BFNL Round 16 Football Preview | Tigers ready for another fight with Hawks


KYNETON faces another big fight against Eaglehawk this Saturday in the 16th round of the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL senior footy action.

It’s a must-win match for Kyneton against the third-placed Hawks at Kyneton Showgrounds to stay in contention for the finals.

A point separated these clubs when they met in the Indigenous Round feature match at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

Cameron Manuel’s goal after the siren clinched a dramatic victory for the yellow and black.

A hat-trick of wins by Kyneton, now being coached by Darren Chambers, has kept the heat on Strathfieldsaye and South Bendigo in the battle to decide fourth and fifth.

Kyneton won its latest hit-out at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve by 17 points.

Best for the Tigers included Ben Cameron, Jake Summers, Jye Chambers, and skilful forward Ethan Foreman.

Those to play crucial roles for the Tigers include ruckman Jayden Eales, Harrison Huntley and Mason Crozier in defence, ruck-rover Hamish Yunghanns, and rover Jordan Iudica.

The Tigers also have Thomas Quinn roving contests in attack.

Eaglehawk’s line-up is strengthened by the return of former St Kilda captain Jarryn Geary.

Named at full-forward, Geary could switch to half-back or even play through midfield.

A talented line-up from the Borough coached by Travis Matheson includes Billy Evans, Kallen Geary, Lewin Davis, Liam Marciano, Charlie Langford and the Thompson trio of Ben, Jack and Sam.

Sandhurst tackles Gisborne at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

It will be Gisborne’s first hit-out at the iconic ground since last year’s grand final victory.

Huge test for the Bulldogs in trying to upset the ladder-leading Sandhurst which has a win-loss tally of 13-1 and a draw.

Sandhurst must keep winning as it leads Golden Square by just two points.

Jointly coached by Ash Connick and Bryce Curnow, Sandhurst has many players in great form.

Since his return from a VFL stint with Essendon, Sam Conforti has starred for the maroon and blue, especially last Saturday’s clash at Maryborough’s Princes Park.

A tally of 42 possessions, 24 contested, 10 marks, nine clearances, five goals, and 227 points against the Magpies earned Conforti the Barry Plant Player of the Round award.

Conforti was named rover for Saturday’s clash with Gisborne.

The Dragons have ruckman Hamish Hosking and ruck-rover James Coghlan to team with Conforti against Braidon Blake, Matt Weber and Flynn Lakey.

Another key match-up will be in the centre where the Dragons have named Cooper Smith.

His opponent is the brilliant Brad Bernacki.

The Dragons have plenty of goalscoring options which will test the Rob Waters-coached Gisborne all match.

Players to watch in Sandhurst’s attack are Andy Collins, Nick Stagg, Matt Thornton and Lachlan Wright.

In defence the Dragons have Jake Wilkinson, Bryce Curnow and Lachie Hood to take on Zac Denahy, Harry Luxmoore and Adam Brancatisano.

Gisborne has the run of Sam Graham and Matt Merrett which is vital on the wide expanses of the QEO.

South Bendigo plays Maryborough at Harry Trott Oval in Neale Street, Kennington.

After a hat-trick of defeats the Nathan Horbury-coached Bloods must bounce back.

Brock Harvey kicked six goals in the clash at Strathfieldsaye’s Triple M Park and will be a huge threat to the Magpies.

South Bendigo’s attack includes Steven Stroobants, Will Keck and Sam Langley.

The Bloods will be without number one ruckman Mac Cameron, so Riley Walsh steps into the role to team with in-form on-ballers Brody Haddow and Oscar White.

A young Maryborough team will be working hard to not allow the Bloods to slam on goals in quick succession.

Playing key roles on and off-field at Maryborough, Joel Swatton will be keen to perform well against his former club.

Swatton is in the centre where he will flanked by Magpies’ coach Coby Perry and Nic Swan.

Been a  superb season once again by Kya Lanfranchi in Maryborough’s defence.

The Magpies will look to Kaian Constable, Bailey Jacobs, Matt Johnston, Brady Neill and Jake Postle to win plenty of contests.

Kangaroo Flat and Strathfieldsaye clash on the Kangaroos’ ground at Dower Park.

Another big test for the Jeremy Hayes-coached Kangaroos following last week’s clash on Eaglehawk’s turf.

