BFNL Round 2 Football Review


Sandhurst fights for victory against Gisborne

SANDHURST won a hard-fought clash with Gisborne in Saturday’s second round of the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL’s senior footy season.

Both teams are renowned for their powerful running and skilful game styles.

In this contest it was pressure which played a crucial role in the Dragons taking control, Gisborne fighting back before the Dragons kicked away.

Sandhurst made a flying start and led 20-4 by quarter-time.

The Bulldogs did not goal until beyond the midway mark of the second term.

By half-time a Sandhurst line-up jointly coached by Ash Connick and Bryce Curnow led 35-18.

Play opened up in the third and forwards of both teams capitalised.

A highlight for the Dragons was three consecutive goals by the classy Joel Wharton.

The Rob Waters-coached Gisborne drew within nine points going into the final quarter.

The Dragons added 5.3 to 4.3 to mark an 88-73 victory.

Joel Wharton capped a best-on-ground performance with four goals as Cobi Maxted added two.

Premiership winning captain of ’22, Pat McKenna marked his return from a broken ankle which ended last season by the sixth round by kicking a match-high five goals.

Best for the Dragons included Darcy Mills, captain Lachlan Tardrew, Cooper Smith, Cobi Maxted and Noah Walsh.

On-baller Flynn Lakey was the Bulldogs best along with key defenders Zac Vescovi and Jack Reaper, ruckman Braidon Blake, Liam Spear and Zac Denahy.

Strathfieldsaye kicked away from an inaccurate Golden Square to win 77-49 on the Bulldogs’ turf in Wade Street.

A highly-entertaining first half ended with the Luke Freeman-coached Storm in front, 42-36.

As Strathfieldsaye added 5.5 in the second half the Brad Eaton-coached Bulldogs rued many missed opportunities.

The Bulldogs scored 13 behinds across the final hour.

Storm’s attack was led by Zach Charles and James Schischka, three goals; and Malik Gordon, two.

Jack Stewart was Square’s only multiple goalkicker on two.

Best for Storm were Daniel Clohesy, Riley Wilson, Matt Harvey, Lachlan Ratcliffe, Zach Charles and Shannon Geary.

Key defender Jon Coe, the athletic Kai Daniels, Jack Stewart, Jordan Rosengren, Jack Threlfall and Drew Barrett were the Bulldogs’ best.

A goalkicking showdown between South Bendigo star Brock Harvey and Castlemaine coach Michael Hartley was a highlight of the Bloods and Magpies clash at Harry Trott Oval in Kennington.

It was Harvey and the Bloods who took honours, nine goals to Hartley’s seven in a 132-90 result.

The Bloods led 62-46 at half-time and 88-77 going into the final term.

South Bendigo then seized control as it added 7.2 to 2.1.

As Brock Harvey capped off many moves the Bloods also had Steven Stroobants and Anthony Zimmerman chipped in with three goals each.

Multiple goalkickers for the Magpies were Hartley, seven, and John Watson, two.

Best in a Bloods’ line-up jointly coached by Stroobants and Isaiah Miller were Brock Harvey, Brody Haddow, Tait Poyser, Alex Smith, Riley Walsh and Anthony Zimmerman.

Michael Hartley, Harrison Sheahan, Kalan Huntly, Ben McConachy, Declan Slingo and John Watson were Castlemaine’s best.

Kangaroo Flat dominated after quarter-time to mark a 55-point win on Maryborough’s turf at Princes Park.

A 133-78 victory was a first in the senior coaching career of Kangaroo Flat’s Michael Ellings.

A closely-fought opening term went the Roos way, 32-25.

Kangaroo Flat took control in the second as it added 5.4 to 3.0.

Led by the play of Dion and Kyle Symons, Luke Ellings and Harry Whitty, the Roos went on to score 20.13 (133) to 12.6 (78).

Whitty kicked three goals as Justin Bateson, Angus Grant, Toby Roberts, Ben Savy and Kyle Symons chipped in with two each.

Maryborough’s attack was led by Fraser Russell, four; Bailey Edwards and Cody Nyhuis, two.

Best for the Roos included Justin Bateson and Austin Lothian.

A great start to the season by Bailey Edwards rolled on as Coby Perry, Fraser Russell, Bailey Snelling, Alex Brown and key defender Kya Lanfranchi were best for a Maryborough team jointly coached by Coby Perry and Matt Johnston.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Sandhurst 253 per cent, 8 points; Strathfieldsaye 147, 8; Eaglehawk 132, 4; Castlemaine 113, 4; South Bendigo 107, 4; Kangaroo Flat 65, 4; Gisborne 82, 0; Golden Square 69, 0; Maryborough 53, 0.

In next Saturday’s third round it will be Strathfieldsaye up against Eaglehawk in Storm’s territory at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Big match at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve where the Magpies tackle the winless Golden Square.

Kangaroo Flat and South Bendigo will target consecutive wins when they meet on the Roos’ patch at Dower Park.

Gisborne is home at Gardiner Reserve to take on Maryborough.

Sandhurst has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race for the Ron Best Medal:

12 Michael Hartley, Castlemaine.

11 Brock Harvey, South Bendigo.

7 Fergus Greene, Sandhurst.

7 Joel Wharton, Sandhurst.

6 Bailey Henderson, Castlemaine.

6 Steven Stroobants, South Bendigo.

5 Zach Greeves, Castlemaine.

5 Pat McKenna, Gisborne.

5 James Schishcka, Strathfieldsaye.

5 Lachlan Tardrew, Sandhurst.