CMFNL Round 9 Preview | Magpies tackle ladder leaders at Lake Boga


LAKE Boga is the latest team to try and break Kerang’s unbeaten run in Saturday’s ninth round of the 3SH-backed senior footy action in the Central Murray FNL.

The Magpies have home ground advantage at Lake Boga as fifth takes on first.

It’s a well-rested Lake Boga team which had the bye on June 3 and then another rest on a King’s Birthday holiday weekend which featured the stand-alone Swan Hill and Tyntynder match.

A key to Lake Boga’s chances of an upset win against the Kerang Blues will be on-ball and midfield duels.

The Magpies will look to ruckman Jacob Simpson, centreman Tyle Williams, and on-ballers Nathaniel Holmes-Brown and Jake Warren to have a major influence on contests.

Lake Boga has the AFL experience of former Essendon and Port Adelaide player Angus Monfries in attack or across half-back.

Other key players for the Magpies include David Gourdis at full-forward, and Matt Taverna at centre half-back.

In-form players for the Troy Coates-coached Kerang include Michael Dalrymple, Josh Hann, Sam Heavyside and Rylee Smith.

A strong attack for the Blues features Ryan Gillingham and Hayden Hall.

Balranald is on home turf at Greenham Park to take on Mallee Eagles.

A 6-1 record has Balranald in second place nearing the halfway mark of the season.

Those to have starred for the Kangaroos include Ben Fuller, Ethan Gant, Ryan Middlebrook, Jaxon and Jydon Neagle, and Harrison Soraggi.

Huge test for the Eagles who are ninth on a 2-5 record.

Mallee teamed well for a 45-point win against Tyntynder at Lalbert in round eight.

Best for the Eagles in that match were Shaun Harrison, Braidon Bennett, Zac O’Meara and Brandon Gardiner.

Mallee will also look to Ben Bennett, Darcy McGregor and Angus McKenzie to play well in their on-ball roles.

Tyntynder takes on Nyah Nyah West United at Alan Garden Reserve.

The Bulldogs were let down by inaccuracy as they scored 4.12 in last Saturday night’s match under Swan Hill’s lights.

Best for Tyntynder in that match were Matt Corney, Matt Gilbee and Elliot Broad.

The Bulldogs will also look to Jason Eagle, Roy George and Liam Whelan to cap off attacking moves, and for Wilhelm Hawkins and Harry Simpson to defend well.

The NNWU Demons played well to finish within 13 points of Cohuna in Nyah in round eight.

Players to watch for NNWU include Joel Campbell at full-back, Riley Daniels and Charlie Boulton across half-forward, and rover Kayne Davidson.

Koondrook Barham faces Swan Hill at Barham.

The River Raiders are yet to mark a victory this season and will look to Colin McVeigh, Patrick Goble, Mitch Christensen, Dominic Cirillo and Scott Wood to lead the way.

Not an easy task against a Swan Hill line-up which is fighting to gain a place in the top five.

In-form players for the Swans include ruckman Toby Thoolen, Matt Wade, Brandon Houlihan and Xavier Moloney.

Swan Hill also has the leadership of Luke Phelan and Tom Holdstock, and the skilful Jose Miliado.

Woorinen Tigers are at home to play Tooleybuc Manangatang.

The Tigers won their latest match on Swan Hill’s turf by 88 points as Jye Barry, Lachlan Gardner, Will Collicoat and Thomas Isma dominated.

A strong team in yellow and black includes ruck-rover Robbie Miller, Doug Beames at centre half-forward, rover Josh Domaille, and Jye Barry in the centre.

Tooleybuc Manangatang fought back strongly across the last three quarters in the latest home game against Balranald.

The Saints were down 2-38 at quarter-time, but hit back to outscore the Roos, 46-27 in the last three terms.

Best for Tooleybuc Manangatang in that match were Connor McDonald, John Wardle, Jaicob Kenny and Johnathan Marsden.

The Saints have Tim Auckland and Ryan Domaille as key targets in attack, and Tom Carland and Blake Grant in on-ball roles.

Cohuna Kangas have the bye.

Central Murray FNL senior footy ladder:

Kerang 232 per cent, 32 points; Balranald 171, 24; Woorinen 224, 20; Cohuna 106, 20; Lake Boga 107, 16; Swan Hill 84, 16; Nyah Nyah West United 122, 12; Tyntynder 77, 8; Mallee Eagles 70, 8; Tooleybuc Manangatang 76, 4; Koondrook Barham 25, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

31 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

24 Rhys Free, Cohuna.

22 Will Collicoat, Woorinen.

15 David Gourdis, Lake Boga.

14 Doug Beames, Woorinen.

14 Paul Davis, Mallee 14 Bradlee Pay, Kerang.

14 Ben Fuller, Balranald.

13 Danko Bzenic, Woorinen.

13 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

12 Charlie Boulton, Nyah Nyah West United.

12 Jack Donat, Cohuna.

12 Brent Macleod, Mallee Eagles.

12 Michael Runciman, Kerang.

11 Troy Coates, Kerang.

11 Drew Lloyd, Balranald.

11 Rylee Smith, Kerang.

10 Jason Eagle, Tyntynder.

10 Jarrod Findlay, Cohuna.

10 Hayden Hall, Kerang.

10 Jose Miliado, Swan Hill.