CMFNL Football | 2nd Semi Final WRAP UP

Cohuna Kangas bound into grand final showdown

COHUNA Kangas are through to the grand final in the 3SH-backed senior footy competition in the Central Murray Football League.

The Kangas outplayed Kerang in Saturday’s second semi-final on Kerang’s turf at Riverside Park.

A hotly-contested first half ended with Cohuna in front, 21-20.

Both teams rued inaccurate kicking in the third as the Kangas scored 1.5 and the Blues added 1.4.

Thomas Toma, Oscar Cooke and Ben Archard played key roles as Cohuna surged clear in the final term.

The Kangas added 4.2 to 1.1 for a 58-37 victory.

Rhys Free and captain Thomas Toma led Cohuna’s attack on three and two goals.

Other goalkickers for the Kangas were Jack Donat, Patrick Doyle and Dylan Johnstone.

Kerang’s goalkickers were Sean Hunter, captain Josh Nitschke, Rylee Smith and Nick Stagg.

Best for Cohuna included Jake Hammond, Daniel Paterson and Mason Fehring.

Kerang’s best were Michael Dalrymple, Lachlan Ross, Ryan Gillingham, Josh Nitschke, Martin Kelly and Nick Stagg.


The reserves clash ended in a 59-36 victory for Kerang against Woorinen.

The Tigers led 8-6 at quarter-time, but the Blues fired up to score 3.1 to 1.1 in the second.

Tallies of 2.2 and 3.2 in the next two quarters put Kerang in control as the defence worked hard to limit the Tigers to 3.3 in the second half.

Ethan McKnight led Kerang’s attack on three goals as Kyle Franzini and Jonah McKnight added two, and Josh Free and Harrison Saunders were also on target.

Goalkickers for Woorinen were Jason Iannucci, two; Joshua Hendy, Matthew Iannucci and Jake Schmidt.

Kerang’s best were Laine Harry, Jotham Higgs, Liam Jardine, Rylee Gitsham, Lachlan Hall and Ethan McKnight.

Thomas Isma, Matthew Iannucci, Joseph Kelly, Tim Gammon, Bailey Kruger and Kyle Steicke played well for the Tigers.


It was a thrilling finish to the under-17 ½ match between Lake Boga and Kerang.

The Magpies led 36-14 at three quarter-time, but a Blues’ final quarter blitz of 5.3 to 1.2 ensured a 47-44 victory for Kerang.

Mason Dibsdale kicked three goals for Kerang as Harry Bremner chipped in with two and Nathan Boysen and Cody Makeham also goaled.

Lake Boga’s attack was led by Xavier Sherlock, two; Ruan Drotsky, Ryan Harvey, Willem Holmes and Nicholas Taylor.

Best for Kerang were Lachlan Somerville, Nicholas Murray, Cody Makeham, Mason Dibsdale, Zarna Thamm and Brodie Meehan.

Charlie Bryan, Codie Anderson, Xavier Sherlock, Brody Palmer, Nicholas Taylor and Ryan Harvey played well for Lake Boga.


Game one on second semi-final day was the Mildura Health Fund under-14 ½ clash between Swan Hill and Lake Boga.

The Swan Hill line-up charged into the grand final on the back of an 81-nil victory.

Steven Polglase-Hincksman kicked four goals for Swan Hill as Sonny Beasy and Koby McMillan added two each.

Other goalkickers were Paddy Hufer, Bodhi Kelly and Lachlan Vrolijks.

Swan Hill’s best were Lachlan Vrolijks, Koby McMillan, Bodhi Kelly, Paddy Hufer, Jack Brown and Mitch Hinton.

Max O’Reilly, Cooper Doolan, Lachlan Bull, Kye Fleming, Bryce Anderson and Reef Mulligan worked hard for Lake Boga.


Written by Nathan Dole.