BFNL Round 5 Football Review | Tigers fight for win on Gisborne’s turf


THE ‘we’ll fight and fight and win’ sung by Kyneton’s players rung true in Saturday’s clash at in the fifth round of the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL senior footy season.

Kyneton had played brilliant football on Gisborne’s turf at Gardiner Reserve to lead 75-45 at a quarter to play.

In the last it was Gisborne which set up attack after attack.

The Tigers’ defence was under siege as the Bulldogs scored 4.4.

Although Kyneton was scoreless in the final term the yellow and black held on for a 75-73 victory.

The classy Cameron Manuel kicked a team-high four goals to be among Kyneton’s best as Jayden Eales and Thomas Quinn added two each.

Gisborne’s premiership-winning captain Pat McKenna marked a welcome return by kicking a match-high five goals as Tom Wood added two.

Best for the Tigers were Jake Summers, Dom Bennington, Cameron Manuel, Harrison Huntley, Mason Crozier and Angus Strawhorn.

Ruckman Braidon Blake, Flynn Lakey, Sam Graham, Matt Merrett, Macklan Lord and Liam Spear played well for the Brad Fox-coached Bulldogs.

After a nil-three start the Paul Chapman-coached Kyneton is now 2-3.

Sandhurst’s unbeaten run kept rolling as it won another memorial match.

The Dragons took on South Bendigo for the Graeme Wright Memorial Cup at Kennington’s Harry Trott Oval.

It was the first time the Cup clash which honours one of South Bendigo’s great defenders and clubmen had been played at the ground.

Sandhurst made a hot start to lead 4.3 to 0.4 at the first break.

The Bloods fought back to cut the margin to 17 points by the main break.

Led by the brilliance of ruckman Hamish Hosking and the pace and skill of Noah Walsh and Cooper Smith, Sandhurst’s lead was up to 28 by the last change.

Jointly coached by Ash Connick, non-playing, and Bryce Curnow, non-playing, Sandhurst slammed on five goals in the last to complete a 105-52 victory.

Lachlan Wright led the attack on three goals as Archer Day-Wicks, Cobi Maxted, Brodie Montague and Matt Wilkinson added two each.

Will Keck, Cooper Leon and Brock Harvey all booted two goals for the Bloods.

Sandhurst’s best included Matt Wilkinson, Lachie Hood and Liam Ireland.

Bloods’ coach Nathan Horbury was best along with Riley Walsh, Brody Haddow, Mac Cameron, Cooper Leon and Sam Griffiths.

Eaglehawk’s defence was outstanding as it held Strathfieldsaye to just two goals in the clash on Storm’s turf at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

The Hawks led 17-1 at quarter-time and then scored 5.6 to just three points in the second.

Eaglehawk dominated most of the on-ball and midfield duels through the play of Joel Mullen, Billy Evans, and ruckman Connor Dalgleish.

Liam Marciano and Darcy Richards kicked three goals apiece as Joel Mullen and talented youngster Jack O’Shannessy booted two each.

On a day where Cameron McGlashan played his 150th club game and Sam Thompson his 100th senior match, Eaglehawk kicked on to a 99-21 victory.

Storm’s goalkickers were Lachlan Bonney and Lachlan Gill.

The Hawks’ best included former St Kilda captain Jarryn Geary in a game that featured his brothers – Kallen for the Hawks, and Shannon for Storm.

Also among the Two Blues best were Thomas Bennett and co-captain Cameron McGlashan.

On a tough afternoon for the Darryl Wilson-coached Storm it was Michelsen medallist Jake Moorhead, Hunter Lawrence, Lachlan Gill, Shannon Geary, Mitch Hallinan and George Simpson who were best.

Kangaroo Flat marked its second win of the season in a 95-47 triumph at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

The Roos led 18-15 at quarter-time.

Goalkicking accuracy by the Flat was superb as it scored 9.1 to 4.6 in the first half.

Ryan O’Keefe kicked four goals in a best afield performance as Liam Collins and Sam Barnes played key role in the Kangaroos’ victory.

Multiple goalkickers for Flat were Mitchell Collins, three, and Sam Barnes, two.

Leading goalkicker for the Magpies was Nicholas Woodman on two.

Best for the Nathan Johns-coached Kangaroo Flat included Jordan and Zachary Rouse, and Nicholas Keogh.

Liam Wilkinson, Matt Filo, Nicholas Woodman, Tyson Jackson, John Watson and Ben Moran were best for the Brendan Shepherd-coached Castlemaine.

A 10-goal haul by Joel Brett and eight from Braydon Vaz were highlights in Golden Square’s big win at Maryborough’s Princes Park.

On the rebound from consecutive defeats, Golden Square dominated from the first contest.

The Bulldogs scored 11 goals to one in the opening term and led 125-6 by half-time.

It was a ruthless performance led by Ryan Hartley, Joel Brett, Ricky Monti and Braydon Vaz as the Bulldogs went on to win 39.19 (253) to 2.2 (14).

Other multiple goalkickers for the blue and gold were Jake Thrum, four; Macey Eaton, Hugh Freckleton, Ryan Hartley and Zavier Murley, three; and Drew Barrett, two.

Goalkickers for the Coby Perry-coached Maryborough were Lucas Hurse and Matt Johnston.

The Bulldogs’ best included Terence Reeves and Jack Hickman.

Maryborough’s best were Kya Lanfranchi, Jake Postle, Alex Brown, Joel Swatton, Lucas Hurse and Brady Neill.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Eaglehawk 369 per cent, 20 points; Sandhurst 178, 20; Golden Square 190, 12; South Bendigo 112, 12; Gisborne 119, 8; Strathfieldsaye 98, 8; Kyneton 95, 8; Kangaroo Flat 85, 8; Castlemaine 32, 4; Maryborough 19, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race for the Ron Best Medal:

21 Joel Brett, Golden Square.

14 Will Keck, South Bendigo.

13 Brayden Vaz, Golden Square.

13 Lachlan Wright, Sandhurst.

12 James Schischka, Strathfieldsaye.

12 Lachlan Sharp, Strathfieldsaye.

12 Steven Stroobants, South Bendigo.

11 Thomas Quinn, Kyneton.

10 Ryan Hartley, Golden Square.

10 Lewin Davis, Eaglehawk.

10 Cameron Manuel, Kyneton.

10 Cameron McGlashan, Eaglehawk.

9 Brock Harvey, South Bendigo.

9 Liam Marciano, Eaglehawk.

9 Matt Thornton, Sandhurst.

The Bendigo FNL has a general bye on May 20.

Highs in round six when the season resumes on May 27 include Golden Square up against Gisborne at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street; and South Bendigo versus Strathfieldsaye at Harry Trott Oval in Kennington.

Sandhurst takes on Maryborough at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Kyneton faces Castlemaine in Tigerland at Kyneton Showgrounds.

Kangaroo Flat plays Eaglehawk on the Roos’ ground at Dower Park.