CMFNL Round 8 Football Review


Kerang ends Nyah Nyah West United’s run

REIGNING premier Kerang broke Nyah Nyah West United’s unbeaten streak in Saturday’s eighth round of the Radio 3SH-backed senior footy action in the Central Murray.

The Troy Coates-coached Kerang had home-ground advantage at Riverside Park for the big clash with the Demons.

A closely-fought first half ended with NNWU in front, 32-31.

A Demons line-up jointly coached by Jason Murphy and Nick O’Neill kicked away as it scored 3.2 to 2.2 in the third term.

The Blues dominated the final quarter.

As Kerang scored 3.3 the Demons added just three behinds as the Blues marked a 66-55 victory.

Thomas Hetherington and Jordan McNeil led Kerang’s attack on three goals each.

Demons’ gun recruit Brandyn Grenfell kicked a match-high four goals as Charlie Boulton added two.

Best for Kerang were captain Josh Nitschke, Martin Kelly, Josh Hann, ruckman Nick Lang, Sam Heavyside and Jordan McNeil.

The Demons’ best were Charlie Boulton, Jordan Iudica, Joel Walsh, Nic Threadgold, Dominic Gallo and Campbell Everitt.

Mallee Eagles marked its best win of the season at Balranald’s Greenham Park.

The Brent Macleod-coached Eagles turned a four-point deficit at half-time into a 69-67 lead going into the final term.

Mallee won a hard-fought final term, 19-16, to seal an 88-83 victory.

The classy Darcy Hourigan led the Eagles attack on four goals as Andrew Mead-Harding and Jai Middleton capped their team-mates work with three goals apiece.

Balranald’s leading goalkicker was Drew Lloyd on six as Lachlan Lellman and Jaxon Neagle added two.

Best for Mallee Eagles were Harrison Allen, Joe Halloran, Andrew Mead-Harding, Harry McGregor, Jai Middleton and Darcy Hourigan.

Drew Lloyd, Jaxon Neagle, Ian Fuller, Kobe Lloyd, Harrison Soraggi and Jack Jones were best for the Kangaroos.

Tyntynder dominated its home clash with Tooleybuc-Manangatang at Alan Garden Reserve in Swan Hill.

The Jack O’Rourke-coached Tyntynder scored 4.11 in the first half as the Saints racked up six behinds.

In the second half it was the Bulldogs who had plenty of the play and capped it off by scoring 7.4 to 2.5.

Jason Eagle and Jayden Magro kicked three goals apiece and Patrick Blake chipped in with two as Tyntynder won 81-23.

Goalkickers for the Saints were Jesse Kane and Josh Williams.

Tyntynder’s best were Matt Gilbee, Elia Ware, Ned Lay, Isaiah Bull, Matt King and Sam Bull.

Harrison Maher, Connor McDonald, John Wardle, Rylee Taylor, Blake Grant and Kallum Hazlett were best on a disappointing day for the Brad Morris-coached Saints.

Lake Boga fought from nine points down at the start of the final term to clinch a 62-53 victory at home against Swan Hill.

A closely-fought contest was broken up in the last as the Magpies scored 3.1 to a point.

Kai Everett, Nathaniel Holmes-Brown and Xavier Sherlock all kicked two goals for the Dean Helmers-coached Lake Boga.

Swan Hill’s attack was led by captain Luke Phelan and Toby Thoolen on three each.

Best for the Magpies were Zac Warne, Josh Wills, Brodie Tonkin, Marty Parsons, Rory Colville and Xavier Sherlock.

Cooper Angus, Toby Thoolen, Sonny Beasy, Bodhi Kelly, Jarvis Keogh and Adam Manning were best for the Michael Herlihy-coached Swans.

Woorinen marked a 10-goal win on Koondrook Barham’s turf at Barham.

The Marcus Demaria-coached Tigers were under pressure in the first quarter.

Woorinen led 16-14 at quarter-time and then scored 5.6 to 1.1 in the second.

Led by the play of Lachlan Warburton, Henry Thompson and Regan Vesty it was Woorinen which scored nine goals and held the River Raiders to a tally of four in the second half.

At the final siren the yellow and black led 109 to 49.

Arnold Kirby and Lachlan Warburton kicked three goals for Woorinen as Tom Langford added two.

Mitch Christensen led Koondrook Barham’s attack on two goals.

Best for the Tigers included Doug Beames, Tom Langford and Jye Barry.

Cambell Davison, Mitch Christensen, Jack Thrum, Jason Hura, Nathan Hamence and Patrick Goble worked hard for the Will Callow-coached Koondrook Barham team.

Cohuna Kangas had the bye.

Central Murray FNL senior footy ladder:

Nyah Nyah West United 142 per cent, 24 points; Woorinen 135, 24; Kerang 152, 22; Balranald 132, 20; Mallee Eagles 106, 18; Tyntynder 104, 16; Tooleybuc Manangatang 99, 16; Cohuna Kangas 97, 8; Lake Boga 61, 8; Swan Hill 63, 0; Koondrook Barham 49, 0.

It’s a stand-alone game next Saturday when Tyntynder plays Swan Hill in the King’s Birthday holiday weekend match at Swan Hill’s Alan Garden Reserve from 2.30pm.

Round nine on June 15 features Mallee Eagles against Tyntynder at Lalbert.

Tooleybuc-Manangatang plays Koondrook Barham at Tooleybuc Recreation Reserve.

Swan Hill tackles Balranald at Swan Hill Recreation Reserve.

It’s a showdown between the Demons and Magpies as Nyah Nyah West United hosts Lake Boort at Nyah.

Cohuna and Kerang clash on the Kangas’ ground at Cohuna Recreation Reserve.

Woorinen has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

32 Brandyn Grenfell, Nyah Nyah West United.

26 Darcy Hourigan, Mallee Eagles.

21 Drew Lloyd, Balranald.

18 Colin Andrews, Balranald.

17 Lachlan Gardner, Woorinen.

16 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

14 Jason Eagle, Tyntynder.

14 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

14 Matt Neagle, Balranald.

13 Izaac Johnson, Cohuna Kangas.

12 Charlie Boulton, Nyah Nyah West United.

12 Joel Helman, Cohuna Kangas.

12 Arnold Kirby, Woorinen.

12 Andrew Mead-Harding, Mallee Eagles.

12 Connor Nutting, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

12 Nick O’Neill, Nyah Nyah West United.

11 Michael Herlihy, Swan Hill.

11 Jayden Magro, Tyntynder.

11 Clayton McCartney, Woorinen.

11 Jordan McNeil, Kerang.

10 Archer Dibsdale, Kerang.

10 Michael Herlihy, Swan Hill.

10 Dylan Johnstone, Cohuna Kangas.

10 Lachlan Lellman, Balranald.