BFNL Round 4 Football Review


Sandhurst smashes league’s record score

SANDHURST smashed the record score achieved by a senior footy team in Saturday’s fourth round of the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL season.

The Dragons racked up an incredible tally of 54.23 (347) in a 333-point victory on Maryborough’s turf at Princes Park.

Matches across the BFNL were part of the Pat Cronin Foundation which raised awareness of violence, in particular the “coward punch”.

The day also became a fund-raiser for the foundation and its work with sporting clubs, schools, and community groups.

Previous record score in Bendigo FNL history was 49.28 (322) by the Peter Bradbury-coached South Bendigo against Kennington at Harry Trott Oval, Kennington in 1990.

A tally of 11 goals in the opening term was a remarkable start by Sandhurst against the Magpies.

The Dragons added a remarkable 17 goals in the second to lead 179-13 by half-time.

Sandhurst’s intensity at the contest did not let up.

A team jointly coached by Ash Connick, non-playing, and Bryce Curnow, playing, scored 13 goals in the third term and another 13 in the last.

By the final siren, Sandhurst led 54.23 (347) to 2.2 (14).

Lachlan Wright led the Dragons’ attack on 12 goals as Fergus Greene booted nine and Noah Walsh chipped in with seven.

Other multiple goalkickers were Bryce Curnow and Nick Stagg, five; Lachlan Tardrew, four; Lachie Hood and Cobi Maxted, three; and Jake McLean, two.

Fraser Russell kicked both of Maryborough’s goals.

Sandhurst captain Lachlan Tardrew was best afield as Noah Walsh, Lachlan Wright, Fergus Greene, Cooper Smith and James Coghlan won plenty of contests.

Was an incredibly tough afternoon for the Maryborough team and co-coaches Coby Perry and Matt Johnston.

Best for the Magpies were Coby Perry, Kya Lanfranchi, Tom Myers, Aidan Medlyn, Josh Britten and Fraser Russell.

Golden Square’s winning streak of 23 years against Kangaroo Flat will continue for at least another game.

The Brad Eaton-coached Bulldogs turned a 13-point lead at quarter-time into a 40-point buffer by half-time as they slammed on 5.5 to 1.2 in the second at Golden Square’s Wade Street ground.

The blue and gold was wary of a Kangaroo Flat team desperate to end the hoodoo and had overrun South Bendigo the previous round.

In this contest it was the classy Ricky Monti who led the Bulldogs to an emphatic 106-29 victory as he kicked four goals and won plenty of the footy in a best on ground performance.

Talented youngster Macey Eaton, a previous winner of the George Symons Medal as fairest and best in the Bendigo FNL under-18s competition kicked two goals.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Bulldogs were Jack Stewart and hard-running midfielder Zac Tickell on two.

The Michael Ellings-coached Kangaroos were held to a tally of three goals in this match.

Best for the Bulldogs included Macey Eaton, Zack Shelton, and Zac Tickell.

Luke Ellings, Daniel Stagg, Toby Roberts, Campbell Smith, Zac Rouse and Josh Halsall worked hard on a disappointing day for the Roos players and supporters.

Feature match of Pat Cronin Foundation Round was Eaglehawk against Castlemaine at the Borough’s Canterbury Park.

The Hawks and Magpies were determined to bounce back from defeat.

The Travis Matheson-coached Eaglehawk did plenty of attacking across the first half, but was wayard at goal.

By half-time the Hawks led 5.11 (41) to 2.5 (17).

Quarter three was to be Castlemaine’s best as the visitors scored 3.3 to 1.2.

An 11-point lead for the Two Blues at the start of the final term was 42 by the finish as Eaglehawk slammed on 6.3 to 1.2.

At the final siren Eaglehawk led 88-46.

Jonty Neaves led the Hawks’ attack on three goals as Darcy Richards, Mitchell Ronchieri and Ben Thompson added two.

Castlemaine coach Michael Hartley was the Pies only multiple goalkicker on two.

Best for Eaglehawk were Ben Thompson, ruckman Brayden Frost, Clayton Holmes, Billy Evans, Joel Mullen and Charlie Langford.

The Magpies’ best were Bailey Henderson, Kalan Huntly, Zavier Murley, Darby Semmens, Harrison Sheahan and Michael Hartley.

A nine-goal blitz in the second quarter put Gisborne well in control of its match on South Bendigo’s ground at Harry Trott Oval in Kennington.

The Rob Waters-coached Gisborne led 20-9 at quarter-time.

In the second the Bulldogs dominated centre breaks and clearances.

Led by the play of ruckman Braidon Blake and on-ballers Jackson Cardillo and Brad Bernacki, Gisborne slammed on 9.4 to a point in the second term.

The Bulldogs’ margin past the century mark by three quarter-time.

Harry Luxmoore’s hot form rolled on as he kicked eight goals in a 186-31 victory.

Other multiple goalkickers for the red, white and blue were Pat McKenna, four; Cardillo, Matt Merrett, Jack Scanlon, three; Zac Denahy and Sam Graham, two.

There were no multiple goalkickers for a Bloods line-up jointly coached by Steven Stroobants and Isaiah Miller.

Gisborne’s best included Luxmoore, Zac Denahy and Flynn Lakey.

Best for the Bloods were Brody Haddow, Jack Francis, Alex Smith, Tait Poyser, Zac Hare and Declan McMahon.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Sandhurst 522 per cent, 12 points; Strathfieldsaye 136, 12; Gisborne 397, 8; Eaglehawk 129, 8; Golden Square 116, 8; Kangaroo Flat 69, 8; Castlemaine 92, 4; South Bendigo 65, 4; Maryborough 19, 0.

Feature match of Saturday’s fifth round between Sandhurst and South Bendigo at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

It’s the clash of the Bulldogs as Gisborne is on home turf at Gardiner Reserve against Golden Square.

Kangaroo Flat returns to Dower Park to take on Eaglehawk.

Castlemaine and Strathfieldsaye clash at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

Maryborough has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race for the Ron Best Medal:

20 Brock Harvey, South Bendigo.

17 Pat McKenna, Gisborne.

16 Fergus Greene, Sandhurst.

16 Michael Hartley, Castlemaine.

16 Harry Luxmoore, Gisborne.

16 Lachlan Wright, Sandhurst.

9 Bailey Henderson, Castlemaine.

9 Lachlan Tardrew, Sandhurst.

8 Justin Bateson, Kangaroo Flat.

8 Jayden Burke, Golden Square.

8 James Schishcka, Strathfieldsaye.

8 Steven Stroobants, South Bendigo.

8 Noah Walsh, Sandhurst.

8 Joel Wharton, Sandhurst.

8 Harry Whitty, Kangaroo Flat.

7 Sam Graham, Gisborne.

7 Cobi Maxted, Sandhurst.

7 Fraser Russell, Maryborough.

7 Jack Stewart, Golden Square.