Among the most crucial match-ups for the Roos will be an opponent for Storm co-captain and gun forward Lachlan Sharp who kicked seven goals in the win against South Bendigo.

The Roos have named Noah Furlong at full-back.

Kangaroo Flat defenders in Ryan O’Keefe, Zac Rouse and Jake Hywood face a daunting challenge against James Schischka, Jack Exell and Callum McCarty.

In the centre Liam Collins takes on Michelsen medallist and Storm co-captain Jake Moorhead.

The Roos will look to Mitch Collins, Mitch Trewhella and Kyle Symons to set up scoring chances for the likes of Harry Whitty, Sam Barnes, Nic Keogh and R.J. Watson.

A Darryl Wilson-coached Storm line-up which includes Luke Webb, Ben Lester, Daniel Clohesy, Lachlan Ratcliffe and Tim Hosking should take the points.

Golden Square faces Castlemaine at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

The Bulldogs will want to play well following the passing of multiple premiership-winning coach Brian Walsh.

Golden Square’s winning streak should hit 12.

A talking point may be the goals tally for Joel Brett who leads the race for the Ron Best Medal on 71.

Players to watch for the blue and gold include Tom Toma, Ryan Hartley, Jack Geary, Ricky Monti, Jayden Burke and Jon Coe.

The Bulldogs also have talented youngsters such as Brodie James, Tom Strauch, Jack Threlfall and Macey Eaton playing their role in pursuit of premiership glory.

Castlemaine worked incredibly hard in a 61-78 result against Kyneton at Camp Reserve last round.

Best for the Brendan Shepherd-coached Magpies in that contest were Bailey Henderson, Matt Filo, Brad Keogh, David Wilson, Callum McConachy and Brodie Byrne.

The Magpies have had John Watson winning plenty of the footy in every match.

Castlemaine’s squad includes Ethan Hein, Ethan Maltby, Ben Moran and Liam Wilkinson.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Sandhurst 226 per cent, 54 points; Golden Square 234, 52; Eaglehawk 198, 42; Strathfieldsaye 129, 36; South Bendigo 127, 32; Kyneton 85, 32; Gisborne 119, 24; Kangaroo Flat 62, 20; Castlemaine 43, 8; Maryborough 20, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race for the Ron Best Medal:

71 Joel Brett, Golden Square.

65 Lachlan Sharp, Strathfieldsaye.

47 Brock Harvey, South Bendigo.

44 Steven Stroobants, South Bendigo.

41 Lachlan Wright, Sandhurst.

33 Will Keck, South Bendigo.

30 Cameron Manuel, Kyneton.

29 Lewin Davis, Eaglehawk.

27 James Schischka, Strathfieldsaye.

25 Braydon Vaz, Golden Square.

24 Andy Collins, Sandhurst.

24 Thomas Quinn, Kyneton.

24 Matt Thornton, Sandhurst.

23 Harry Whitty, Kangaroo Flat.

21 Hamish Morcom, Golden Square.

21 Ryan Hartley, Golden Square.

20 Darcy Richards, Eaglehawk.

19 Tom Toma, Golden Square.

18 Jack Stewart, Golden Square.

18 Nick Stagg, Sandhurst.

18 Noah Wheeler, Eaglehawk.

17 Cam McGlashan, Eaglehawk.

16 Jed Brereton, Strathfieldsaye.

16 Sam Conforti, Sandhurst.

16 Matt Merrett, Gisborne.

16 Jack O’Shannessy, Eaglehawk.

15 Zac Denahy, Gisborne.

15 Ethan Foreman, Kyneton.

14 Brad Bernacki, Gisborne.

14 Luke Ellings, Gisborne.

14 Billy Evans, Eaglehawk.

14 Harry Luxmoore, Gisborne.

14 Liam Marciano, Eaglehawk.

14 Cobi Maxted, Sandhurst.

14 Callum McCarty, Strathfieldsaye.

13 Jack Hickman, Golden Square.

13 Dylan Hird, Eaglehawk.

13 Zavier Murley, Golden Square.

13 Jack Reaper, Gisborne.

13 Jake Summers, Kyneton.

12 Sam Barnes, Kangaroo Flat.

12 Liam Collins, Kangaroo Flat.

12 Baxter Slater, Strathfieldsaye.