CMFNL Football | Round 16 WRAP UP

Tigers outplay Tyntynder at Woorinen

WOORINEN Tigers scored a comfortable victory against Tyntynder in Saturday’s 16th round of the 3SH-backed senior footy action in the Central Murray Football Netball League.

The Tigers had home ground advantage for this clash with the Bulldogs.

A high-scoring opening quarter ended with Woorinen in front, 29-25.

The Tigers kicked away to score 3.4 to 1.1 in the second.

Tyntynder was within 25 points at the start of the final term, but Woorinen scored 4.5 to a point to claim a 101-48 victory.

Lachlan Gardner booted four goals for Woorinen as Robbie Miller, Adam Saunders and Lachlan Wright added two each.

The Tyntynder attack was led by Jason Eagle on five goals.

Best for the Tigers were Robert Rush, Jye Barry, Arnold Kirby, Taylor Cameron, Lachlan Wright and Adam Saunders.

Jason Eagle, Elia Ware, Patrick Crowe, Elliot Broad, Kyle Brasser and Brodie Bennett played well for the Bulldogs.


Koondrook Barham held on for a seven-point victory after a strong second-half fightback by Tooleybuc Manangatang at Barham.

The home team led 27-7 at quarter-time and had a 33-point buffer by the long break after it scored 3.1 to a goal in the second.

Tooleybuc Manangatang upped its play to win the third term, 21-8.

The visitors also won the final quarter, 26-13, but Koondrook Barham took the premiership points in a 67-60 victory.

Jordan Iudica led Koondrook Barham’s attack on four goals as Max Baldissera and Colin McVeigh chipped in with two each.

The Tooleybuc Manangatang attack was led by Brayden Pitcher and Shylo Smith on two goals each.

Best for Koondrook Barham were Max Baldissera, Jordan and Lucas Iudica, Jack Thrum, Patrick Goble and Jack Shannon.

Gareth Grant, Bradyen Pitcher, Alex Powell, Shane Foley, Johnathan Marsden and Ryan Regan were Tooleybuc Manangatang’s best.


Swan Hill won a closely-fought contest on home turf against Balranald.

The visitors led 35-29 at half-time before the Swans tied the contest at 48-all by three quarter-time.

Led by the play of Tom Pontell, Xavier Moloney and Matthew Wade it was Swan Hill which scored 4.2 to 2.3 ikn the last term to record a 74-63 victory.

Pontell capped best afield honours by kicking five goals as Lachlan Joyce added two.

The Kangaroos’ attack was led by Ben Fuller and Jydon Neagle on four apiece.

Swan Hill’s best included Darby Meney, Lachlan Joyce and Buol Majur.

Jack Salau, Ryan Middlebrook, Jydon Neagle, Connor Soraggi, Colin Andrews and Jordan Weekley were Balranald’s best.


Nyah Nyah West United made a flying start to lead 36-25 by quarter-time of its clash with Cohuna Kangas at Nyah.

The Kangas struck back to win the second term, 14-nil.

Cohuna then upped its pressure and run to dominate the third term.

The Kangas went on a goalkicking spree as they added 7.3 to 1.1.

The play of Daniel Paterson, Jarrod Findlay and Ben Archard was a highlight as Cohuna kicked on for a 109-50 win.

Joel Helman and Dylan Johnstone led the Kangas’ attack on four goals each.

Brent Arho booted three goals for NNW United as Campbell Everitt added two.

Cohuna’s best included Dylan Johnstone, Joel Helman and Mason Fehring.

Dean Harrop, Adrian Knee, Jaydyn Stirling, Jarrod Skinner, Charli Boulton and Blake Larkings played well for Nyah Nyah West United.


Kerang scored a convincing win against Lake Boga at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

The Blues led 31-7 at quarter-time, but the Magpies fought back to win the second term, 18-10.

It was all Kerang in the third as it added 6.2 and held Lake Boga to just two points.

The ladder-leaders scored 4.4 to a point in the last term to complete a 107-28 victory.

Premiership-winning team-mates as coach and player at Strathfieldsaye Storm in 2019, Troy Coates and Bryce Curnow led Kerang’s attack on four and three goals.

Dustin Burns booted two goals for the Magpies.

Kerang’s best were Michael Dalrymple, Sean Hunter, Martin Kelly, Bronson Booth, Josh Hunter and Nick Stagg.

Jacob Simpson, Josh Cruse-Filo, Tyle Williams, Jayden Lonergan, Wes Harrison and Dustin Burns worked hard for Lake Boga.

Mallee Eagles had the bye.


3SH Central Murray FL senior footy ladder:

Kerang 320 per cent, 52 points; Cohuna Kangas 211, 52; Woorinen 159, 48; Tyntynder 120, 36; Lake Boga 85, 30; Balranald 80, 24; Mallee Eagles 91, 22; Swan Hill 69, 16; Nyah Nyah West United 62, 14; Koondrook Barham 45, 10; Tooleybuc Manangatang 53, 8.


Leading goalkickers:

70 Rhys Free, Cohuna Kangas.

64 Jason Eagle, Tyntynder.

56 Ben Fuller, Balranald.

54 Brent Arho, Nyah Nyah West United.

44 Dylan Johnstone, Cohuna Kangas.

43 Troy Coates, Kerang.

40 Sam Dunstan, Mallee Eagles.

39 Angus Monfries, Lake Boga.

36 Bryce Curnow, Kerang.

32 Brayden Pitcher, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

30 Kallen Heslop, Swan Hill.

29 Lachlan Gardiner, Woorinen; Bradlee Pay, Kereang.

25 Michael Runciman, Kerang.


Pride Round will be played this Saturday.

Tyntynder takes on Kerang at Alan Garden Reserve in Swan Hill.

Tooleybuc Manangatang tackles Swan Hill at Manangatang.

Lake Boga face Mallee Eagles at Lake Boga Sports Club.

Balranald is on home turf at Greenham Park to play Nyah Nyah West United.

It’s second against third as Cohuna Kangas take on Woorinen at Cohuna Recreation Reserve.

Koondrook Barham has the bye.


Written by Nathan Dole.

Photo Credit – Woorinen Football Netball Club Facebook