BFNL Round 11 Football Review | Bulldogs thrash Storm at Golden Square


GOLDEN Square thrashed Strathfieldsaye by 13 goals in the 11th round of the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL’s senior footy action on Saturday.

The Bulldogs and Storm both rode winning streaks of six and five matches into the clash on Golden Square’s ground at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street.

The Christian Carter-coached Golden Square led 20-5 at quarter-time and then seized control as it slammed on 5.2 to 1.5 in the second.

The Bulldogs’ dominance of stoppages was superb and the attack capitalised to score 4.3 in the crucial third term.

Just as important was the Dogs’ defensive play as they kept the Darryl Wilson-coached Storm scoreless in quarter three.

Square’s intensity and run did not ease up as the blue and gold added 5.1 to 2.4 in the last for a 110-32 result.

Joel Brett and Jack Stewart led the attack on four goals each as Tom Strauch added two.

A great sign for the Dogs was having seven other goalkickers.

On a tough afternoon for Storm it was Darcy Mulquiny, Luke Webb and Jordan Wilson who were on target.

Best for Golden Square were Liam Barrett, Matt Compston, Harrison Burke, Jack Hickman, Brodie James and Jack Stewart.

Luke Webb, Caleb Ernst, James Schischke, Bode Stevens, Jordan and Riley Wilson were Strathfieldsaye’s best.

Despite its inaccuracy, Sandhurst was able to claim a 51-point win against Kyneton at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

The Ash Connick and Bryce Curnow-coached Sandhurst led 23-3 at quarter-time and then added 1.5 as it kept the Tigers scoreless in the second term.

A 31-point lead at the long break was 32 by the last after the Dragons won the third term, 3.3 to 3.2.

Led by the play of Cooper Smith, Bryce Curnow, and Hamish Hosking in the ruck, Sandhurst added 6.3 to 3.2 in the final term.

Talented youngster Lachlan Wright led the Dragons’ attack on four goals as Matt Thornton chipped in with two.

Multiple goalkickers for Kyneton were Cameron Manuel and Thomas Quinn on two.

The Dragons’ best included Nick Stagg, Isaac Carracher and Darcy Mills.

Harrison Huntly, Thomas Quinn, Mason Crozier, Bailey McGee, James Gaff and Dom Bennington were best for the Paul Chapman-coached Tigers.

A brilliant opening quarter set up South Bendigo’s win against Kangaroo Flat at Harry Trott Oval in Kennington.

The Nathan Horbury-coached Bloods scored 6.3 to 1.2 in the first term.

From there it was an evenly-fought contest in which the Bloods added 75 points and the Kangaroos scored 70.

After being outplayed in term one the Roos who had Jeremy Hayes in charge as coach for the first time fought back strongly.

Kangaroo Flat scored 4.1 to 1.1 in the second to be within 13 points at the long break.

The Bloods then slammed on 10 goals in the third as it held the Flat to a tally of 1.1.

Despite a 71 point deficit at the last change, Kangaroo Flat never gave up and added 6.2 to just three behinds in the last.

At the final siren, South Bendigo led 17.12 (114) to 12.6 (78).

Steven Stroobants kicked a match-high six goals for the Bloods as Brody Haddow, Brock Harvey and Will Keck added two each.

The Roos’ attack was led by Nic Keogh, four; and Harry Whitty, three.

South Bendigo’s best were Mac Cameron, Tait Poyser, Brody Haddow, Oscar White, Steven Stroobants and Sam Maher.

Kyle Symons, Noah Furlong, Nic Keogh, Connor Evans, Mitchell Collins and Campbell Smith played well for the Kangaroos.

Gisborne won all quarters in a 101-36 victory on its turf at Gardiner Reserve against Castlemaine.

The Brad Fox-coached Bulldogs led 21-10 at quarter-time and then slammed on 7.3 to just two goals in the second.

Defences dominated most of the third quarter as Gisborne added 2.1 and the Magpies scored 1.1.

Jake Normington and Jack Reaper ended the match with three goals apiece as the Bulldogs scored 15.11 (101) to 5.6 (36).

Brad Keogh booted two goals for Castlemaine.

Best for Gisborne were Matt Merrett, Zac Vescovi, Zac Denahy, Liam Spear, Jake Normington and Kane Minns.

John Watson, Bailey Henderson, Matt Filo, Callum McConachy, Liam Wilkinson and Nic Woodman were best for the Brendan Shepherd-coached Magpies.

Eaglehawk held Maryborough to a tally of two points across the last three quarters as it recorded a 104-point victory at Princes Park.

The Coby Perry-coached Magpies started well to score 2.1 in the first term as Eaglehawk was on 2.7.

From there it was the Travis Matheson-coached Eaglehawk which dominated play.

The Two Blues scored 4.2 to a point in the second, 5.2 to a point in the third, and 6.6 to nil in the last.

At the final siren Eaglehawk led 17.17 (119) to 2.3 (15).

Joel Mullen led the Hawks’ attack on four goals as Lewin Davis, Dylan Hird, Liam Marciano, Noah Wheeler and Dillon Williams chipped in with two each.

Chris Freeman kicked both of Maryborough’s goals.

Best for Eaglehawk were Dillon Williams, Noah Wheeler, Billy Evans, Ben Thompson, Joel Mullen and Lewin Davis.

Maryborough’s best were Kya Lanfranchi, Joel Swatton, Mitch McClure, Chris Freeman, Ty Stewart and Brady Neill.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Sandhurst 243 per cent, 42 points; Golden Square 233, 36; Eaglehawk 219, 30; South Bendigo 140, 28; Strathfieldsaye 136, 28; Kyneton 20, 83; Gisborne 122, 16; Kangaroo Flat 56, 12; Castlemaine 40, 8; Maryborough 17, 0.

Match of the day in next Saturday’s round 12 action will be Golden Square against Sandhurst at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

Eaglehawk takes on Gisborne at Canterbury Park.

Kangaroo Flat tackles Maryborough on the Roos’ ground at Dower Park.

Kyneton faces South Bendigo at Kyneton Showgrounds.

Strathfieldsaye plays Castlemaine at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane.

Leaders in the goalkicking race for the Ron Best Medal:

49 Joel Brett, Golden Square.

44 Lachlan Sharp, Strathfieldsaye.

34 Brock Harvey, South Bendigo.

32 Steven Stroobants, South Bendigo.

30 Lachlan Wright, Sandhurst.

28 Will Keck, South Bendigo.

24 Cameron Manuel, Kyneton.

20 James Schischka, Strathfieldsaye.

20 Matt Thornton, Sandhurst.

20 Braydon Vaz, Golden Square.

19 Lewin Davis, Eaglehawk.

17 Andy Collins, Sandhurst.

17 Ryan Hartley, Golden Square.

16 Darcy Richards, Eaglehawk.

15 Cam McGlashan, Eaglehawk.

15 Thomas Quinn, Kyneton.

15 Nick Stagg, Sandhurst.