CMFNL Round 18 Football Review | Kerang outruns Tigers to stay unbeaten


KERANG’S unbeaten run across the 18 rounds of the Central Murray FNL senior footy action was completed in Saturday’s clash with Woorinen.

The Blues and Tigers warmed up for the finals in the Radio 3SH-backed competition by playing at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

Woorinen led 13-7 at quarter-time before Kerang hit back to win the second term, 27-14.

The Troy Coates-coached Blues who are chasing back-to-back premierships scored 3.2 to 2.1 in the third and then slammed on 7.5 to a goal in the last for a 101-46 victory.

Kerang captain Josh Nitschke kicked four goals as Harry Bremner and Troy Coates added three each and Josh Hann chipped in with two.

Woorinen’s attack was led by Mitchel Taylor, three, and Thomas Isma, two.

Best for Kerang were Ryan Gillingham, Sean and Josh Hunter, Troy Davis, Josh Nitschke and Liam Jardine.

Danko Bzenic, Taylor Cameron, Henry Thompson, Dylan Godwin, Doug Beames and Angus Butterfield played well for the Tigers.

Balranald moved back to second place after a 73-point win against Swan Hill at Swan Hill Recreation Reserve.

The Kangaroos hopped to a 27-6 lead by quarter-time and then scored 5.6 to 1.1 in the second.

Quarter three was an even contest as the Roos added 4.3 and the Swans scored 3.3.

Led by the play of Colin Andrews, Seth Connell and Kobe Lloyd, Balranald went on to win 18.18 (126) to 7.11 (53).

The in-form Ben Fuller kicked five goals and Colin Andrews and Seth Connell added three.

In the race for the league’s goalkicking award, Ben Fuller took honours on 55 from Josh Williams of Tooleybuc Manangatang on 54.

Balranald also had Jydon and Matt Neagle chip in with two goals against the Swans.

Swan Hill’s Jose Miliado kicked a match-high four goals.

Best for the Roos included Drew Lloyd, Jack Helgeland and Jaxon Neagle.

Jose Miliado, Toby Thoolen, Matt Wade, Jarvis Keogh, Xavier Moloney and Lachlan Vrolijks worked hard for Swan Hill.

Cohuna Kangas won a thrilling contest with Mallee Eagles at Lalbert.

The Eagles led 44-43 at half-time, but Cohuna took control in the third quarter to score 5.1 to 2.3.

In the last it was Mallee which fought back brilliantly to score four goals, but the Kangas tally of 2.2 was enough to seal an 88-83 victory.

The Kangas’ attack was led by Dylan Johnstone, four; Jack Donat, Rhys Free and Joel Helman, two.

Andrew McDonald kicked four goals for Mallee as Braidon Bennett and Paul Davis added two each.

Cohuna’s best were Joel Helman, Brenton Conforti, Dylan Johnstone, Daniel Paterson, Daniel Coates and Nathan Hammond.

Best for the Eagles were Harrison Allen, Clinton Cummins, Zac O’Meara, Liam Drummond, Beau Bennett and Brent Macleod.

Tyntynder marked a 47-point win against Tooleybuc Manangatang at Manangatang.

Isaiah Bull and Josh Dwyer kicked four goals and Matt Corney added three as the Bulldogs finished their season with an 18.18 (126) to 12.7 (79) result on the Saints’ turf.

Other multiple goalkickers for Tyntynder were Zac Denham and Roy George on two.

Josh Williams capped a great season in Tooleybuc Manangatang’s attack by kicking seven goals as Thomas Matarazzo added two.

Tyntynder’s best were Josh Dwyer, Isaiah Bull, Matt Corney, Zac Denham, Josh Stone and Roy George.

Josh Williams, Connor McDonald, Ethan Goldfinch, Tim Auckland, Harrison Maher and Blake Grant worked hard for the Saints.

Lake Boga had plenty of goalkickers in a 129-18 win against Koondrook Barham at Lake Boga Sports Club.

