CMFNL Round 12 Football Review | Demons fire against Lake Boga at Nyah


THE Demons from Nyah Nyah West United marked a stunning victory against Lake Boga in Saturday’s 12th round of senior footy in the Central Murray FNL.

A 47-point win by NNWU in the 3SH-backed competiton meant it joined Lake Boga and Swan Hill on identical win-loss records of 6-5.

The Demons dominated from the first quarter and never let up.

A 27-2 lead for NNWU at quarter-time was seven goals by the long break after it scored 5.1 to 2.2 in the second term.

Play was a lot more evenly contested in the final hour.

The Demons won the third quarter, 34-26, while the Magpies won the last, 19-16.

Riley Daniels led the NNWU attack on four goals as Hassan Ahmat-Watkins and Corey Daniels added three each in the 108-61 win.

Lake Boga’s attack was led by Dustin Burns, Nathaniel Holmes-Brown and Lochie Laing on two each.

Best for NNWU were Kayne Davidson, Joel Walsh, Riley Daniels, Ethan Saville, Alex Erlandson and Brayden Bigham.

Lake Boga’s best were Marty Parsons, Daniel Dzufer, Jake Warren, Lochie Laing, Lachlan Burns and Jacob Simpson.

Closest margin of the day was at Alan Garden Reserve in Swan Hill where Tyntynder took on Woorinen.

Tyntynder led 20-19 at quarter-time before the Tigers won the second, 27-20.

The Tigers held a nine-point buffer after a closely-fought third term.

Woorinen did plenty more attacking in the last and scored 5.3 to a goal to complete a 103-67 victory.

Danko Bzenic kicked four goals for the Tigers as Will Collicoat and Matt King added two each.

The Bulldogs’ attack was led by Matt Corney, Jason Eagle and Justin Ellis on two each.

Woorinen’s best were Mitchell Uhlhorn, Jye Barry, Dylan Godwin, Henry Thompson, Danko Bzenic and Charlie King.

Elliot Broad, Patrick Blake, Elia Ware, Matt Gilbee, Cayden Crowe and Josh Stone played well for Tyntynder.

Six goals to one in the first quarter set up Kerang’s win against Mallee Eagles at Lalbert.

The Blues led 38-9 at quarter-time and 60-24 by the main break.

Mallee worked hard to hold Kerang to a tally of 5.9 in the second half as it scored 4.2.

At the final siren, Kerang led 99 to 50.

Tyson Clingan, Bradlee Pay and Rylee Smith kicked three goals apiece for the Blues.

The Eagles’ attack was led by Josh Bibby, Paul Davis and Darcy McGregor on two.

Kerang’s best were Sam Heavyside, Ashley Davis, Sean Hunter, Tyson Clingan, Josh Nitschke and Rylee Smith.

Harry McGregor, Beau Bennett, Shaun Harrison, Darcy McGregor, Brent Macleod and Harrison Allen were best for the Eagles.

Cohuna marked a 100-point win at home against Koondrook Barham.

The Tyson Findlay-coached Cohuna Kangas scored 10.10 to 1.2 in the first half.

The River Raiders lifted to score 3.1 in the second half as the Kangas added 8.9 to complete a 127 to 27 victory.

Joel Helman kicked five goals for Cohuna as Daniel Coates added four.

Other multiple goalkickers were Jude Palmer, three; Jack Donat, Jarrod Findlay and Dylan Johnstone, two.

Goalkickers for Koondrook Barham were Corey Barrington, Mitch Christensen, Lachlan Laursen and Colin McVeigh.

Cohuna’s best were Daniel Coates, Joel Helman, Daniel Paterson, Jack Donat, Cooper McLoughlan and Jude Palmer.

Colin McVeigh, Will Lake, Ash Molin, Mitch Christensen, Jack Shannon and Patrick Goble worked hard for Koondrook Barham.

Swan Hill scored an 82-point win against Tooleybuc Manangatang at Tooleybuc.

The Swans led 32-7 at quarter-time and 59-29 by the main break.

In the third term Swan Hill added 5.3 to 1.1 and then won the last, 19-2, to complete a 111-29 victory.

Swans’ captain Luke Phelan capped a great match with five goals as Jose Miliado kicked three, and Seamus Doherty, Jarvis Keogh and Matt Wade added two.

The Saints’ attack was led by Josh Williams with two.

Swan Hill’s best were Brenton Halligan, Luke Phelan, Xavier Moloney, Matt Wade, Sonny Beasy  and Jose Miliado.

Connor McDonald, Ethan Goldfinch, Tom Carland, Blake Grant, Kallum Hazlett and Richard Wardle were Tooleybuc Manangatang’s best.

Balranald had the bye.

Central Murray FNL senior footy ladder:

Kerang 223 per cent, 44 points; Woorinen 214, 36; Balranald 178, 36; Cohuna 116, 28; Lake Boga 109, 24; Swan Hill 93, 24; Nyah Nyah West United 115, 20; Mallee Eagles 69, 12; Tyntynder 74, 8; Tooleybuc Manangatang 66, 8; Koondrook Barham 29, 0.

In next Saturday’s play, Woorinen takes on Cohuna Kangas at Tigerland in Woorinen.

Lake Boga is at home to play Mallee Eagles.

Koondrook Barham clashes with Nyah Nyah West United at Barham.

Kerang faces Tooleybuc Manangatang at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

Balranald takes on Tyntynder at Balranald’s Greenham Park.

Swan Hill has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

38 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

32 Will Collicoat, Woorinen.

28 Rhys Free, Cohuna.

27 Ben Fuller, Balranald.

24 Brent Macleod, Mallee Eagles.

22 Hassan Ahmat-Watkins, Nyah Nyah West United.

20 Doug Beames, Woorinen.

18 Paul Davis, Mallee Eagles.

18 Drew Lloyd, Balranald.

18 Jose Miliado, Swan Hill.

18 Bradlee Pay, Kerang.

18 Rylee Smith, Kerang.

17 Danko Bzenic, Woorinen.

17 David Gourdis, Lake Boga.

17 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

15 Jason Eagle, Tyntynder.

15 Hayden Hall, Kerang.

14 Charlie Boulton, Nyah Nyah West United.

14 Matt Corney, Tyntynder.

14 Jack Donat, Cohuna.

14 Joel Helman, Cohuna.

14 Lochie Laing, Lake Boga.

14 Angus Monfries, Lake Boga.

13 Troy Coates, Kerang.