CMFNL Round 6 Football Review


Thrillers played out at Balranald, Kerang

FANS were treated to thrilling finishes at Balranald’s Greenham Park and Kerang’s Riverside Park in Saturday’s sixth round of senior footy in the Central Murray FNL season.

It was a one-point margin at Balranald, and tied result at Kerang in the Radio 3SH-backed competition.

Balranald faced Woorinen in the clash of the Kangaroos and Tigers.

The Roos led 31-19 at quarter-time and 62-41 at the main break.

Woorinen lifted its play to win the third quarter.

As the Tigers scored 2.1 a wayward Roos line-up added seven behinds.

Led by the play of Taylor Cameron, ruckman Arnold Kirby and Jye Barry it was Woorinen which dominated the final term.

The yellow and black scored 5.5 as the Roos added 3.1.

When the final siren sounded it was Woorinen in front, 89-88.

Lachlan Gardner kicked a match-high six goals for the Tigers as Jye Barry added two.

Balranald’s attack was led by Colin Andrews and Matt Neagle, three; Seth Connell, Drew Lloyd and Jydon Neagle, two.

Best for Woorinen included Lachlan Gardner, Jack Atkin-Smith and Tahj Bolton.

The Kangaroos’ best were Drew Lloyd, Seth Connell, Matt Neagle, Harrison Soraggi, Tobie Richardson and Jack Jones.

Mallee Eagles turned a 19-point deficit at half-time into a seven-point lead by the final change of its clash on Kerang’s turf.

Goalkicking accuracy was a key factor as the Eagles scored 6.5 in the opening three terms as the Blues racked up 4.10.

In the final term Kerang scored 1.3 and held Mallee to a tally of two behinds.

When the final siren sounded scores were locked on 43-all.

Tyson Clingan kicked two goals for Kerang as the Eagles’ Darby McGregor booted a match-high three majors.

Best for Kerang were Sean Hunter, Tyson Clingan, Josh Hann, Martin Kelly, Josh Hunter and Sam Heavyside.

Mallee’s best were Jacob O’Meara, Darcy McGregor, Jayden Post, Harry McGregor, Zac O’Meara and Harrison Allen.

Cohuna Kangas marked a 103-78 win at home against Swan Hill.

The Jack Geary-coached Kangas led 37-21 at quarter-time and 66-42 by the long break.

Cohuna kept working hard to win the crucial third term, 24-13.

Swan Hill fought back strongly to score 3.5 to 2.1 in the final quarter.

At the final siren Cohuna led by 25 points.

Leading goalkickers for the Kangas were Izaac Johnson, five; co-captain Joel Helman and Jacob Mitchell on four each.

The Swans’ attack was led by coach Michael Herlihy, three; Ned McKeown and Toby Thoolen, two.

Cohuna’s best were Joel Helman, Daniel Coates, Izaac Johnson, co-captain Jarrod Findlay, Jack Donat and Jack Geary.

Toby Thoolen, Ned McKeown, Michael Herlihy, Cooper Angus, Elijah Miliado and Tom Holdstock played well for the Swans.

Tooleybuc Manangatang won on Lake Boga’s turf by 44 points.

The Brad Morris-coached Saints made a flying start as it scored 7.2 and kept the Magpies scoreless in the opening quarter.

From there both teams scored 28 points across the next three terms.

Connor Nutting kicked five goals and Harrison Maher added two in a 72-28 victory for Tooleybuc Manangatang.

There were no multiple goalkickers for Lake Boga.

Best for the Saints were John Wardle, Harrison Maher, Connor McDonald, Connor Nutting, Jesse Wilson and Elliot Chalmers.

Lake Boga’s best were Fraser Colville, Zac Warne, Brodie Tonkin, David Gourdis, Dylan McCosh and Marty Parsons.

Tyntynder scored a 40-point win against Koondrook Barham at Alan Garden Reserve in Swan Hill.

The Bulldogs turned a 21-point lead at half-time into a 49-point gap by the final change after it scored 4.5 to a point in the third term.

It was a goalscoring frenzy in the last as Koondrook Barham slammed on six straight goals and Tyntynder added 4.3.

Roy George kicked a match-high six goals in a best on ground performance as the Bulldogs won 84-44.

Other multiple goalkickers for Tyntynder were Jayden Magro and Marcus Wattie, two.

The River Raiders’ attack was led by Reagan Hamilton, two.

Tyntynder’s best were Roy George, Matt Gilbee, Marcus Wattie, Jayden Magro, Sam Bull and Harry Simpson.

Billy Driscoll, James Martin, Jack Shannon, Reagan Hamilton, Jack Thrum and Cambell Davison played well for the River Raiders.

Nyah Nyah West United had the bye.

Central Murray FNL senior footy ladder:

Nyah Nyah West United 154 per cent, 20 points; Balranald 139, 16; Tooleybuc Manangatang 127, 16; Woorinen 122, 16; Kerang 134, 14; Tyntynder 98, 12; Mallee Eagles 94, 10; Cohuna Kangas 103, 8; Lake Boga 57, 4; Swan Hill 69, 0; Koondrook Barham 50, 0.

In next Saturday’s seventh round it’s third against second as Tooleybuc Manangatang plays Balranald at Tooleybuc.

Woorinen is at home against Tyntynder.

Mallee Eagles take on Lake Boga at Lalbert.

Swan Hill faces Kerang at Swan Hill Recreation Reserve.

The ladder-leading Nyah Nyah West United takes on Cohuna Kangas at Nyah Recreation Reserve.

Koondrook Barham has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

27 Brandyn Grenfell, Nyah Nyah West United.

17 Colin Andrews, Balranald.

16 Darcy Hourigan, Mallee Eagles.

15 Lachlan Gardner, Woorinen.

14 Drew Lloyd, Balranald.

12 Joel Helman, Cohuna Kangas.

12 Matt Neagle, Balranald.

12 Connor Nutting, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

11 Clayton McCartney, Woorinen.

11 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

11 Nick O’Neill, Nyah Nyah West United.

10 Izaac Johnson, Cohuna Kangas.

10 Dylan Johnstone, Cohuna Kangas.

10 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

9 Jason Eagle, Tyntynder.

9 David Gourdis, Lake Boga.

9 Michael Herlihy, Swan Hill.

8 Archer Dibsdale, Kerang.

8 Jayden Magro, Tyntynder.

8 Johnathan Marsden, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

8 Ned McKeown, Swan Hill.

8 Andrew Mead-Harding, Mallee Eagles.

7 Charlie Boulton, Nyah Nyah West United.

7 Kai Kearns, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

7 Arnold Kirby, Woorinen.

7 Lachlan Lellmann, Balranald.

7 Roy George, Tyntynder.

7 Jordan McNeil, Kerang.