CVFL Round 7 Preview


New rivalry begins on Golden Square’s turf

ANOTHER part of the great rivalry between Golden Square and Sandhurst kicks off in this weekend’s seventh round of the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy season.

It’s the first time the Bulldogs and Dragons will have met in the competition.

Play starts at 5pm following the Ron Best Memorial Shield senior men’s footy clash between the clubs at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

A win-loss record of four-one has the Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square in second place.

Latest hit-out for the blue and gold ended in a 200-point win against the Winslow White Hills Demons at Winslow Constructors Oval in Wade Street.

Paynton Jolliffe kicked 10 goals in that match and played her part in CVFL’s success in last Sunday’s inter-league challenge wins against North East Border and Goulburn Murray at Mercy Sports Precinct in Junortoun.

A formidable line-up for Golden Square includes Carly Geary, Kate Douglass, Tania Kerrison and Michelle McCready.

The talented Liz Watkins was also co-captain of the CVFL representative team and will play a key role for Golden Square.

Other players to watch in the blue and gold are Molly Ford, Sarah Mannes and Victoria Winstanley.

In its debut season, Sandhurst is fourth in the premiership race on a three-two record.

The Andrew Saladino-coached Sandhurst won its first match under the Queen Elizabeth Oval lights against Bendigo Thunder by 21 points.

Best for the maroon and blue in that contest were Madeline Sexton, Lily and Ruby Campbell, and Katie Walker.

The skilful Maddy White was in outstanding form as CVFL won the inter-league challenge.

Amanda Carrod will be in action for Sandhurst against her former club.

The maroon and blue also has Chelsea Reeves, Chloe Naughton and Chloe Swatton capable of winning many contests.

Round seven kicks off Friday night when matches are played at Bendigo Club Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street, and Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

North Bendigo or Marong will mark their first victory of the season in their clash at Bendigo Club Oval from 7pm.

Latest hit-out for the Ross Egleton-coached North Bendigo was at Castlemaine.

Best for the red, white and blue in that match were Ajay Turner, Ella Dobell, Maddison Hargreaves-Hale, Mikala Creely and Heidi Schneider.

The play of Kira Gibbons, Maddie Jelbart and Quetta Holloway-Jinks earned selection in the CVFL representative team.

Been a tough run for Marong in its debut season.

Latest hit-out for the Panthers was at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

Best for Marong against the Two Blues were Bianca Bourke, Cody Clark, Katrina Alford and captain Dani Jeffery.

A Panthers squad coached by David Blume and Jimmy Evenden includes Chelby and Crystal Clark, Hannah Cue, Alex Purdy and Caitlin Shaw.

Eaglehawk is back on home turf at Canterbury Park on Friday night to tackle White Hills from 7.15pm.

Best in the Borough’s latest win against Marong were Cass Coleman, Eliza Long, Neve Nisbet, Lilly Stevenson, Grace Murley and Emily Field.

Co-coach of the team with Geoff West, Molly Metcalf kicked three goals in the victory.

Was a daunting task for White Hills against Golden Square in round six.

The Demons never gave up against a powerful opponent.

Best for the Phil Murley-coached White Hills against the Bulldogs included Olivia Basile, Daisy Gee, Courtney Gibson, Jemma Kiernan, Kadeisha Smith and co-captain Oakley Turner.

The Demons team to take on the Hawks includes co-captain Hannah Ripper, Kayla Ash and Keira Long.

Round seven will be completed on Sunday when Bendigo Thunder faces Woorinen from 1pm at Weeroona Oval in Bendigo’s Napier Street.

A three-three record has the Mick McInnes-coached Thunder in sixth place.

Runner-up in ’23, Woorinen is third in this year’s race on a four-one record.

Thunder’s best in the clash with Sandhurst at the QEO were Emily Galtieri, Liza Jane Edwards and Tracey Anderson.

The play of captain Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, Lucy El Hage, Estella and Marguerita Murphy, Emily Button and Jaime Sawers will have a major bearing on Thunder’s chances of taming the Tigers.

Big test for Thunder’s defence against Woorinen stars Brydi Lewis and Samantha Johnston.

Other players to watch for the Tigers are coach Katelyn Hazlett, Jenna Bannam, Tenay Fellows and Freda Wosomo.

Castlemaine has the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 811 per cent, 24 points; Golden Square 644, 16; Woorinen 318, 16; Sandhurst 142, 12; Eaglehawk 114, 12; Bendigo Thunder 74, 12; White Hills 21, 4; North Bendigo 11, 0; Marong 2, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

29 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

23 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

23 Brydi Lewis, Woorinen.

19 Isabella Ayre, Golden Square.

19 Samantha Johnston, Woorinen.

17 Chelsea Reeves, Sandhurst.

15 Tiahna Cochrane, Castlemaine.

14 Tenay Fellows, Woorinen.

13 Jenna Bannam, Woorinen.

11 Victoria Winstanley, Golden Square.

10 Brianna Burt, Castlemaine.

10 Lily Campbell, Sandhurst.

10 Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk.

10 Rachael Stubbings, Castlemaine.

10 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

9 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

9 Freda Wosomo, Woorinen.

8 Amanda Carrod, Sandhurst.

8 Kate Douglass, Golden Square.

8 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

7 Taylah Moore, Golden Square.

7 Lacey Nihill, Sandhurst.

6 Courtney Hingston, Golden Square.

6 Tania Kerrison, Golden Square.

6 Sasha Pearce, White Hills.

Round seven in the CVFL under-18 girls competition kicks off with Friday night’s match between Eaglehawk and Winslow White Hills Demons at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park from 5.30pm.

Massive challenge for the Hawks against the unbeaten ladder leaders.

On Sunday it’s third against fourth as Golden Square faces Sandhurst from 10.20am at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

Second in the premiership race, Strathfieldsaye Storm is on home turf at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane to play Woorinen from 10.30am.

Castlemaine has the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL under-18 girls footy ladder:

White Hills 306 per cent, 20 points; Strathfieldsaye 203, 16; Golden Square 288, 12; Sandhurst 110, 8; Castlemaine 69, 8; Woorinen 62, 8; Eaglehawk 5, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

15 Alysha Boyd, Strathfieldsaye.

15 Mia Clark, White Hills.

12 Tiara Davis, Golden Square.

12 Tarliah Murphy, White Hills.

10 Grace Ayars, Woorinen.

10 Eve Cail, White Hills.

9 Ellie Bellenger, Sandhurst.

9 Hannah Cochrane, Sandhurst.

8 Kate Batchelor, Castlemaine.

7 Sunny Barry, Woorinen.

7 Chloe Butcher, Castlemaine.

7 Scout Carmody, Sandhurst.

7 Eve Kalms, Strathfieldsaye.

7 Nadia Peebles, White Hills.

6 Freja Dahl, Strathfieldsaye.

6 Amelie Haigh, White Hills.

6 Evie Nuttall, Strathfieldsaye.