CVFL Round 2 Review


CVFL celebrates Pride Round

Round 2 in the Central Victoria Football League was Pride Round.

The Pride game started between Kyneton FNC and Eaglehawk FNC in 2019 with prior involvement within the BFNL between Kyneton FNC and Castlemaine FNC.

The aim of celebrating pride games is to engage with the LGBTIQ+ to celebrate the inclusion within clubs and the league.

Clubs who have special designed jumpers were able to wear them during Round 2 to help celebrate Pride Round.

On the field, Castlemaine’s hot start kept rolling as the Magpies took on Woorinen in the rematch of the ’23 grand finalists.

The Magpies had home-ground advantage at Camp Reserve and raced to a 40-1 lead by quarter-time.

In the second the Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine added 8.4 as the Tigers scored 2.1.

The second half was a more event contest.

The Magpies won the half, 32-10 on the way to a 134-24 result.

Castlemaine vice-captain Eloise Gretgrix kicked six goals as Tiffany Bradley, Tiahna Cochrane, Beppina Marshall, Rachael Stubbings, Aisling and Maeve Tupper chipped in with two each.

Goalkickers for the Tigers were Brydi Lewis, Courtney Wakefield and Freda Wosomo.

The Magpies’ best were Rachael Stubbings, Brianna Burt, Jemma Finning, Bronte Ashworth, Emma Pedretti and Eloise Gretgrix.

Courtney Wakefield, Emma Peacock, coach Katelyn Hazlett, Brydi Lewis, Sheridan Gallagher and Leonie Schulz worked hard for the Tigers.

GOLDEN Square made a superb start to its Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy season in Friday night’s match at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

After a first-round bye the Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square dominated most of the round two match on the Borough’s turf.

The Bulldogs led 15-1 at quarter-time and then slammed on 6.1 to just two behinds in the second to be well in control of the match.

At the final siren the blue and gold led 75-17.

Goalkickers for the Bulldogs were: Isabella Ayre (5) Gemma Roberts (2) Olivia Burgess (1), Liz Watkins (1), Tania Kerrison (1), Courtney Hingston (1).

While Molly Pianta and Lana Westaway kicked a goal a piece for the two-blues.

Best players for Eaglehawk were Molly Pianta, Molly Metcalf, Georgia Vozlic, Jess Dover, Kelly Mensforth, Grace Murley

While Liz Watkins, Isabella Ayre, Courtney Hingston, Brooke Hutchinson, Gemma Roberts, Taylah Moore played well for the Bulldogs.

Bendigo Thunder scored a 45-point win on North Bendigo’s turf at The Bendigo Club Oval in Atkins Street.

The Mick McInnes-coached Thunder led 14-3 at quarter-time and then scored three goals to one in the second term.

Goalkicking accuracy was a highlight as Thunder kicked on to win 10.3 (63) to 2.6 (18).

Serryn Eenjes kicked three goals for Thunder as Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke and Hannah Perry added two each.

Goalkickers for the Bulldogs were Kira Gibbons and Tanika Thomson.

Thunder’s best were Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, Ruby Kelly, Marguerita Murphy, Shasta Martion, Ebony Seddon and Emily Galtieri.

Quetta Holloway-Jinks, Kira Gibbons, Cassandra Coughlan, Heidi Schneider and Aisha Mansfield played well for the red, white and blue.

At Malone Park, Marong kicked off their CVFL journey in tough circumstances going down to Sandhurst by 177 points.

In accuracy hurt he dragons in the first quarter kicking 2.7.

Post the first break though, the Dragons put the foot down to score a convincing win.

Best players for the Panthers in their debut for the Club were Caitlin Shaw, Regeena Torney, Hannah Cue, Katrina alford, Alex Campbell-Smith, Bridget Chalkley.

While Lily Campbell, Piper Dunlop, Amanda Carrod, Ruby Campbell, Lacey Nihill, Chelsea Reeves were the key to victory for the Dragons.

Goalkickers for Sandhurst were as follows: Chelsea Reeves (8), Lily Campbell (5), Lacey Nihill (3), Ruby Campbell (3), Piper Dunlop (2), Amanda Carrod (2), Imogen Douglass (1), Annie Campbell (1), Liv Douglass (1).

White Hills had the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder after two rounds:

Castlemaine 653 per cent, 8 points; White Hills 1542, 4; Golden Square 441, 4; Eaglehawk 138, 4; Woorinen 100, 4; Bendigo Thunder 61, 4; North Bendigo 19, 0; Sandhurst 12, 0; Marong 6, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

12 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

9 Tiahna Cochrane, Castlemaine.

9 Samantha Johnston, Woorinen.

8 Chelsea Reeves , Sandhurst.

8 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

8 Brydi Lewis, Woorinen.

6 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

6 Sasha Pearce, White Hills.

5 Lily Campbell, Sandhurst.

4 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

3 Serryn Eenjes, Bendigo Thunder.

3 Daisy Gee, White Hills.

3 Rachael Stubbings, Castlemaine.

3 Maeve Tupper, Castlemaine.

3 Oakley Turner, White Hills.

3 Freda Wosomo, Woorinen.

3 Lacey Nihill, Sandhurst.

3 Ruby Campbell, Sandhurst.

Round three will be played on Sunday.

All matches start at 1pm.

Golden Square takes on North Bendigo in the battle of the Bulldogs at Golden Square’s Wade Street Oval.

Sandhurst faces White Hills at Ewing Park in Bendigo.

Bendigo Thunder tackles Castlemaine at Weeroona Oval.

Woorinen marks its first home game of the season when it plays Marong.

Eaglehawk has the bye.

CVFL Under 18’s

In the CVFL under-18 girls competition it was Woorinen which marked a 40-20 win on Castlemaine’s ground at Camp Reserve.

The Tigers won 6.4 (40) to 3.2 (20).

Grace Ayars kicked two goals to be among Woorinen’s best with Milla Stewart, Eva Coffey, Sunny Barry, Tyler Arnett and Hollie Everett.

Kate Batchelor kicked two goals and was Castlemaine’s best with Amelia Britt, Chloe Butcher, Lori Whaley, Shelby Kitchingham and Miharo WiHare.

Golden Square racked up 49 scoring shots in a 21.28 (154) to nil result against Eaglehawk in Friday night’s match at Canterbury Park.

Leading goalkickers for the blue and gold were Tiara Davis, six; Lily Mansfield, three; Ava Barker, Ruby Demeo, Alex Filsell and Ella Gourley on two.

Best for Golden Square were captain Ava Barker, Tiara Davis, Alex Filsell and Lily Mansfield.

Lilly Stevenson, Jasmine Gowty, Dekoda Fitzpatrick, Hannah O’Toole, Taylor Collier and Neve Nisbet were Eaglehawk’s best.

Details from the Strathfieldsaye and Sandhurst match at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane were not supplied.

White Hills had the bye.

Round three kicks off Friday night when Strathfieldsaye hosts Castlemaine under the Triple M Park lights in Tannery Lane from 6.30pm.

On Sunday it will be Golden Square up against Woorinen from 11.15am at Wade Street Oval in Goldne Square.

Sandhurst and White Hills clash at Ewing Park from 11.15am.

Eaglehawk has the bye.