Central Murray FNL | Football Finals Week 1 WRAP UP

Kangas, Magpies victorious as senior footy finals kick off

COHUNA Kangas and Lake Boga were victorious in the weekend’s start to the Central Murray Football Netball League’s senior footy finals.

Although they played Woorinen on its turf in Saturday’s qualifying final, Cohuna Kangas were able to mark a 92-77 victory in the 3SH-backed seniors competition.

The Kangas bound away to lead 36-19 at quarter-time, but the Tigers fought back to win the second term, 18-9.

A high-scoring third quarter went Cohuna’s way, 37-32, before defences took hold in the last as the Kangas added 1.4 to 1.2.

Cohuna’s attack was led by Daniel Coates and Jarrod Findlay, three; Tyson Findlay, Rhys Free and Riley Hird, two.

Leading goalkickers for Woorinen were Josh Domaille, Lachlan Gardner and Patrick Veszpremi on three.

Best for the Kangas were Thomas Toma, Jake Hammond, Daniel Paterson, Tom Metherell, Jarrod Findlay and Joel Helman.

Ben Booth, Arnold Kirby, Josh Domaille, Patrick Veszpremi, Taylor Cameron and Daniel Mase played well for the Tigers.

Cohuna Kangas now take on Kerang in next Saturday’s second semi-final at Kerang’s Riverside Park.


Woorinen and Lake Boga will play in the first semi-final on Sunday at Alan Garden Reserve in Swan Hill.

The Magpies from Lake Boga won Sunday’s elimination final against Tyntynder by four goals.

Tyntynder led 25-15 at quarter-time of the clash at Nyah.

Lake Boga fired up to score 5.6 to 1.1 in the second and won the crucial third term, 26-15.

A five-goal buffer for the Magpies had been cut to four by the final siren as they won 104-80.

The AFL experience that Angus Monfries gained in stints with Essendon and Port Adelaide is a huge plus for Lake Boga.

Monfries kicked a match-high five goals in the elimination final as Jayden Lonergan added three and Dustin Burns chipped in with two.

Tyntynder’s attack was led by Josh Dwyer, Thomas Sala and Brock Storer on two each.

Lake Boga’s best were Matt Taverna, Tyle Williams, Jacob Simpson, John Harvey, Jayden Lonergan and Nathaniel Holmes-Brown.

Josh Dwyer, Brock Storer, Thomas Sala, Tate Hulland and Marcus Wattie played well for the Bulldogs.


In the reserves competition, Woorinen marked a 61-35 qualifying final win against Lake Boga.

The Tigers led 36-2 at quarter-time and 49-27 by the long break.

Defences were well on top in the second half as Woorinen was held to 1.6 and the Magpies added 1.2.

Zac Cordwell, Tim Gammon, Jason Iannucci and Thomas Isma kicked two goals apiece for the Tigers.

Lake Boga’s goalkickers were Shannon O’Reilly, two; Patrick Bryan, Byron Holt and Tobie Richardson.

Best for Woorinen were Jake Butler, Otto Conlan, Jeremy Bedggodd, Bailey Kruger, Tahj Bolton and Thomas Isma.

Cooper Fox, Tobie Richardson, Gary Goodes, Daniel Haines, John Foskett and Shannon O’Rielly played well for the Magpies.


The reserves elimination final ended in an 80-46 victory for Tyntynder against Koondrook Barham.

The Bulldogs led 41-8 at half-time.

Koondrook Barham worked hard in a third term won by Tyntynder, 14-12.

In what was to be its final quarter of the season, Koondrook Barham scored 4.2 to 4.1.

Jack O’Rourke kicked five goals for Tyntynder as Mark Corrie added two.

The only multiple goalkicker for Koondrook Barham was Dean McGowan with two.

Tyntynder’s best were Paul Strugnell, Adam Raggatt, Jack Henson, Pech Dualdong, Trent Collins and Cas Mitchell.

Chester Gardner, Matthew Dean, Tom Amor, Ash Molin, Jack Lambert and Dean McGowan played well for Koondrook Barham.


