BFNL Round 7 Football Review | Kyneton wins thriller on Eaglehawk’s turf


AN AFTER the siren goal by Cameron Manuel clinched a dramatic win by Kyneton at Eaglehawk in Saturday’s seventh round of the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL’s senior footy season.

The Hawks and Tigers lined up for the Indigenous Round feature match on the Hawks’ turf at Canterbury Park.

Stung by defeat at Kangaroo Flat the previous round, Eaglehawk made a superb start to this match.

The Travis Matheson-coached Hawks scored 3.6 to 0.1 in the opening term.

Kyneton fought back to win the second, 20-8.

The Paul Chapman-coached Tigers then led 51-43 going into the final term.

Spurred on by a vocal home crowd, Eaglehawk charged to a 17-point lead approaching time-on in the final term.

Kyneton replied with two unanswered goals and then had the game on the boot of Cameron Manuel after he was freed in a marking contest.

Manuel’s fifth goal capped a best afield performance and a fighting 77-76 victory for the yellow and black.

Kyneton claimed the valuable premiership points and the Wirama Shield.

A key defender for most of his career, Harrison Huntley kicked two goals for the Tigers.

Multiple goalkickers for the Hawks were Lewin Davis and Dylan Hird on two.

Best for the Tigers were Cameron Manuel, Ben Cameron, Mitch Comben, Jake Summers, Lucas Iudica and Jayden Eales.

Hawks’ co-captain Billy Evans was best along with Bailey Ilsley, Charlie Laangford, Lewin Davis, Sam Harper and Joel Mullen.

Emotions were running high as Castlemaine took to Camp Reserve to play Golden Square.

The effort of all at Castlemaine FNC after the sudden passing of under-18s player Dallas Keogh-Frankling at Kyneton the previous Saturday was superb.

A minute’s silence was held before all matches.

Ashton Frankling was among Castlemaine’s best from a wing as he wore number eight in honour of his younger brother.

The Magpies started strongly to score two goals in the opening term as Square added 3.6.

From there it was the bigger-bodied and skilful Golden Square on-ballers and forwards who took control.

The Bulldogs scored 6.3 to nil in the second term and went on to record a 130-27 victory.

Last season’s Ron Best medallist as the league’s leading goalkicker, Joel Brett booted seven in this match.

Talented teen Macey Eaton kicked two goals as did the in-form Braydon Vaz.

Goalkickers for the Magpies were Riley Pedretti, two; Callum McConachy and Nicholas Woodman.

Best for the Christian Carter-coached Bulldogs were Jon Coe, Joel Brett, Tom Toma, Liam Barrett, Ricky Monti and Braydon Vaz.

Brodie Browne-Kerr, Riley Pedretti, Callum McConachy, Matt Filo, Ashton Frankling and Liam Wilkinson led the way for the Brendan Shepherd-coached Magpies.

Earlier in the day, Castlemaine won the under-18s match against the previously unbeaten Bulldogs.

Goalkicking accuracy was astonishing as the Magpies scored 8.1 to 6.8 to mark a special victory in honour of their team-mate.

After being outplayed by the unbeaten Sandhurst in the first half, Gisborne lifted dramatically in the final hour of the match at home at Gardiner Reserve.

The Brad Fox-coached Gisborne faced a 26-point deficit at half-time after the Dragons had scored 7.2 to 2.6.

In the third it was the Bulldogs who outran their opponents to win the quarter, 15-2.

A huge upset was looming at the start of the final term, but it was Sandhurst’s accuracy which played a key part in clinching victory.

In a term marked by plenty of atacking play, Sandhurst scored 2.5 to 1.7 to clinch a 63-46 victory.

Key forward Matt Thornton kicked a match-high three goals for the Dragons as Andy Collins and Nick Stagg added two each.

Gisborne’s multiple goalkicker was Liam Spear on two.

Best for a Sandhurst team coach by Ash Connick, non-playing, and Bryce Curnow, playing, were Cooper Smith, Nick Stagg, Hamish Hosking, Lachie Hood, James Coghlan and Darcy Mills.