The Magpies led 51-9 at half-time and won the next two quarters, 31-2 and 47-7.

Ryan Fox, Darby Hayes and Koben Ryan kicked three goals, as Dustin Burns, Xavier Sherlock and Matt Taverna added two.

Mitch Christensen and Cameron Moore were on target for the River Raiders.

Best for Lake Boga were Dustin Burns, Ryan Fox, Lincoln Sieben, Tyle Williams, Daniel Dzufer and Koben Ryan.

Jack Thrum, Patrick Goble, Tom Amor, Ash Molin, Mitch Christensen and Ryan Attwell played well for Koondrook Barham.

Nyah Nyah West United had the bye.

Final standings in the Central Murray FNL senior footy competition for the ’23 home-and-away series:

Kerang 206 per cent, 64 points; Balranald 183, 52; Woorinen 178, 48; Lake Boga 123, 40; Nyah Nyah West United 137, 36; Cohuna 120, 36; Swan Hill 92, 36; Tyntynder 88, 16; Mallee Eagles 69, 16; Tooleybuc Manangatang 54, 8; Koondrook Barham 24, 0.

Finals action kicks off next weekend.

Qualifying finals for teams which finished second and third will be played on Saturday at Lalbert Recreation Reserve.

It’s keep going or season over in Sunday’s elimination finals at Swan Hill Recreation Reserve.

Schedule for Saturday’s qualifying finals at Lalbert:

3SH seniors at 2.30pm: Balranald v Woorinen.

Reserves at 12.25pm: Woorinen v Nyah Nyah West United.

Colts at 10.20am: Kerang v Lake Boga.

Mildura Health Fund-sponsored under-14 ½ at 9am: Tooleybuc Manangatang v Kerang.

Schedule for Sunday’s elimination finals at Swan Hill:

3SH seniors at 2.30pm:  Lake Boga v Nyah Nyah West United.

Reserves at 12.25pm: Lake Boga v Mallee Eagles.

Colts at 10.20am: Swan Hill v Koondrook Barham.

Mildura Health Fund-sponsored under-14 ½ at 9am: Nyah Nyah West United v Swan Hill.

Teams through to the second semi-finals on September 9 at Balranald’s Greenham Park are Kerang, seniors and reserves; Woorinen, Colts; and Lake Boga, under-14 ½.

Leading goalkickers in the senior competition:

55 Ben Fuller, Balranald.

54 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

47 Rhys Free, Cohuna.

40 Hassan Ahmat-Watkins, Nyah Nyah West United.

40 Will Collicoat, Woorinen.

39 Brent Macleod, Mallee Eagles.

30 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

29 Bradlee Pay, Kerang.

29 Rylee Smith, Kerang.

27 Drew Lloyd, Balranald.

26 Jose Miliado, Swan Hill.

24 Lochie Laing, Lake Boga.

22 Paul Davis, Mallee Eagles.

22 Jason Eagle, Tyntynder.

22 Ethan Gant, Balranald.

21 Danko Bzenic, Woorinen.

20 Doug Beames, Woorinen.

20 Joel Helman, Cohuna.

20 Zach Mihoeck, Swan Hill.

19 Daniel Coates, Cohuna.

19 Jack Donat, Cohuna.

19 David Gourdis, Lake Boga.

19 Hayden Hall, Kerang.

19 Dylan Johnstone, Cohuna.

18 Michael Runciman, Kerang.

17 Charlie Boulton, Nyah Nyah West United.

17 Troy Coates, Kerang.

17 Seth Connell, Balranald.

17 Matt Corney, Tyntynder.

17 Andrew McDonald, Mallee Eagles.

17 Angus Monfries, Lake Boga.

17 Matt Neagle, Balranald.

16 Riley Daniels, Nyah Nyah West United.

16 Jayden Lonergan, Lake Boga.

16 Matthew Wade, Swan Hill.