BFNL Round 13 Football Review | Golden Square dominates clash with Bloods


A FIRST-QUARTER blitz of seven goals set up Golden Square’s big win against South Bendigo in Saturday’s 13th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL season.

When these clubs met in round four it was the Bloods who claimed a one-point victory on Golden Square’s turf.

This time it was the Christian Carter-coached Bulldogs who were fired up from the first contest at Harry Trott Oval in Kennington.

The Dogs charged to a 46-2 lead by the first break and then scored 5.1 to 5.2 in the second.

Across the final hour the blue and gold added 9.6 to 5.6 to complete a 137-70 victory.

Braydon Vaz led the Dogs’ attack on four goals as onballer Tom Toma added three.

Other multiple goalkickers for the winners were Joel Brett, Lachlan Humphrey, Hamish Morcom and Ricky Monti with two.

The Bloods’ attack was led by Steven Stroobants, four, and Brock Harvey, three.

Golden Square’s best were Jon Coe, Tom Toma, Jack Hickman, Jake Thrum, Braydon Vaz and Liam Barrett.

Sam Langley, Josh Connolly, Riley Walsh, Tait Poyser, Mac Cameron and Alex Smith were best for the Nathan Horbury-coached Bloods.

Sandhurst’s defence was superb in the clash with Strathfieldsaye at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

The Dragons had worked superbly to keep Storm to just two goals for most of the match until a late surge by the visitors cut the winning margin to 27 points.

Former Richmond and Carlton mid/forward Andy Collins kicked a match-high four goals in a 67-40 victory for Sandhurst.

Storm captain Lachlan Sharp became the first in club history to play 200 senior games, but it was one of the few matches of a brilliant career where he was held goalless.

The play of James Coghlan against Sharp earned best afield honours for the Dragons.

Storm’s attack was led by James Schischka on three.

Best for the Ash Connick and Bryce Curnow-coached Sandhurst were James Coghlan, Andy Collins, Hamish Hosking, Sam Conforti, Zach Pallpratt and Noah Walsh.

Riley Wilson, Patrick Blandford, Ben Lester, Mitch Hallinan, Hunter Lawrence and Bode Stevens were best for the Darryl Wilson-coached Storm.

Gisborne’s winning run kept rolling.

The Brad Fox-coached Bulldogs were home at Gardiner Reserve to take on Kangaroo Flat.

Gisborne led 18-16 at quarter-time and blew the contest wide open as it added 6.4 to 2.1 in the seond term.

Zac Denahy went on to kick four goals and Matt Merrett added three as Gisborne won 14.19 (103) to 8.12 (60).

Tom Cassidy and Luke Ellings both kicked two goals for the Bulldogs.

Kangaroo Flat’s leading goalkickers were Sam Barnes, Connor Evans and Luke Foreman on two each.

Best for Gisborne were Zac Denahy, on-ballers Braidon Blake, Flynn Lakey and Brad Bernacki, along with Matt Merrett and Zac Vescovi.

Mitch Collins, Connor Evans, Ethan Roberts, Ryan O’Keefe, Liam Collins and Zac Rouse were best for the Jeremy Hayes-coached Kangaroo Flat.

It was a first-up victory for Kyneton’s interim coach Darren Chambers as the Tigers played at Maryborough’s Princes Park.

Chambers stepped up from being assistant after Paul Chapman stepped aside as senior coach earlier in the week because of increased work commitments.

The Tigers turned a one-goal lead at half-time into a 28-point buffer by the last after they scored 4.4 to a goal in the third quarter.

Ethan Foreman and Thomas Quinn went on to kick a team-high three goals apiece and Cameron Manuel added two as the Tigers claimed a 102-44 victory.

There were no multiple goalkickers for Maryborough.

Best for the Tigers were Lucas Iudica, Bailey McGee, Hamish Yunghanns, Caleb Fisher, Jake Summers and James Gaff.

