CMFNL Week 1 Finals Football Review | Kangaroos, Demons fire as finals kick-off


BALRANALD and Nyah Nyah West United made winning starts to the weekend’s finals action of the 3SH-backed senior footy in the Central Murray FNL.

The Kangaroos from Balranald took on Woorinen in Saturday’s qualifying final at Lalbert.

It was a terrific contest in which Woorinen led 25-21 at quarter-time, and Balranald was up 44-38 at the main break.

A closely-fought third term went the way of the Tigers, 3-4 to 3.0.

Inspired by the play of Jaxon and Matt Neagle and Kobe Lloyd, Balranald kicked away in the final quarter.

The Roos added 3.2 to 2.3 to complete an 82-75 victory.

Balranald’s attack was led by Seth Connell and Drew Lloyd on three as Ben Fuller, Jydon Neagle and Matt Neagle added two each.

Lachlan Gardner kicked a match-high four goals for Woorinen.

Other goalkickers for the Tigers were Thomas Isma and Matt Gardner, two; Jye Barry, Will Collicoat and Josh Domaille.

Balranald’s best included Jordan Wilkins, Seth Connell and Drew Lloyd.

Taylor Cameron, Doug Beames, Robbie Miller, Danko Bzenic, Ben Booth and Angus Butterfield played well for the yellow and black.

Next hit-out for Balranald is against the unbeaten Kerang in Saturday’s second semi at Balranald’s Greenham Park.

Woorinen will fight to stay in the race when it plays Nyah Nyah West United in Sunday’s first semi at Barham.

The NNWU Demons ended Lake Boga’s season in Sunday’s elimination final at Swan Hill’s Alan Garden Reserve.

In a hot start, NNWU scored 7.5 to just two behinds in the first term.

Lake Boga hit back to win the second term, 23-2.

A four-goal lead for the Demons at the start of the third term was 39 points by the end of it.

Key recruit and star forward Hassan Ahmat-Watkins kicked a match-high four goals as Nyah Nyah West United marked a 103-59 victory.

Other goalkickers for the Demons were Brayden Bigham, Charlie Boulton, Riley Daniels, Kayne Davidson and Jarrod Stokes, two; and Alex Erlandson.

Lake Boga’s atck was led by Nathaniel Holmes-Brown on three.

On a day where it scored 7.17, Lake Boga had Ryan Fox, Xander Hartland and Darby Hayes kick a goal each.

Best for the Demons were Joel Walsh, Dean Harrop, Zack Threadgold, Kayne Davidson, Ethan Saville and Campbell Everitt.

Lake Boga’s best were Angus Monfries, Marty Parsons, Jake Warren, David Gourdis, Daniel Dzufer and Lincoln Sieben.

In the reserves competition, Woorinen marked a 10-goal victory against Nyah Nyah West United in the qualifying final.

The Tigers led 42-16 at half-time and then scored 7.6 to 2.2 in the second half for a 90-30 result.

Timothy Free kicked four goals as Zac Cordwell and Jordy McInnes added two.

Other goalkickers for the yellow and black were Tim Gammon, Jason Iannucci, Bailey Kruger, Caylan Lyons and Jake Schmidt.

Liam White booted two goals for the NNWU Demons as Royce Free and Aaron Threadgold were also on target.

Best for Woorinen were William Rush, Tim Gammon, Matt King, Kyle Steicke, James Gleeson and Bailey Kruger.

Tristan Dalbon, Jason Manning, Paul Johnson, Cooper Andrews, Cooper Charles and Blake Larkings worked hard for the Demons.

Woorinen will play Kerang in the second semi-final.

The Demons earn another chance in the first semi against Lake Boga.

The Magpies from Lake Boga marked a 71-18 victory in Sunday’s elimination final showdown with Mallee Eagles.

Lake Boga led 21-3 at quarter-time and 42-4 by the main break.

Byron Holt kicked three goals and Patrick Bryan and Noah Sherlock chipped in with two as Lake Boga won 71-18.

Other goalkickers for the Magpies were Kyle Brawn, Tobie Richardson and Oliver Rohde.

Brady Fordham booted both of Mallee’s goals.

Best for Lake Boga were Nelson Ibbs, Patrick Bryan, Shannon O’Reilly, Mitchell Whitfield, Tobie Richardson and Dylan McCosh.

