Braydan Torpey were best for the Nathan Horbury-coached Bloods.

Castlemaine marked its second win of the season in the all-Magpies clash with Maryborough at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

The Brendan Shepherd-coached Castlemaine led 10-7 at quarter-time and 31-22 by the long break.

In the third quarter it was the Coby Perry-coached Maryborough which dominated play to score 3.4 to just four behinds.

It was déjà vu as Castlemaine again made a final quarter fightback.

After being down 35-44 at three quarter-time, Castlemaine lifted to score 5.3 to 0.5 in the last for a 68-49 victory.

Ben Moran led Castlemaine’s attack on three goals.

Chris Freeman kicked two goals for Maryborough.

Best for Castlemaine were Matt Filo, Riley Pedretti, Brodie Byrne, Callum McConachy, Tyson Hickey and Ethan Hein.

Brady Neill, Mitch McClure, Kya Lanfranchi, Jake Postle, Kaian Constable and Chris Freeman played well for Maryborough.

Strathfieldsaye Storm fought from 32-points down at quarter-time to mark a 27-point win against Gisborne at Strathfieldsaye’s Triple M Park.

On a day where Lachlan Bonney marked his 150th senior game for Storm, Strathfieldsaye was down 6.5 to 1.3 at quarter-time.

Storm surged back to score 4.2 to just two points in the second.

The Brad Fox-coached Gisborne still led 59-55 at a quarter to go.

In the last it was Strathfieldsaye led by the play of Bode Stevens, James Schischka and Mitch Hallinan which scored 6.4 to 1.3 to complete a 95-68 victory.

Captain Lachlan Sharp, James Schischka and Baxter Slater all kicked three goals for the Darryl Wilson-coached Storm.

Gisborne’s attack was led by Sam Graham and Jake Normington with two each.

Best for Strathfieldsaye included Luke Webb, Shannon Geary and Tim Hosking.

Gisborne’s best were Matt Merrett, Flynn Lakey, Frank Schipano, Connor Bills, Harry Luxmoore and Jake Normington.

Eight goals to a point in the second term put Golden Square well in control of its showdown with Kyneton at Kyneton Showgrounds.

The Christian Carter-coached Bulldogs led 28-11 at quarter-time and then dominated the second to score 8.4 to a point.

A 68-point lead at half-time was up to 78 by three quarter-time.

A strong midfield and on-ball group led by Tom Toma, Ricky Monti, Jake Thrum and Brodie James kept pumping the ball into the 50m arc where Joel Brett and Jack Stewart capitalised to kick four goals each.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Bulldogs were Liam Barrett, Jack Hickman and Braydon Vaz on two.

There were no multiple goalkickers for Kyneton.

Best for Square included ruckman Matt Compston and Jack Stewart.

Mitch Comben, Jayden Eales, Harrison Sheahan, Harrison Huntley, Dom Bennington and Cameron Manuel were best for the Paul Chapman-coached Tigers.

Sandhurst dominated its match against Kangaroo Flat on the Roos’ ground at Dower Park.

After a draw at Eaglehawk the previous round kept its unbeaten run intact, Sandhurst slammed on 8.1 to 1.1 in the first term against the Kangaroos.

Ruckman Hamish Hosking and rover Sam Conforti were in great form as the Dragons added 3.5 to nil in the second.

The result was in stark contrast to the first round at Queen Elizabeth Oval where the Kangaroos finished within eight points of the maroon and blue.

Jointly coached by Ash Connick and Bryce Curnow, Sandhurst went on to record a 127-22 victory in the return game.

Sam Conforti capped a best afield performance with four goals and Joel Wharton also booted four.

Captain Lee Coghlan and Nick Stagg chipped in with three majors for the Dragons.

Goalkickers for the Roos were Nic Keogh, two, and former Greater Western Sydney Giants and Hawthorn key forward Jonathon Patton with one.

Sandhurst’s best included Jake McLean, Zach Pallpratt, Noah Walsh and Cobi Maxted.

Ryan O’Keefe, Dion Symons, Zac and Jordan Rouse, Campbell Smith and Toby Roberts were best for the Nathan Johns-coached Kangaroo Flat.

It’s a general bye across the league next weekend.

The season resumes on July8 when Golden Square and Strathfieldsaye meet in the 11th round at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street at 2.20pm.

Sandhurst takes on Kyneton at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

South Bendigo faces Kangaroo Flat at Harry Trott Oval in Kennington.

Gisborne and Castlemaine play at Gisborne’s Gardiner Reserve.

Maryborough and Eaglehawk meet at Maryborough’s Princes Park.

Leaders in the goalkicking race for the Ron Best Medal:

44 Joel Brett, Golden Square.

44 Lachlan Sharp, Strathfieldsaye.

32 Brock Harvey, South Bendigo.

26 Will Keck, South Bendigo.

26 Steven Stroobants, South Bendigo.

26 Lachlan Wright, Sandhurst.

23 Cameron Manuel, Kyneton.

20 James Schischka, Strathfieldsaye.

20 Braydon Vaz, Golden Square.

19 Matt Thornton, Sandhurst.

17 Lewin Davis, Eaglehawk.

16 Andy Collins, Sandhurst.

16 Ryan Hartley, Golden Square.

16 Darcy Richards, Eaglehawk.

14 Callum McCarty, Strathfieldsaye.

14 Cam McGlashan, Eaglehawk.

14 Hamish Morcom, Golden Square.

14 Nick Stagg, Sandhurst.

13 Thomas Quinn, Kyneton.

13 Harry Whitty, Kangaroo Flat.

12 Jed Brereton, Strathfieldsaye.

12 Matt Merrett, Gisborne.

11 Hugh Freckleton, Golden Square.

11 Dylan Hird, Eaglehawk.

11 Harry Luxmoore, Gisborne.

11 Liam Marciano, Eaglehawk.

11 Noah Wheeler, Eaglehawk.

10 Billy Evans, Eaglehawk.

10 Zavier Murley, Golden Square.

10 Jack O’Shannessy, Eaglehawk.

10 Baxter Slater, Strathfieldsaye.

10 Tom Toma, Golden Square.

10 Jordan Wilson, Strathfieldsaye.