Joel Swatton, Tom Myers, Jake Postle, Kya Lanfranchi, Aidan Medlyn and Kalan Constable played well for the Coby Perry-coached Maryborough.

Stung by defeat to Gisborne the previous round, Eaglehawk bounced back for a 100-point win at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

The Travis Matheson-coached Hawks led 32-13 at quarter-time and then scored 5.2 to a behind in the second.

Lewin Davis and Jack O’Shannessy kicked three goals each as Darcy Richards, Noah Wheeler and Dillon Williams added two in a 121-21 victory.

The Hawks defence worked well to hold the Magpies to a tally of three goals.

Eaglehawk’s best were Joel Mullen, Dylan Hird, Jack Thompson, Connor Dalgleish, Dillon Williams and Blake McGregor.

Matt Filo, Callum McConachy, Bailey Henderson, Brodie Byrne, Curtis McLennan and John Watson were best for the Brendan Shepherd-coached Magpies.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Sandhurst 211 per cent, 46 points; Golden Square 219, 44; Eaglehawk 206, 34; South Bendigo 138, 32; Strathfieldsaye 136, 32; Gisborne 128, 24; Kyneton 81, 24; Kangaroo Flat 60, 16; Castlemaine 39, 8; Maryborough 21, 0.

There are several big games in next Saturday’s round 14 action.

Sandhurst takes on past co-tenant South Bendigo at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Eaglehawk is on home turf at Canterbury Park to play Strathfieldsaye.

Kyneton and Gisborne clash at Kyneton Showgrounds.

Kangaroo Flat  meets Castlemaine on the Kangaroos’ ground at Dower Park.

Golden Square tackles Maryborough at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

Leaders in the goalkicking race for the Ron Best Medal:

57 – (2) – Joel Brett – Golden Square Seniors
55 – (0) – Lachlan Sharp – Strathfieldsaye Seniors
41 – (4) – Steven Stroobants – South Bendigo Seniors
41 – (3) – Brock Harvey – South Bendigo Seniors
33 – (1) – Lachlan Wright – Sandhurst Seniors
30 – (1) – William Keck – South Bendigo Seniors
29 – (2) – Cameron Manuel – Kyneton Seniors
26 – (3) – Lewin Davis – Eaglehawk Seniors
24 – (3) – James Schischka – Strathfieldsaye Seniors
24 – (4) – Braydon Vaz – Golden Square Seniors
21 – (4) – Andrew Collins – Sandhurst Seniors
20 – (0) – Matt Thornton – Sandhurst Seniors
19 – (1) – Harry Whitty – Kangaroo Flat Seniors
18 – (1) – Ryan Hartley – Golden Square Seniors
18 – (3) – Thomas Quinn – Kyneton Seniors
18 – (2) – Darcy Richards – Eaglehawk Seniors
18 – (2) – Hamish Morcom – Golden Square Seniors
17 – (1) – Cameron McGlashan – Eaglehawk Seniors
15 – (0) – Nicholas Stagg – Sandhurst Seniors
15 – (2) – Noah Wheeler – Eaglehawk Seniors
15 – (3) – Matthew Merrett – Gisborne Seniors
14 – (3) – Thomas Toma – Golden Square Seniors
14 – (0) – Callum McCarty – Strathfieldsaye Seniors
13 – (0) – Dylan Hird – Eaglehawk Seniors
13 – (0) – Liam Marciano – Eaglehawk Seniors
13 – (4) – Zac Denahy – Gisborne Seniors
13 – (1) – Jack Stewart – Golden Square Seniors
13 – (3) – Jack O’shannessy – Eaglehawk Seniors
12 – (2) – Jack Hickman – Golden Square Seniors
12 – (3) – Ethan Foreman – Kyneton Seniors
12 – (2) – Sam Barnes – Kangaroo Flat Seniors
12 – (0) – Jed Brereton – Strathfieldsaye Seniors
12 – (0) – Liam Collins – Kangaroo Flat Seniors