CVFL Round 8 Seniors Preview


Golden Square dominates at Woorinen

GOLDEN Square marked a big victory on Woorinen’s ground in Sunday’s finale to the eighth round of the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy action.

The Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square made the long trek north to Tigers’ territory.

A positive start by the blue and gold ended with a 14-point lead at quarter-time.

Golden Square slammed on 4.4 and kept Woorinen scoreless in the second term to lead 48-6 by the long break.

The Bulldogs’ pressure and run did not let up.

Paynton Jolliffe capped off many of the attacking moves by kicking seven goals as Taylah Moore added four and Courtney Hingston chipped in with two.

At the final siren the blue and gold led 95-8.

Best for Golden Square were Terina Pickering, Kate Douglass, Gemma Roberts, Paynton Jolliffe and Taylah Moore.

Was a tough afternoon for the Tigers in which Tenay Fellows, Ngaire Harlan, Emilie Ward, Maddy Price and Jenna Bannam were best for the Katelyn Hazlett-coached line-up.

The Winslow White Hills Demons marked their first win since round one after it dominated the second half of its home game against North Bendigo at Winslow Constructors Oval.

The Phil Murley-coached Demons led 9-8 at half-time against an opponent chasing back-to-back victories.

White Hills scored two goals in the third and led 21-9 at the final change.

In the last it was the Demons who broke clear.

The red and black slammed on 4.2 to just two behinds.

Demons’ captain Oakley Turner capped a brilliant match with five goals as Kadeisha Smith added two in a 47-11 victory.

Alisha Lourie goaled for the red, white and blue.

Best for White Hills were Kadeisha Smith, Chelsea Edwards, Oakley Turner, Tahlia Kendall, Jorja Morrison and Keira Long.

Ella Dobell, Matilda Henley-Johnstone, Nicole Woodman, Maddie Jelbart, Ashlyne McInnes and Rhiannon McAdie were best for the Ross Egleton-coached North Bendigo.

At Queen Elizabeth Oval it was Eaglehawk which took charge after quarter-time to record a 54-11 win against Sandhurst.

The Andrew Saladino-coached Sandhurst started well and led 8-7 at the first break courtesy of a Maddy White goal.

From there it was the more experienced Eaglehawk team which won plenty of stoppages.

The Molly Metcalf and Geoff West-coached Hawks won the second quarter, 17-2.

Eaglehawk added 4.6 to a point in the second half.

The in-form Molly Metcalf led the Borough attack on four goals.

Best for Eaglehawk were Caitlin Evans, Jess Dover, Mia Bolitho-Williams, Lexie Moss, Molly Pianta and Alex Summerfield.

Chloe Taylor, Ruby Campbell, Laura Douglas, Imogen and Liv Douglass, and Chloe Swatton played well for Sandhurst.

The unbeaten Castlemaine scored a big win on Marong’s turf at Malone Park.

Back-to-back premiers in 2021 and ’22, Castlemaine was ruthless against a team in its eighth match in the CVFL senior women’s competition.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Magpies won 158-nil.

There were 15 goalkickers for the ‘Maine of which Jemma Finning and Maeve Tupper kicked three each, and Bronte Ashworth added two.

Best for the Magpies were Abbey Bertram, Chloe Butcher, Maeve Tupper, Tiahna Cochrane, Eillish Cumming and Jemma Finning.

Cody Clark, Hannah Cue, Katrina Alford, Bianca Bourke and Alex Campbell-Smith worked hard for a Marong team jointly coached by David Blume and Jimmy Evenden.

Bendigo Thunder had the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 979 per cent, 28 points; Golden Square 708, 24; Woorinen 212, 20; Eaglehawk 197, 20; Sandhurst 103, 12; Bendigo Thunder 72, 12; White Hills 22, 8; North Bendigo 20, 4; Marong 1, 0.

The league hits the halfway mark of the home-and-away series when round nine kicks off next Friday night.

Golden Square will be on home turf at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street to face Bendigo Thunder from 7pm.

Castlemaine and White Hills clash at the Magpies’ home at Camp Reserve from 7.30pm.

On Saturday it will be Woorinen against

Leading goalkickers:

36 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

29 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

25 Brydi Lewis, Woorinen.

22 Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk.

19 Isabella Ayre, Golden Square.

19 Samantha Johnston, Woorinen.

17 Chelsea Reeves, Sandhurst.

16 Tiahna Cochrane, Castlemaine.

16 Tenay Fellows, Woorinen.

13 Jenna Bannam, Woorinen.

11 Taylah Moore, Golden Square.

11 Victoria Winstanley, Golden Square.

10 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

10 Brianna Burt, Castlemaine.

10 Lily Campbell, Sandhurst.

10 Rachael Stubbings, Castlemaine.

10 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

9 Freda Wosomo, Woorinen.

8 Amanda Carrod, Sandhurst.

8 Kate Douglass, Golden Square.

8 Courtney Hingston, Golden Square.

8 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

8 Oakley Turner, White Hills.

7 Caitlin Evans, Eaglehawk.

7 Shelby Faulkner, Eaglehawk.

7 Lacey Nihill, Sandhurst.

7 Maeve Tupper, Castlemaine.