BFNL Round 4 Football Review | Bloods win thriller on Golden Square’s turf


SOUTH Bendigo won a thrilling clash on Golden Square’s turf in Saturday’s fourth round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL season.

The Bloods had not won at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street for many years.

The team in red and white snapped Square’s streak in a dramatic 76-75 result.

On the rebound from defeat, Golden Square led 28-14 at quarter-time, but the Bloods lifted to win the second, 4.3 to 1.2, and led 41-36 by the main break.

A high-scoring third quarter was marked by both line-ups scoring five goals apiece.

The Christian Carter-coached Bulldogs were back in front, 68-67.

There were plenty of defensive efforts and stoppages in the final quarter.

The Bloods score of 1.3 to 1.1 was enough to take the premiership points.

Bloods’ small forward Brock Harvey kicked four goals against his former club.

The pace and skill of Will Keck and Steven Stroobants was always going to test the Dogs and it did as they booted two goals apiece for the Nathan Horbury-coached Bloods.

Captain Jack Geary led Golden Square’s attack on three goals as Hugh Freckleton and Braydon Vaz added two each.

Bloods’ ruckman Mac Cameron played a crucial role in the victory as did Oscar White, Brock Harvey, Braydan Torpey, Tait Poyser and Isaiah Miller.

Golden Square’s best were Jayden Burke, Matt Compston, Jon Coe, Ricky Monti, Ryan Hartley and Jack Geary.

Sandhurst overcame a slow start to score a five-goal win against Strathfieldsaye on Storm’s turf at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Despite illness and injury testing club depth, Storm started well to lead 14-7 at quarter-time.

Defences were well on top in the second term, but the Dragons score of 2.3 to 0.4  gave them a four-point buffer at the main break.

Both teams scored four goals apiece in the third as Sandhurst led 50-42 at a quarter to play.

Led by James Coghlan, Andy Collins and Isaac Ruff, Sandhurst fired up dominate most of the last term.

The Dragons scored 4.5 to 1.1 to complete a 79-49 victory.

Andy Collins and Lachlan Wright led Sandhurst’s attack on two goals each.

Storm key forward James Schischka kicked a match-high three goals as captain Lachlan Sharp chipped in with two.

Best for a Dragons team jointly coached by Ash Connick and Bryce Curnow included Cooper Smith, Noah Walsh and Matt Wilkinson.

Mitch Hallinan, Jed Brereton, James Schischka, Jake Moorhead, Lachlan Ratcliffe and Luke Webb were best for the Darryl Wilson-coached Storm.

Gisborne kicked away in the second half to score a 94-42 win against Kangaroo Flat on the Roos’ ground at Dower Park.

The Brad Fox-coached Gisborne led 22-15 at quarter-time and 42-27 by the long break.

In the third it was the Bulldogs who did plenty of attacking.

Gisborne scored 5.7 and held the Roos to just three points.

Matthew Merett went on to kick a match-high three goals as Shane Clough, Hayden Doricic and Macklan Lord added two each in a 94-42 win by the reigning premier.

The only multiple goalkicker for the Roos was Connor Evans on two.

Gisborne’s best were on-baller Flynn Lakey, Matt Merrett, Sam Graham, Braidon Blake, Luke Ellings and Macklan Lord.

Connor Evans, Noah Furlong, Liam Collins, Toby Roberts, Sam Barnes and Ryan O’Keefe worked hard for the Nathan Johns-coached Kangaroos.

Kyneton broke a three-match losing streak in a big way.

The Paul Chapman-coached Tigers scored 28 goals in a 156-point win against Maryborough at Kyneton Showgrounds.

It was a memorable 150th match for key defender Harrison Huntley who also kicked two goals.

The classy Cameron Manuel won plenty of contests and kicked three goals in a best afield performance for the yellow and black.

Jake Summers kicked a match-high five goals.

Gun recruit Thomas Quinn kicked four goals and Ethan Foreman marked his best match in his return to Tigerland from Gisborne by booting four goals.

Other multiple goalkickers for Kyneton were captain James Orr, three; and Bailey McGee, two.

Goalkickers for Maryborough were Chris Freeman, Jai Howell, Matt Johnston, and captain Ty Stewart.

The Tigers’ best included Brady Muir, Jye Chambers, Ethan Foreman, Jake Summers and Dom Bennington.

Chris Freeman, Lucas Hurse, Jake Postle, Jai Howell, Cobie Read and Alex Brown were best for the Coby Perry-coached Magpies.

Eaglehawk’s forwards capitalised on the workrate of the midfield and on-ballers to score 30 goals in the clash with Castlemaine on the Borough’s turf at Canterbury Park.

The Hawks scored 9.2 to a point in the first quarter and kicked away to lead 92-13 by half-time.

It was another nine-goal blitz in the third as Kallen Geary, ruckman Connor Dalgleish, and small forward Lewin Davis dominated.

The unbeaten Two Blues went on to win 199-33 against a young Castleamine team coached by Brendan Shepherd.

Davis kicked a match-high six goals and Darcy Richards added four.

The Geary brothers, Jarryn and Kallen chipped in with three, as did co-captain Billy Evans.

Castlemaine’s leading goalkicker was Callum McConachy on two.

Best for the Travis Matheson-coached Hawks included Marcus Angove, Billy Evans and Ben Thompson.

Brodie Byrne, Matt Filo, Callum McConachy, Liam Wilkinson, David Wilson and Jack Sutherland were best for the Magpies.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Eaglehawk 355 per cent, 16 points; Sandhurst 172, 16; South Bendigo 141, 12; Strathfieldsaye 126, 8; Gisborne 125, 8; Golden Square 112, 8; Kyneton 94, 4; Kangaroo Flat 67, 4; Castlemaine 28, 4; Maryborough 26, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race for the Ron Best Medal:

12 Will Keck, South Bendigo.

12 James Schischka, Strathfieldsaye.

12 Lachlan Sharp, Strathfieldsaye.

11 Joel Brett, Golden Square.

10 Steven Stroobants, South Bendigo.

10 Lachlan Wright, Sandhurst.

9 Lewin Davis, Eaglehawk.

9 Brock Harvey, South Bendigo.

9 Cameron McGlashan, Eaglehawk.

9 Thomas Quinn, Kyneton.

8 Kallen Geary, Eaglehawk.

8 Matt Thornton, Sandhurst.

7 Zac Denahy, Gisborne.

7 Sam Griffiths, South Bendigo.

7 Ryan Hartley, Golden Square.

7 Noah Wheeler, Eaglehawk.

The Graeme Wright Memorial Cup will be up for grabs when South Bendigo meets Sandhurst in next Saturday’s round five showdown at Harry Trott Oval in Neale Street, Kennington.

Maryborough is on home turf at Princes Park to take on Golden Square.

Castlemaine and Kangaroo Flat clash on the Magpies’ turf at Camp Reserve.

Strathfieldsaye is back at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane to host Eaglehawk.

Gisborne and Kyneton fight for premiership points at Gardiner Reserve.