CMFNL Football Grand Final Review | Kerang captures back-to-back senior footy premierships


KERANG captured back-to-back senior footy premierships when it outran Balranald in Saturday’s grand final at Swan Hill Recreation Reserve.

Stung by a 50-point loss to the Roos in the second semi which ended its unbeaten run, Kerang faced a 10-point deficit at half-time of the season’s biggest clash in the Radio 3SH-backed competition.

The Troy Coates-coached Blues lifted their play dramatically in the third.

From being down 29-39 at the long break, Kerang led 56-54 going into the season’s final quarter.

Led by the play of Sam Heavyside, ruckman Nick Lang and Lachlan Ross, Kerang scored 3.2 to 2.0 in the last for a 76-66 victory.

Kerang’s attack was led by Bradlee Pay on three as Troy Coates and Caleb Nitschke added two.

Other goalkickers for the Blues were Hayden Hall, Joshua Hann, captain Josh Nitschke, and Rylee Smith.

Balranald’s Ben Fuller kicked a match-high four goals as Colin Andrews, Leyland Brougham, Ryan Middlebrook, Matthew Neagle and Jarryd Stead added one.

Best for the Blues included Michael Dalrymple, Caleb Nitschke and Jesse Clark.

Balranald’s best were Matthew Neagle, Jaxon Neagle, Rory Fitzgerald, Jydon Neagle, Kobe Lloyd and Ian Fuller.

The premiership-winning team from Kerang:

B: Jesse Clark, Troy Davis, Gregor Knight.

Hb: Sam Heavyside, Josh Hunter, Lachlan Ross.

C: Hayden Hall, Josh Nitschke, Ryan Gillingham.

Hf: Josh Hann, Michael Dalrymple, Troy Coates.

F: Rylee Smith, Adam Hunter, Bradlee Pay.

Foll: Nick Lang, Martin Kelly, Sean Hunter.

Inter: Tyson Clingan, Ashley Davis, Liam Jardine, Caleb Nitschke.

It was a premiership double for Kerang as the reserves marked a 72-39 win against Lake Boga.

The Blues led 13-9 at quarter-time and 32-18 by the main break.

A tally of 2.3 to 1.2 in the vital third term kept Kerang in control of the contest.

The final quarter was to be the Blues’ best as they scored 4.1 and held the Magpies to a score of 2.1.

At the final siren Kerang led 11.6 (72) to 5.9 (39).

Six goals by Michael Runciman earned best on ground honours for the Blues.

Other goalkickers for Kerang were captain Jotham Higgs, Jordan McNeil, Nicholas Pay, Jonathon Roberts and Harrison Saunders.

Lake Boga’s goals were kicked by Patrick Bryan, Shannon O’Reilly, Adam Quigley, Oliver Rohde and Mitchell Whitfield.

Best for Kerang were Michael Runciman, Jordan McNeil, Rylee Gitsham, Cody Makeham, Jotham Higgs and Ethan McKnight.

Xander Hartland, Nelson Ibbs, Tobie Richardson, Kyle Brawn, Adam Quigley and Brody Palmer were Lake Boga’s best.

The premiership-winning team from Kerang:

Jordan Clingan, Tom Dunham, Kyle Franzini, Josh Free, Rylee Gitsham, Lachlan Hall, Laine Harry, Jotham Higgs, Alex Lloyd, Cody Makeham, Ethan McKnight, Jonah McKnight, Jordan McNeil, Brodie Meehan, Nicholas Murray, Samuel Nitschke, Nicholas Pay, Jonathon Roberts, Michael Runciman, Harrison Saunders, Cody Tuohey, Logan Tuohey.

A four-goal blitz in the second quarter set up Lake Boga’s victory against Woorinen in the Colts grand final.

The Magpies led 20-12 at quarter-time and then slammed on 4.3 to a goal in the second term.

Woorinen hit back to win the third, 14-6, but in the last it was the Magpies who were able to outscore the Tigers, 28-12,to complete a 79-44 victory.

Lake Boga’s attack was led by Bodi Clune on four goals as Charlie Bryan and Koben Ryan added two.

The Magpies also had Harrison Bull, Kai Everett, Xavier Sherlock and Nicholas Taylor on target.

Adam Saunders kicked a match-high five goals for Woorinen as Hugh Thompson chipped in with two.

Lake Boga’s best were Nicholas Taylor, Charlie Bryan, Dustin Holmes, Kai Everett, Koben Ryan and Bodi Clune.

Adam Saunders, Charlie King, Hudson Garner, Tahj Bolton, Cooper Beasley and Shaun Kirby played well for Woorinen.

Lake Boga’s premiership-winning team:

Ned Ayson, Rylan Barnes, Charlie Bryan, Harry Bryan, Harrison Bull, Bodi Clune, Patrick Dear, Cooper Doolan, Kai Everett, Iszac Green, Ryan Harvey, Dustin Holmes, Kelly Mulligan, Macca Neil, Noah Noble, Zac Palmer, Blaizeee Parsons, Willem Pye, Koben Ryan, Xavier Sherlock, Nicholas Taylor, Gus Tonkin, Parker Tonkin,

Grand final day kicked off with the under-14 ½ clash between Lake Boga and Tooleybuc Manangatang for the cup in the Mildura Health Fund-sponsored competition.

Lake Boga made a great start to lead 7-0 at quarter-time and 20-8 by the long break.

A high-scoring third term went the way of the Magpies, 4.1 to 2.2.

Lake Boga led 45-22 going into the last quarter and then added 2.1 to 2.0.

At the final siren the Magpies were up 9.4 (58) to 5.4 (34).

Jarra Kelly capped a great match for Lake Boga with five goals.

Other goalkickers were Bryce Anderson, Lachlan Bull, Maximus Caruso and  Connor Frazzica.

Tooleybuc Manangatang’s attack was led by Jacob Zanker on two goals as Campbell Fisher, Jedd Morris and Noah Perry Atkins added one.

Best for Lake Boga were Max O’Reilly, Archer Hartland, Jarra Kelly, Willem Holmes, Kye Fleming and Reef Mulligan.

Rydar Morris, Julian Muir, Connor Hazlett, Campbell Fisher, Cooper Plant and Jedd Morris played well for the Saints.

The premiership-winning team from Lake Boga:

Bryce Anderson, Flynn Barnes, Harrison Brown, Lachlan Bull, Maximus Caruso, Tait Colville, Rory Davies, Cassidy Dunn, Kye Fleming, Connor Frazzica, Matthew Haines, Archer Hartland, Willem Holmes, Jarra Kelly, Ryka Klomp, Axel Kirsten, Victor Lazarou, Vin Mobilio, Reef Mulligan, Lucas O’Reilly, Max O’Reilly, Bailey Ray, Elijah Ray, Joel Schneider, Jake Steer.

Photo – Tracy Roberts