Jed Denahy, Ryan Bourke, Braidon Blake, Flynn Lakey, James Fox and Liam Spear played well for Gisborne.

Strathfieldsaye’s winning streak against Kangaroo Flat continued as Storm dominated play on its turf at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

After breaking Eaglehawk’s winning run the previous round, Kangaroo Flat headed to Strathfieldsaye eyeing another big upset.

At quarter-time the Nathan Johns-coached Roos were right in the contest as Storm led 23-14.

Strathfieldsaye’s buffer had increased to 28 by the long break.

In the third term it was the Darryl Wilson-coached Strathfieldsaye which seized control.

A remarkable attacking surge resulted in six goals as the Roos were scoreless.

Storm’s run did not let up as it slammed on 7.5 to 2.1 in the last to complete a 150-46 victory.

Strathfieldsaye captain Lachlan Sharp was in superb touch as he kicked eight goals.

Other multiple goalkickers for Storm were Bode Stevens, four; Jake Moorhead and Jordan Wilson, two.

The Roos’ attack was again led by Harry Whitty on four goals.

Strathfieldsaye’s best were Bode Stevens, Shannon Geary, Luke Webb, Callum McCarty, Lachlan Sharp and Riley West.

Best for Kangaroo Flat were Mitch Trewhella, Harry Whitty, Jordan Rouse, Ryan O’Keefe, Mitch and Liam Collins.

South Bendigo’s kicking efficiency to and inside the forward 50m arc improved dramatically for the match at Maryborough’s Princes Park.

The Nathan Horbury-coached Bloods scored 4.7 to a point in the first term and added 4.3 in the second.

Maryborough lifted its play markedly in the second but was let down by inaccuracy as it scored 2.6.

In the third it was a Bloods’ blitz as they slammed on 11.3 to a goal.

Midfielders Oscar White and Brody Haddow racked up plenty of possessions and Brock Harvey was superb in the forward line.

The Bloods went on to win 27.15 (177) to 6.7 (43) as Harvey led the attack on eight goals.

Will Allen, Steven Stroobants and Oscar White chipped in with three majors.

Jai Howell led the Magpies’ attack on two goals.

Best for the Bloods included Sam Langley, Cooper Leon and Alex Smith.

Jai Howell, key defender Kya Lanfranchi, assistant coach Joel Swatton, Brady Neill, Oscar Tatchell and Chris Freeman were Maryborough’s best.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Sandhurst 241 per cent, 28 points; Eaglehawk 243, 20; Golden Square 211, 20; South Bendigo 35, 16; Strathfieldsaye 121, 16; Kyneton 96, 14; Kangaroo Flat 73, 12; Gisborne 99, 8; Castlemaine 29, 6; Maryborough 16, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race for the Ron Best Medal:

30 Joel Brett, Golden Square.

23 Lachlan Sharp, Strathfieldsaye.

20 Will Keck, South Bendigo.

20 Lachlan Wright, Sandhurst.

18 Brock Harvey, South Bendigo.

18 Steven Stroobants, South Bendigo.

17 Cameron Manuel, Kyneton.

17 Braydon Vaz, Golden Square.

16 Matt Thornton, Sandhurst.

13 Ryan Hartley, Golden Square.

13 James Schischka, Strathfieldsaye.

12 Lewin Davis, Eaglehawk.

12 Thomas Quinn, Kyneton.

12 Darcy Richards, Eaglehawk.

11 Harry Whitty, Kangaroo Flat.

10 Dylan Hird, Eaglehawk.

Highlight of round eight to be played next Saturday on King’s Birthday holiday weekend will be Golden Square against Eaglehawk at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street from 2.20pm.

Sandhurst faces Castlemaine on Queen Elizabeth Oval.

It’s a crucial contest for South Bendigo and Gisborne at the Bloods’ new home at Kennington’s Harry Trott Oval.

Kyneton is back on home turf at Kyneton Showgrounds to play Kangaroo Flat.

Maryborough hosts Strathfieldsaye at Princes Park.