CMFNL Round 10 Football Review | Lake Boga slams on 10 goals in last term


LAKE Boga unleashed a brilliant 10-goal blitz in the final term to mark an impressive victory against Swan Hill in Saturday’s 10th round of the Central Murray FNL’s senior footy action.

After being down by 16 points at half-time of the clash with Swan Hill in the 3SH-backed competition, Lake Boga trailled 69-70 at the start of the final term on the Swans’ turf.

The Magpies then scored 10.7 to a goal in the last to complete a 136-76 victory.

Dustin Burns and Jayden Lonergan led Lake Boga’s attack on four goals each as former Essendon and Port Adelaide forward Angus Monfries added three.

Multiple goalkickers for the Swans were Jose Miliado, three; Seamus Doherty, Xavier Moloney and Luke Phelan, two.

Best for Lake Boga were Lochie Laing, Jayden Lonergan, David Gourdis, Jacob Simpson, Marty Parsons and Ryan Fox.

Jose Miliado, Xavier Moloney, Adam Manning, Matthew Wade, Leighton Dullard and Lachlan Joyce played well for the Swans.

Balranald won three of four quarters to beat Nyah Nyah West United by 37 points at Nyah.

The NNWU Demons led 21-20 at quarter-time before the Roos scored 5.4 to 2.0 in the second term.

Balranald held a five-goal buffer at the last change on the way to a 102-65 victory.

Drew Lloyd kicked four goals for the Kangaroos as Ben Fuller added three.

The Demons’ attack was led by Hassan Ahmat-Watkins on four.

Best for the Roos were Drew Lloyd, Jaxon Neagle, Harrison Soraggi, Kobe Lloyd, Jordan Wilkins and Rory Fitzgerald.

Alex Erlandson, Joel Campbell, Jarrod Skinner, Dean Harrop, Charlie Boulton and Ethan Curran were best for NNWU.

Despite its inaccuracy, Tooleybuc Manangatang was able to mark a seven-goal win against Koondrook Barham at Manangatang.

The Saints scored 4.13 to a point in the opening term.

Tooleybuc Mananangatang led 51-17 by half-time and 72-29 at a quarter to go.

The Saints added 1.5 to 2.0 in the last for a final score of 10.23 (83) to 6.5 (41).

Tim Auckland, Ryan Domaille and Ethan Goldfinch kicked two goals for the Saints.

The River Raiders’ attack was led by the Eli Boyd and Mitch Christnesen on two.

Best for Tooleybuc Manangatang were Blake Grant, Jack Mazzarella, Connor McDonald, Ethan Goldfinch, Johnathan Marsden and Tim Auckland.

Jack Shannon, Regan Hamilton, Scott Wood, Mitch Christensen, Ash Molin and Eli Boyd played well for the Koondrook Barham team.

Cohuna Kangas bounced back from a five-point deficit at half-time of its home game against Tyntynder to beat the Bulldogs by 31 points.

Tyntynder led 29-24 after it scored 4.2 to 1.2 in the second term.

The Tyson Findlay-coached Cohuna lifted to add 4.8 to 1.2 in the third and then added 3.2 to 1.2 in the last for a 76-45 victory.

Rhys Free kicked four goals and Luke Conca added two majors for Cohuna.

The Bulldogs’ attack was led by Matt Corney and Liam Whelan on two.

Best for Cohuna were Sam McGlone, Joel Helman, Tom Metherell, Will Thrum, Jack and Angus Donat.

Isaiah Bull, Harry Simpson, Mick Dedini, Patrick Crowe, Matt Corney and Matt Gilbee were Tyntynder’s best.

Seven goals to nil in the first term set up a 63-point win by Woorinen against Mallee Eagles at Lalbert.

The Tigers dominated the opening quarter to score 7.3.

Mallee struck back to win the second, 4.2 to a goal.

The Tigers added 3.4 to just two behinds in the third quarter and won the last, 26-8.

Will Collicoat kicked a match-high six goals for Woorinen as nine team-mates added a major.

The Eagles’ attack was led by Brent Macleod on four.

Best for Woorinen were Henry Thompson, Will Collicoat, Matt Gardner, Josh Domaille, Mitch Uhlhorn and Jye Barry.

Shaun Harrison, Brent Macleod, Zac O’Meara, Paul Davis, Harrison Allen and Beau Bennett worked hard for Mallee Eagles.

Kerang had the bye.

The league takes a break next weekend.

In the 11th round on July 8, Balranald takes on Cohuna Kangas at Balranald’s Greenham Park.

Koondrook Barham faces Mallee Eagles at Barham.

Woorinen tackles Nyah West United in Tigers’ territory at Woorinen Recreation Reserve.

Kerang tackles Swan Hill at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

Lake Boga and Tooleybuc Manangatang clash at Lake Boga Sports Club.

Tyntynder has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

33 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

29 Will Collicoat, Woorinen.

28 Rhys Free, Cohuna.

22 Ben Fuller, Balranald.

19 Hassan Ahmat-Watkins, Nyah Nyah West United.

18 Doug Beames, Woorinen.

17 David Gourdis, Lake Boga.

17 Brent Macleod, Mallee Eagles.

16 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

15 Drew Lloyd, Balranald.

15 Jose Miliado, Swan Hill.

14 Paul Davis, Mallee Eagles.

14 Bradlee Pay, Kerang.

14 Rylee Smith, Kerang.

13 Danko Bzenic, Woorinen.

13 Jason Eagle, Tyntynder.

13 Hayden Hall, Kerang.

12 Charlie Boulton, Nyah Nyah West United.

12 Matt Corney, Tyntynder.

12 Jack Donat, Cohuna.

12 Michael Runciman, Kerang.

12 Liam Whelan, Tyntynder.

11 Troy Coates, Kerang.

10 Jye Barry, Woorinen.

10 Luke Conca, Cohuna.

10 Michael Dalrymple, Kerang.

10 Jarrod Findlay, Cohuna.

10 Jayden Lonergan, Lake Boga.