Golden Rivers FNL | Football 2nd Semi Final WRAP UP

Nullawil dominates second semi clash with Quambatook

NULLAWIL took another step toward premiership glory when it beat Quambatook in the Golden Rivers Football League’s senior footy second semi-final on Saturday.

The Maroons dominated after quarter-time on the Saints’ turf at Quambatook.

A high-scoring opening term ended with Nullawil in front, 31-25.

Beaten just once in the home and away series, Nullawil scored 3.2 to nil in the second term of Saturday’s big clash.

The Maroons’ ferocity at the contest did not let up in the second half.

Inaccuracy was the only blight on Nullawil’s game as it scored 3.7 and held the Saints to just two points in the third quarter.

With the match well in their keeping the Maroons slammed on 7.5 to 3.1 in the final term to complete a 123-46 victory.

It was another great afternoon for Mitch Farmer as he kicked seven goals and was well-supported by Nullawil team-mates Andrew Oberdorfer, four goals; Jordan Humphreys, three; and Dylan Joyce, two.

The Saints’ attack was led by Will Collicoat on three.

Other goalkickers for Quambatook were Martin Angus, Ashley Murray, Brad Organ and Ricky Wild.

Nullawil’s best were Patrick Kelly, Jordan Humphreys, Zac Kelly, Mitch Farmer, Matt Quigley and Josh Bamford.

The Saints’ best were Ashley Davis, Jack Baker, Nick Birthisel, Nick Mason, Brad Organ and Tobie Cameron.


Nullawil’s team included the experienced Grant Ford who had previously played for Swan Hill, Bendigo Pioneers, Bendigo Gold in the VFL, Kangaroo Flat, Newbridge, and Heathcote.

Quambatook will aim to bounce back from defeat when it faces Moulamein in next Saturday’s preliminary final at Wandella.

The Saints inflicted Nullawil’s only defeat in the run to the finals when it scored a 63-61 victory on the Maroons’ turf in the eighth round.


In the reserves second semi-final it was Murrabit which raced to a 23-point lead by quarter-time of the clash with Nullawil.

The Blues 37-14 at the first break, but Nullawil hit back to win the second term, 17-13.

A tally of 3.4 to 1.2 in the third quarter gave Murrabit a 33-point advantage going into the last term.

Nullawil scored 1.4 to 1.3 as Murrabit marked an 81-49 victory.

Goalkickers for Murrabit were Josh Bray, Brody Green, Archer McKnight, David Toohey, Matthew Webb and Blake Wilkinson with two each.

Nullawil’s attack was led by Heath Pollington with three as Jack Barry, Royce Free and Jason Perry were also on target.

Best for Murrabit were Brody Green, Simon Morton, Nicholas Hein, Sean Gillen, Tom Copland and Blake Wilkinson.

Nullawil’s best were Sol Kelly, Jeremy Vearing, Dude Kelly, Matthew Hayward, Shane Barker and Jack Barry.


The Maroons must regroup for the preliminary final against Wandella.

Hay dominated the under-17 ½ second semi-final against Macorna.

The Hay line-up led 54-7 at half-time and then slammed on 10.6 to 3.2 in the third term.

Jack Headon led the attack on four goals as Tom Davies, Jensen Hargreaves and Daniel Stewart added three each in a 134-43 result.

Other goalkickers for Hay were Bradley Callaghan and Archie Houston, two; Bailey Caughey, Kenneth Hargreaves and Dan Jamieson.

Goalkickers for Macorna were Xavier Wishart, two; Blake Forster and Cohen Webb.

A list of Hay’s best players was not supplied.

Best for the Tigers were Xavier Wishart, William Robinson, Lachlan Farrell, Sam Whinfield, Blake Forster and Hunter Anset.


Macorna will face Ultima in the under-17 ½ preliminary final.

Second semi-final day began with the under-14 match between Wandella and Macorna.

The Bombers led nine-nil at half-time.

Macorna hit back to win the quarter, 13-8, and kept on working hard in a dramatic final term.

Wandella scored 1.2 to a goal in the last to claim a 25-19 victory.

The Bombers’ attack was led by Archer Lancaster, Will Mellington and Parker Treacy.

Goalkickers for Macorna were Cooper Carmichael, Will Longstaff and Hayden Ray.

Wandella’s best were Will Mellington, Archer Lancaster, Jardal Simons, Will Hogg, Jaspa Chamberlain and James Williamson.

Jack Warren, Hayden Ray, William Meharry, Cooper Carmichael, Broden Wishart and Jaxon O’Rourke.

The Tigers will be fired up to gain another crack at Wandella in the grand final, but must do so by beating Murrabit in the preliminary final.


Schedule for Saturday’s preliminary finals at Wandella:

Under-14 ½ at 9.35am: Macorna v Murrabit.

Under-17 ½ at 10.40am: Macorna v Ultima.

Reserves at 12.35pm: Nullawil v Wandella.

Seniors at 2.40pm: Quambatook v Moulamein.


Written by Nathan Dole.

Photo Credit – KerryM Photography