In the Colts competition, Kerang dominated the qualifying clash with Koondrook Barham.

The Blues led 16-1 at quarter-time and 41-4 by half-time.

Kerang then unleashed a brilliant third quarter of 7.2 to a point as it kicked on for a 106-11 victory.

Patrick Oliver kicked five goals for the Blues as Mason Dibsdale, four; Brodie Meehan, three; and Bohden McKnight, two, were the other multiple goalkickers.

Riley Davis was on target for Koondrook Barham.

Best for Kerang were Tyson Clingan, Lachlan Somerville, Nicholas Murray, Patrick Oliver, Bohden McKnight and Mason Dibsdale.

Jaspar Wilson-Keir, Lachlan Laursen, Nathaniel Leonard, Angus Laskowski, Trinity Starr and Jake Lowry were Koondrook Barham’s best.


A high-scoring Colts elimination final ended in a 120-67 victory for Swan Hill against Mallee Eagles.

The Swans led 77-14 at half-time.

Mallee Eagles lifted their play to win the second half, 53-43.

Wilhem Bennett kicked six goals for Swan Hill as Shannon Polglase booted four and Steven Polglase-Hincksman added  two.

Mallee Eagles’ forward Harry McGregor kicked a match-high eight goals.

Best for the Swans were Sonny Beasy, Wilhem Bennett, Shannon Polglase, Buol Majur, Lachlan Vrolijks and Jude Seymour.

Harrison Stanyer, Harry McGregor, Liam Drummond, Jonah Devlin, Thomas Dunn and Liam Edwards were Mallee’s best.


In the first of the Mildura Health Fund-backed under-14 ½ finals, Lake Boga beat Kerang by 33 points in the qualifying final.

The Magpies led 22-1 at half-time and 34-1 at a quarter to go.

Kerang fired up to match Lake Boga’s tally of 2.2 in the final term as the Magpies marked a 48-15 victory.

Goalkickers for Lake Boga were Maximus Caruso, two; Bryce Anderson, Rory Davies, Noah Noble and Gus Tonkin.

Jackson Brady was the only goalkicker listed for Kerang.

The Magpies’ best were Willem Pye, Max O’Reilly, Willem Holmes, Cooper Doolan, Kye Fleming and Reef Mulligan.

Flynn McKnight, Leigham McAlpin, Harvey Macri, Will Canham, Phoenix Freeman and Harding Malaki were Kerang’s best.


The under-14 ½ elimination final ended in a 68-25 win for Tyntynder against Koondrook Barham.

At half-time it was Koondrook Barham in front, 17-13.

The Bulldogs scored 4.1 to a point in the third term and 5.0 to 1.1 in the last.

Patrick Blake kicked eight goals in a best afield performance for Tyntynder as Bailey Clarke added two goals and John Eade the other.

Hugo Gray booted two majors for Koondrook Barham as Riley D’Silva was also on target.

Tyntynder’s best included Dylan Durbridge, Nash Benfield, Codi McDonald, Tyler McDonald and John Eade.

Xavier Leonard, James Bell, Max Snowdon, Kynan Laursen, Ethan Patten and Clay Watts were Koondrook Barham’s best.


Schedule for Saturday’s second semi-finals at Kerang’s Riverside Park:

Mildura Health Fund under-14 ½ at 9am: Swan Hill v Lake Boga.

CMFNL Colts at 10.20am: Lake Boga v Kerang.

CMFNL reserves at 12.25pm: Kerang v Woorinen.

3SH Seniors at 2.30pm: Kerang v Cohuna Kangas.


Schedule for Sunday’s first semi-finals at Alan Garden Reserve in Swan Hill:

Mildura Health Fund under-14 ½ at 9am: Kerang v Tyntynder.

CMFNL Colts at 10.20am: Koondrook Barham v Swan Hill.

CMFNL reserves at 12.25pm: Lake Boga v Tyntynder.

3SH Seniors at 2.30pm: Woorinen v Lake Boga.


Written by Nathan Dole.