Ryan Fordham, Logan Nalder, Todd Day-Henery, Wes Bennett, Corey Williams and Brady Fordham were best for Mallee Eagles.

Kerang kicked on to the Colts second semi-final after a 51-38 victory against Lake Boga in the qualifying final.

The Blues led 38-3 at half-time.

In the second half it was Lake Boga which dominated a lot of the play.

The Magpies scored 5.5 to 2.1 after half-time.

Kerang’s attack was led by Harry Bremner and Mason Dibsdale on three as Jackson Brady and Lachlan Somerville added one each.

Lake Boga’s attack was led by Maximus Caruso on three and Harrison Bull with two.

Best for Kerang were Mason Dibsdale, Lachlan Somerville, Cooper Meehan, Patrick Oliver, Bohden McKnight and Harry Bremner.

Maximus Caruso, Harry Bryan, Blaizeee Parsons, Cooper Doolan, Zac Palmer and Harrison Bull were Lake Boga’s best.

Kerang takes on Woorinen in the second semi.

Lake Boga will be back in action on Sunday against Swan Hill in the first semi.

The Swans scored a 95-58 victory in the elimination final against Koondrook Barham.

Swans’ captain Shannon Polglase kicked six goals as Sonny Beasy, Koby McMillan and Steven Polglase booted two each.

Wilhem Bennett and Bodhi Kelly were also on target for the Swans.

Goalkickers for Koondrook Barham were Will Lake, three; Lachlan Laursen, two; Ryan Bassett, Nathaniel Leonard, Ben Miller and Clay Watts.

Best for the Swans were Sonny Beasy, Bohdi Kelly, Steven Polglase, Harry Scott, Wilhem Bennett and Koby McMillan.

Eli Boyd, Will Lake, Riley Davis, Nick Frankling, Nathaniel Leonard and Ben Miller were best for the River Raiders.

First of the finals was the clash between Tooleybuc Manangatang and Kerang in the qualifying final of the Mildura Health Fund-backed under-14 ½ competition.

The Saints from Tooleybuc Manangatang won 6.5 (41) to 2.3 (15).

Jacob Zanker kicked a match-high three goals as Campbell Fisher, Jedd ad Rydar Morris added one each.

Hugh Bremner and Nicholas Oliver kicked goals for Kerang.

Best for the Saints were Connor Hazlett, Jacob Zanker, Julian Muir, Rydar Morris, Campbell Fisher and Charlie Elford.

Flynn McKnight, Hugh Bremner, Ronarrian Dowdy, Nicholas Oliver, Cameron Hipworth and Kai Roberts played well for the Blues.

Tooleybuc Manangatang will take Lake Boga in the second semi-final.

Kerang will be up against Swan Hill in the first semi.

The Swans withstood a spirited fightback by Nyah Nyah West United to win the elimination final by five points.

Swan Hill led 40-23 going into the final term.

The Demons turned up the heat to score 2.1 to a point in the last.

At the final siren, Swan Hill led 6.5 (41) to 5.6 (36).

Goalkickers for the Swans were Tyler Marold, three; Tallen Hinton, Cody McIntyre and Noah Pearson.

Max Thompson booted three goals for NNWU Demons as Cohen Roberts and Oliver Stewart added one.

Best for the Swans were Sam Brown, Lane Cardenas, Lenny Ryan, Bailey Haywood, Cody McIntyre and Tyler Marold.

Max Thompson, Murndarr McInnes, Jarrah Edge, Aiden Nolen, Ben Rogers and Oliver Stewart played well for Nyah Nyah West United.

Schedule for Saturday’s second semi-finals at Balranald’s Greenham Park:

Seniors at 2.30pm: Kerang v Balranald.

Reserves at 12.25pm: Kerang v Woorinen.

Colts at 10.20am: Woorinen v Kerang.

Under-14 ½ at 9am: Lake Boga v Tooleybuc Manangatang.

Schedule for Sunday’s first semi-finals at Barham:

Seniors at 2.30pm: Woorinen v Nyah Nyah West United.

Reserves at 12.25pm: Nyah Nyah West United v Lake Boga.

Colts at 10.20am: Lake Boga v Swan Hill.

Under-14 ½ at 9am: Kerang v Swan Hill.