CMFNL Round 1 Football Review


Closely-fought finishes cap exciting start to season

THREE matches decided by nine points or less capped an exciting start to the 3SH-backed senior footy competition across the Central Murray FNL on Saturday.

Balranald won the rematch of the ’23 grand final against Kerang by four points; Tyntynder beat Cohuna Kangas by two points, and Tooleybuc-Manangatang marked a 76-67 win against Mallee Eagles.

Playing on home turf at Greenham Park, Balranald overcame a 10-point deficit at three quarter-time to score a 109-105 victory against Kerang.

There were 33 goals kicked in a top contest.

Kerang led by four points at the first break and then at half-time.

In the third the Troy Coates-coached Kerang added 5.2 to 4.2.

A Kangaroos’ attack led by Drew Lloyd and coach Jydon Neagle, five goals; and Colin Andrews, four, was crucial in beating the Blues.

Kerang’s leading goalkickers were Archer Dibsdale, four, and Caleb Nitschke, three.

Best for Balranald were Harrison Soraggi, Kobe and Drew Lloyd, Mason Fitzgerald, Colin Andrews and Jack Salau.

Gun recruit Adam Baird was Kerang’s best along with ruckman Nick Lang, Jordan McNeil, Tyson Clingan, Josh Nitschke and Archer Dibsdale.

Tyntynder won a thriller against Cohuna Kangas at Alan Garden Reserve in Swan Hill.

The Bulldogs were up against a team coached by Jack Geary, a six-time premiership winner with Golden Square in his senior coaching debut.

Scores were locked on 50-all going into the final term.

It was the Jack O Rourke -coached Bulldogs who clawed their way to a 71-69 victory.

Kayle Kirby kicked three goals for Tyntynder and Zac Denham added two.

The Kangas’ attack was led by Dylan Johnstone, four, and Ryan Semmel, three.

Tyntynder’s best were Elliot Broad, Cayden Crowe, Harry Simpson, Matt Gilbee, Zac Denham and Roy George.

Best for Cohuna were Chris Anderson, Xavier Mitchell, Jack Geary, Will Lee, Brenton Conforti and Ryan Semmel.

Tooleybuc Manangatang was too strong for Mallee Eagles at Tooleybuc.

The Saints led 47-25 at half-time and held a 28-point buffer going into the final term.

The Brent Macleod-coached Eagles fought back to win the last quarter, 28-9, but it was the Saints who took the points in a 76-67 result.

Josh Williams kicked four goals for the winners as as Johnathan Marsden added two.

The Eagles attack was led by captain Beau Bennett and Darcy Hourigan on three.

Best for the Brad Morris-coached Saints were Harrison Maher, Connor McDonald, Kai Kearns, Josh Williams, Zach Prentice and Jesse Kane.

Beau Bennett, Jayden Post, Brent Macleod, Troy Anderson, Darcy McGregor and Brady Fordham played well for the Eagles.

Woorinen scored a 40-point win against Swan Hill in the Tigers’ lair at Woorinen.

The Marcus Demaris-coached Tigers charged to a 70-19 lead by half-time.

The Swans fought back to win the second half, 60-49, but it was the Tigers who won the match, 119-79.

Clayton McCartney and Josh Stone kicked four goals as Arnold Kirby added three for Woorinen.

Leading goalkickers for the Swans were coach Michael Herlihy, Thomas Isma and Luke Phelan on two.

Woorinen’s best were Doug Beames, Clayton McCartney, Tom Langford, Tim Gammon, Taylor Cameron and Josh Stone.

Thomas Isma, Tom Holdstock, Luke Phelan, Jose Miliado, Anthony Lewin and Michael Herlihy worked hard for the Swans.

A tally of nine goals was a much-improved performance by Koondrook Barham against Nyah Nyah West United at Barham.

Just a goal separated the teams at half-time and the River Raiders were in the game as NNWU led 62-51 at three quarter-time.

The Jason Murphy-coached Demons fired up to slam on 6.5 to a goal in the last term to record a 103-57 victory.

A gun forward the previous two seasons in Marong’s run to the Loddon Valley premiership, Brandyn Grenfell kicked four goals for the Demons.

The KB attack was led by Kye Attwell, Ryan Bassett and Jordan McKinnon on two each.

Best for Nyah Nyah West United were Blake Larkings, Jordan Iudica, Campbell Everitt, Jaydyn Stirling, Liam White and Charlie Boulton.

Billy Driscoll, Jason Hura, Scott Wood, Jack Thrum, Nathan Hura and Patrick Goble played well for the Will Callow-coached River Raiders.

Lake Boga had the bye.

Standings in the 3SH-backed senior footy competition in the Central Murray FNL:

Nyah Nyah West United 180 per cent, 4 points; Woorinen 150, 4; Tooleybuc Manangatang 113, 4; Balranald 103, 4; Tyntynder 102, 4; Cohuna Kangas 97, 0; Kerang 96, 0; Mallee Eagles 88, 0; Swan Hill 66, 0; Koondrook Barham 55, 0; Lake Boga 0, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

5 Drew Lloyd, Balranald.

5 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

4 Colin Andrews, Balranald.

4 Archer Dibsdale, Kerang.

4 Brandyn Grenfell, Nyah Nyah West United.

4 Dylan Johnstone, Cohuna Kangas.

4 Clayton McCartney, Woorinen.

4 Josh Stone, Woorinen.

4 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

3 Beau Bennett, Mallee Eagles.

3 Darcy Hourigan, Mallee Eagles.

3 Arnold Kirby, Woorinen.

3 Kayle Kirby, Tyntynder.

3 Caleb Nitschke, Kerang.

3 Ryan Semmel, Cohuna Kangas.

Highlight of next Saturday’s second round will be Nyah Nyah West United against Woorinen at Nyah Recreation Reserve from 2.30pm.

Swan Hill takes on Tooleybuc Manangatang at Swan Hill Recreation Reserve.

Cohuna Kangas and Koondrook Barham clash at Cohuna.

Kerang tackles Tyntynder at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

Lake Boga marks its first match of the season on home turf against Balranald.

Mallee Eagles have the bye.