BFNL Round 16 Football Review | Eaglehawk puts Kyneton out of finals race


EAGLEHAWK ended Kyneton’s finals hopes as it scored an 87-point victory in Saturday’s 16th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL season.

The Hawks led 32-23 at half-time of the clash at Kyneton Showgrounds and then slammed on 9.2 to 1.1 in the third quarter.

Led by the play of Noah Wheeler, ruckman Connor Dalgleish and Lewin Davis, Eaglehawk outran and outworked the Tigers in the second half.

As the Travis Matheson-coached Hawks scored 14.8 in the final hour, Kyneton added 2.2.

Sam O’Shannessy kicked a match-high five goals as Lewin Davis booted four and Noah Wheeler added three.

The Hawks again showed they have plenty of attacking options as Billy Evans and Jarryn Geary added two goals in a 124-37 victory.

Kyneton’s goalkickers were Cameron Manuel, three, and Ethan Foreman, two.

Best for the Borough included Sam O’Shannessy, Billy Evans and Joel Mullen.

Bailey McGee, Hamish Yunghanns, Cameron Manuel, Harrison Huntley, Harrison Sheahan and James Orr were best for the Darren Chambers-coached Kyneton.

At two rounds to play the sixth-placed Kyneton is a win and 57 per cent behind South Bendigo.

The Tigers play Kangaroo Flat and Strathfieldaye in the next fornight, while the Bloods take on Gisborne and Castlemaine.

A brilliant 14-goal haul by Strathfieldsaye co-captain Lachlan Sharp has put him six clear in the race for the Ron Best Medal.

Sharp was in superb touch as Strathfieldsaye overwhelmed Kangaroo Flat on the Roos’ ground at Dower Park.

The Darryl Wilson-coached Storm led 57-14 at quarter-time and did not let up.

Strathfieldsaye scored five goals in the second, 10 in the third, and eight in the last.

The Kangaroos tried hard, but could not stop Storm’s carry and run through midfield and into attack where Sharp reigned supreme.

As Sharp kicked 14 goals, Storm also had Jack Exell, Baxter Slater and Bode Stevens, three; Caleb Ernst and James Schischka, two; on target.

At the final siren, Strathfieldsaye led 32.17 (209) to 9.9 (63).

Best for Strathfieldsaye were Lachlan Sharp, Jed Brereton, Daniel Clohesy, Callum McCarty, Baxter Slater and co-captain Jake Moorhead.

Zac Rouse, Ryan O’Keefe, Liam Collins, Mitch Trewhella, Ethan and Toby Roberts were best for the Jeremy Hayes-coached Kangaroo Flat.

Sandhurst scored an eight-goal win against Gisborne at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

With premiership-winning coach Rob Waters back in charge, Gisborne started well to lead 13-9 at quarter-time.

The Dragons fired up to win the second term, 23-8, and then added 4.2 to 0.5 in the third term.

Sandhurst’s defensive play was a highlight as it held the Bulldogs to a score of 5.12 (42) across four quarters.

Nick Stagg and Matt Wilkinson kicked three goals and Jake McLean chipped in with two as the Dragons won 91-42.

Gisborne’s attack was led by Matt Merrett on two.

Sandhurst co-coach Bryce Curnow was best afield as Noah Walsh, Nick Stagg, Zach Pallpratt, James Coghlan and Caleb Connick also played well in a team jointly coached by Ash Connick.

Best for Gisborne were ruckman Braidon Blake, captain Jack Reaper, Matt Weber, Macklan Lord, Flynn Lakey and Liam Spear.

South Bendigo forwards Brock Harvey and Steven Stroobants dominated the clash with Maryborough at Harry Trott Oval in Kennington.

Harvey kicked a match-high 10 goals and Stroobants booted seven as the Bloods won 27.17 (179) to 8.6 (54).

The Coby Perry-coached Maryborough started well to score 2.3 to 3.3 in the first term.

By half-time the Bloods led 61-39.

After the main break it was South Bendigo which seized control.

The Bloods slammed on 10 goals in the third term and eight in the last as the Magpies added just two goals in the second half.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Nathan Horbury-coached South Bendigo were Sam Langley, three; Dujon Fuzzard and Sam Griffiths, two.

Kaian Constable, Bailey Jacobs and Jacob Lohmann kicked two goals each for the Magpies.

