BFNL Round 6 Week 1 Football Review


Gisborne clips Eaglehawk’s wings

GISBORNE clipped Eaglehawk’s wings in Saturday’s start to the split sixth round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL season.

The Bulldogs made their way to Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park for the big clash.

Eaglehawk made a strong start and led 19-9 at quarter-time.

In the second it was the Rob Waters-coached Gisborne which started to take control at centre breaks and stoppages.

The Bulldogs slammed on 7.4 and kept the Two Blues to a tally of just three behinds.

At half-time Gisborne led 55-22.

The Travis Matheson-coached Eaglehawk worked hard throughout the second half to score 6.5 as the Dogs added 6.6.

Harry Luxmoore kicked a team-high four goals for Gisborne as Zac Denahy added three in a 97-63 victory.

The Hawks’ attack was led by Darcy Richards, four goals, and Ben Thompson, two.

Captain for the day, Brad Bernacki was best afield for the Bulldogs as Harry Luxmoore, ruckman Braidon Blake, Zach Vescovi, Liam Spear and Macklan Lord all played well.

Best for Eaglehawk were Charlie Langford, Ben Thompson, Billy Evans, Clayton Holmes, Marcus Angove and Darcy Richards.

Strathfieldsaye’s winning run kept rolling at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

The Storm line-up took on Kangaroo Flat.

Goalkicking accuracy was a highlight of Strathfieldsaye’s play in the opening term as it scored five goals.

The Michael Ellings-coached Kangaroos also made a positive start by scoring 3.4.

In the second term it was Strathfieldsaye which took control.

Storm added 4.4 as Flat was held to a goal.

A 30-point buffer for Strathfieldsaye at the start of the second half was up to 44 by the last break.

Storm surged clear in the final term as it added 6.4 to a point.

Key forward James Schischka capped a best on ground performance with six goals in a 119-36 victory.

Other multiple goalkickers for Storm were Malik Gordon, five; Abe Sheahan and Riley Wilson, two.

The Roos’ attack was led by Campbell Smith on two.

Storm’s best were James Schischka, Lachlan Gill, Patrick Blandford, Matt Harvey, Malik Gordon and Carson James.

Kangaroo Flat’s best were Xav Dingfelder-Hope, Toby Balcke, Connor Evans, Kyle Symons, Josh Halsall and Connor Lee.

An 11-goal haul by Brock Harvey has put South Bendigo’s gun forward atop the board for the Ron Best Medal as the league’s leading goalkicker.

Harvey and Bloods’ co-coach Steven Stroobants were in hot form as they kicked 11 and eight goals respectively in a big win against Maryborough at Kennington’s Harry Trott Oval.

After scoring 2.6 in the first term, South Bendigo then slammed on eight, 11 and nine goals in the next three terms.

At the final siren a team jointly coached by Stroobants and Isaiah Miller led 30.21 (201) to 2.5 (17).

Key defender Andrew van Heumen did well in attack to kick three goals as on-baller Brody Haddow added two.

Maryborough’s goalkickers were Josh Britten and Jack Gallaher.

Best for the Bloods were Cody Brooks, Brock Harvey, Zaydyn Lockwood, Brody Haddow, Aidan Avery and Zac Sims.

Was another tough afternoon for a young Maryborough team jointly coached by Coby Perry and Matt Johnston.

The Magpies’ best were Tom Myers, Josh Britten, Kya Lanfranchi, Michael Romero, Ash Humphrey and Jack Gallagher.

Round six will be completed next Saturday when Golden Square takes on Sandhurst at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

The Bulldogs and Dragons will play for the Ron Best Memorial Shield which honours the legendary goalkicker of the 70s and 80s who played in two premierships with Sandhurst and one at Golden Square.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Strathfieldsaye 164 per cent, 20 points; Sandhurst 529 per cent, 16 points; Gisborne 288, 16; Eaglehawk 120, 12; Golden Square 98, 8; South Bendigo 82, 8; Kangaroo Flat 59, 8; Castlemaine 87, 4; Maryborough 17, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race for the Ron Best Medal:

32 Brock Harvey, South Bendigo.

26 Fergus Greene, Sandhurst.

23 Pat McKenna, Gisborne.

20 Harry Luxmoore, Gisborne.

18 Michael Hartley, Castlemaine.

18 James Schischka, Strathfieldsaye.

17 Lachlan Wright, Sandhurst.

16 Steven Stroobants, South Bendigo.

12 Malik Gordon, Strathfieldsaye.

11 Noah Walsh, Sandhurst.

11 Jonty Neaves, Eaglehawk.

10 Zac Denahy, Gisborne.

9 Justin Bateson, Kangaroo Flat.

9 Brad Bernacki, Gisborne.

9 Jayden Burke, Golden Square.

9 Bailey Henderson, Castlemaine.

9 Darcy Richards, Eaglehawk.

9 Jack Stewart, Golden Square.

9 Lachlan Tardrew, Sandhurst.

8 Cobi Maxted, Sandhurst.

8 Abe Sheahan, Strathfieldsaye.

8 Ben Thompson, Eaglehawk.

8 Joel Wharton, Sandhurst.

8 Harry Whitty, Kangaroo Flat.

7 Sam Graham, Gisborne.

7 Matt Merrett, Gisborne.

7 Fraser Russell, Maryborough.

A highlight of round seven on June 1 will be Gisborne on home turf at Gardiner Reserve against Strathfieldsaye.

Kangaroo Flat takes on Castlemaine on the Roos’ ground at Dower Park.

Sandhurst and Eaglehawk clash at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Maryborough is home at Princes Park to play Golden Square.

South Bendigo has the bye.