CMFNL Round 5 Football Review | Swan Hill dominates match at Cohuna


SWAN Hill has marked a hat-trick of wins in the Central Murray senior foofty after it dominated Saturday’s round five clash at Cohuna.

The Swans won every quarter on the Kangas’ ground to win 88-37 in the 3SH-backed competition.

After a first-round bye and then a 71-point loss to Tooleybuc Manangatang, Swan Hill has beaten Mallee Eagles, Nyah Nyah West United, and Cohuna.

Jose Miliado kicked six goals in a best on ground performance for the Swans against the Kangas as Matthew Wade chipped in with two majors.

Jarrod Findlay booted two goals for Cohuna.

Best for the Swans included Matthew Wade, Brandon Houlihan, Xavier Moloney, Toby Thoolen and Elijah Miliado.

Tynan Dove, Brenton Conforti, Sam McGlone, Daniel Coates, Daniel Paterson and Will Thrum were Cohuna’s best.

Tyntynder almost capped a stunning upset against Kerang at Swan Hill’s Alan Garden Reserve.

After being down 9-26 at quarter-time, Tyntynder fired up to win the second, 4.3 to 1.1, and led 33-33 by the main break.

Kerang won the third, 3.1 to 1.1, but the Bulldogs kept on fighting.

Tyntynder outscored the reigning premier in the final term, 14-9, but it was Kerang which took the premiership points in a 63-59 victory.

Hayden Hall, Sam Nitschke and Bradlee Pay kicked two goals each for Kerang.

Tyntynder’s attack was led by Jason Eagle, three; Justin Ellis and Roy George, two.

Best for the Troy Coates-coached Kerang were Josh Hann, Jesse Clark, Rylee Smith, Josh Nitschke, Adam Hunter and Hayden Hall.

Matthew Gilbee, Isaiah Bull, Justin Ellis, Zac Denham, Patrick Crowe and Wilhelm Hawkins starred for the Bulldogs.

Balranald’s brilliant first half set up victory on its turf at Greenham Park against Lake Boga.

The Kangaroos led 32-16 at quarter-time and then scored 4.5 to 1.2 in the second.

Both teams added two goals in the third quarter.

Balranald held a 34-point buffer at the start of the final term.

There were some anxious moments for the Roos as the Magpies scored four goals, but Balranald led 85-70 at the final siren.

Ben Fuller kicked a match-high six goals for the Kangas as Jydon Neagle added two.

Lake Boga’s attack was led by David Gourdis, five, and Xavier Sherlock, two.

Balranald’s best were Ethan Gant, Jydon Neagle, Jack Salau, Jaxon Neagle, Colin Andrews and Jack Jones.

Jacob Simpson, Lincoln Sieben, Jake Warren, Tyle Williams, David Gourdis and Rory Colville were best for Lake Boga.

It was the Demons against the Saints as Nyah Nyah West United faced Tooleybuc Manangatang at Nyah.

A highly-entertaining first half ended with the Demons in front, 39-34.

NNWU scored 4.1 to 2.3 in the third.

It was a goalscoring frenzy in the fourth as the Demons slammed on 6.7 and the Saints added five goals.

Charlie Boulton and Alex Erlandson kicked three goals as Hassan Ahmat-Watkins, Nicholas O’Neill and Jarrod Stokes added two majors each for the Demons.

It was another brilliant match by Josh Williams as he kicked six goals for the Saints and Ryan Domaille and Mitchell Grant added two.

Best for the Demons were Brayden Bigham, Jarrod Stokes, Charlie Boulton, Nicholas O’Neill, Joel Walsh and Blake Larkings.

Josh Williams, Johnathan Masden, Mitchell Grant, Blake Grant and Jaicob Kenny played well for the Saints.

Woorinen marked a big win at home against Koondrook Barham.

The Tigers led 46-19 at half-time and then slammed on 6.3 to just four points in the third quarter.

Douglas Beames, Danko Bzenic, William Collicoat all kicked three goals and Daniel Mase and Lachlan Warburton chipped in with two in a 129-36 result.

Cameron Moore kicked three goals for Koondrook Barham.

Best for Woorinen were Josh Domaille, Lachlan Warburton, Angus Butterfield, Mitchell Uhlhorn, Robbie Beame and Douglas Beames.

Colin McVeigh, Jack Thrum, Cameron Moore, Reagan Hamilton, Patrick Goble and Harley Burmeiser-Lyons were best for the River Raiders.

Mallee Eagles had the bye.

Central Murray FNL senior footy ladder:

Kerang 267 per cent, 20 points; Balranald 201, 16; Woorinen 233, 12; Swan Hill 108, 12; Lake Boga 106, 12; Nyah Nyah West United 117, 8; Cohuna 95, 8; Tyntynder 79, 4; Tooleybuc Manangatang 76, 4; Mallee Eagles 59, 4; Koondrook Barham 22, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

18 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

14 Bradlee Pay, Kerang.

13 Ben Fuller, Balranald.

12 Danko Bzenic, Woorinen.

12 Michael Runciman, Kerang.

11 Charlie Boulton, Hay.

11 Troy Coates, Kerang.

11 Will Collicoat, Woorinen.

11 Rhys Free, Cohuna.

10 David Gourdis, Lake Boga.

10 Jose Miliado, Swan Hill.

9 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

Highlight of next Saturday’s sixth round is the clash between ladder leaders Kerang and Balranald at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

The Blues and Kangaroos fight for the premiership points from 2.30pm.

Tooleybuc Manangatang is at Toooleybuc to take on Cohuna Kangas.

Mallee Eagles tackle Nyah Nyah West United at Lalbert.

Lake Boga is at Lake Boga Sports Club to face Woorinen Tigers.

Koondrook Barham has the bye.

Round six will be completed on the King’s Birthday Weekend when Swan Hill plays Tyntynder on June 10 at Swan Hill Recreation Reserve from 6pm.