South Bendigo’s best were Brock Harvey, Sam Griffiths, captain Zac Hare, Sam Langley, Will Keck and Steven Stroobants.

Joel Swatton, Jacob Lohmann, Brady Neill, Kaian Constable, Nic Swan and Alex Brown played well for Maryborough.

A 10-goal blitz in the opening term set up Golden Square’s big win against Castlemaine at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

The Bulldogs slammed on 10.2 to nil in the first quarter.

Castlemaine worked hard to limit the Dogs to goal tallies of three and two in the next two terms as it added three goals.

In the last the Christian Carter-coached Golden Square scored 8.3 to complete a 150-25 victory.

Braydon Vaz led the Dogs’ attack on five goals as Jack Stewart booted four.

Other multiple goalkickers for the blue and gold were Joel Brett, Ryan Hartley and Tom Strauch on two.

Goalkickers for the Magpies were Daniel Lawson, Ben McConachy and Ben Moran.

The hard-running Jake Thrum was best on ground for Golden Square as Jack Hickman, Ricky Monti, Braydon Vaz, Tom Strauch and Jack Threlfall won many contests.

Castlemaine’s best were Riley Pedretti, Brodie Byrne, Lloyd Butcher, Ben McConachy, Brendan Josey and Liam Wilkinson.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Sandhurst 226 per cent, 58 points; Golden Square 245, 56; Eaglehawk 205, 46; Strathfieldsaye 140, 40; South Bendigo 137, 36; Kyneton 80, 32; Gisborne 113, 24; Kangaroo Flat 58, 20; Castlemaine 40, 8; Maryborough 21, 0.

Highlight of next Saturday’s round 17 action will be Eaglehawk against Golden Square in the showdown of third and second at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

Kangaroo Flat will aim to bank on home-ground advantage at Dower Park to beat Kyneton.

Castlemaine is home at Camp Reserve to play Sandhurst.

Strathfieldsaye faces Maryborough on Storm’s turf at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane.

Gisborne and South Bendigo clash at Gardiner Reserve

Leaders in the goalkicking race for the Ron Best Medal:

79 Lachlan Sharp, Strathfieldsaye.

73 Joel Brett, Golden Square.

57 Brock Harvey, South Bendigo.

51 Steven Stroobants, South Bendigo.

42 Lachlan Wright, Sandhurst.

33 Lewin Davis, Eaglehawk.

33 Will Keck, South Bendigo.

33 Cameron Manuel, Kyneton.

30 Braydon Vaz, Golden Square.

29 James Schischka, Strathfieldsaye.

25 Jack Stewart, Golden Square.

25 Matt Thornton, Sandhurst.

24 Andy Collins, Sandhurst.

24 Thomas Quinn, Kyneton.

24 Harry Whitty, Kangaroo Flat.

23 Ryan Hartley, Golden Square.

21 Hamish Morcom, Golden Square.

21 Nick Stagg, Sandhurst.

21 Noah Wheeler, Eaglehawk.

20 Darcy Richards, Eaglehawk.

20 Tom Toma, Golden Square.

18 Matt Merrett, Gisborne.

17 Jed Brereton, Strathfieldsaye.

17 Ethan Foreman, Kyneton.

17 Cam McGlashan, Eaglehawk.

16 Sam Conforti, Sandhurst.

16 Zac Denahy, Gisborne.

16 Billy Evans, Eaglehawk.

16 Jack O’Shannessy, Eaglehawk.

15 Liam Marciano, Eaglehawk.

15 Baxter Slater, Strathfieldsaye.

14 Brad Bernacki, Gisborne.

14 Luke Ellings, Gisborne.

14 Jack Hickman, Golden Square.

14 Nic Keogh, Kangaroo Flat.

14 Harry Luxmoore, Gisborne.

14 Cobi Maxted, Sandhurst.

14 Callum McCarty, Strathfieldsaye.

14 Zavier Murley, Golden Square.

13 Liam Collins, Kangaroo Flat.

13 Dylan Hird, Eaglehawk.

13 Sam Langley, South Bendigo.

13 Jack Reaper, Gisborne.

13 Jake Summers, Kyneton.

12 Sam Barnes, Kangaroo Flat.

12 Braidon Blake, Gisborne.

12 Kallen Geary, Eaglehawk.

12 Brad Keogh, Castlemaine.

12 Tom Strauch, Golden Square.