CVFL Women’s | 2nd Semi Final PREVIEW

Grand final berth at stake for Magpies, Bulldogs

A PLACE in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy grand final is at stake when Castlemaine takes on Golden Square in Sunday’s second semi-final at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

The Magpies and Bulldogs will do battle from 11.30am.

It’s been an incredible run by the Tiahna Cochrane-coached Castlemaine to mark its debut season in the CVFL by finishing the home and away series on top of the ladder.

The team’s unbeaten run stopped on 13 after a one-point loss at home to Bendigo Thunder last Sunday.

Not only do the Magpies face the rare feat of bouncing back from defeat, they do so against a team which has several premiership-winning stars from the 2019 season.

Based on the most recent meeting between Castlemaine and Golden Square, fans can expect another top encounter.


In round 16, Castlemaine led 42-18 at three quarter-time.

The Pies held on for a 44-42 victory after a brilliant final quarter fightback in which the Todd Deary-coached blue and gold scored four unanswered goals and held the Pies to just two behinds.

Goalkickers for the Magpies were Jemma Finning and Lily McNair, two; Tia Davidge and Bridie Semmens.

Golden Square’s attack was led by Tegan Williams, three; Mia Ward, two; and Charlotte Beavan.

Best for the Magpies were Michelle Barkla, Bridie Semmens, Meg Ginnivan and Tia Davidge.

Golden Square’s best were Charlotte Beavan, Letisha Stewart, Keely Hare and Carly Ladson.


First meeting of the season was the Indigenous Round match under lights at Golden Square’s Fur Life Oval on May 27.

The Magpies led 19-7 at half-time and 31-26 at a quarter to go.

Defences were well on top as Castlemaine claimed a 33-29 victory.

Best for the Magpies were Jemma Finning, Tia Davidge, Michelle Barkla and Lily McNair.

Only multiple goalkicker in the contest was Mia Ward on two as Andrea Wilson, Charlotte Beavan, Liz Watkins and Arkie Donnelly played well for Golden Square.

A talented Magpies’ attack includes Shelby Knoll, captain Meg Ginnivan, Lily McNair and Jemma Finning.

The Castlemaine line-up includes Ella Cochrane, Britney Oliver, Emma Pedretti and Meg Tong.

Players to watch for the Bulldogs include captain Amanda Carrod, vice-captain Bree Heiden, Sarah Baldwin and Ruby Campbell.

It will be either Castlemaine or Golden Square who are first to the September 9 grand final to be played under lights at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

As a top-two finisher these teams have earned the double chance.

The loser of the second semi will be in the preliminary final on September 2.


In Sunday’s other final, Bendigo Thunder takes on Eaglehawk in the first semi from 2.30pm at Weeroona Oval in Bendigo’s Napier Street.

The Jac Louttit-coached Thunder won the round six match at home against the Hawks by 42 points.

Thunder led 30-7 at half-time on the way to a 57-15 victory as Britney Mueck kicked five goals.

Best for the BT line-up were Jessica Kennedy, Megan Williamson, Hannah Perry and Abbey Barber.

Lily den Houting kicked both of Eaglehawk’s goals as Kelly Mensforth, Courtney Coffey, Kristal Lugosi and Freyja Pearce were best.

In round 15, Eaglehawk was declared a seven-nil winner after Thunder was stripped of the premiership points and its score for exceeding the players points system.

Best for the Hawks were Kayla Cox, Ebony Whiley, Jasmine Burzacott and Emily Field.

Thunder’s best were Megan Williamson, captain Phoebe Cuttriss, Jessica Gould and Katelyn Hazlett.


Confidence in the Thunder camp has soared after a 32-31 victory at Castlemaine to complete the home and away series.

Britney Mueck kicked two goals against the Magpies as Louise Bibby and Jaime Sawers were on target.

The Hawks won 122-nil at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

The talented Samantha Heron kicked six goals as captain Grace Edlin added five.

Other multiple goalkickers were Molly Metcalf, three, and Drew Ryan, two.

Players to watch in the Geoff West-coached Eaglehawk team include Jasmine Burzacott, Anya Cardilini and Chloe Green.

It’s season over for the defeated line-up as the winner progresses to the preliminary final to be played on September 9 under lights at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.


Final ladder after 18 rounds in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football competition:

Castlemaine 702 per cent, 52 points; Golden Square 644, 48; Bendigo Thunder 456, 36; Eaglehawk 209, 32; Kyneton 185, 32; Strathfieldsaye 32, 16; North Bendigo 6, 4; Kerang 1, 3.


Leading goalkickers:

Castlemaine – 48 Shelby Knoll, 22 Meg Ginnivan, 13 Lily McNair, 8 Ella Cochrane, 8 Eloise Gretgrix, 8 Lily McMahon, 8 Bridie Semmens, 7 Jemma Finning.

Golden Square – 22 Keely Hare, 17 Emily Collins, 16 Mia Ward, 14 Charlotte Beavan, 13 Bree Heiden, 10 Tegan Williams, 8 Amanda Carrod, 8 Jessica Cox.

Bendigo Thunder – 59 Britney Mueck, 15 Georgia Gordon, 13 Jessica Kennedy, 11 Phoebe Cuttriss, 8 Megan Williamson.

Eaglehawk – 24 Samantha Heron, 16 Jasmine Burzacott, 10 Freyja Pearce, 9 Grace Edlin, 9 Molly Metcalf, 7 Lily den Houting, 7 Charlotte Edlin.

Kyneton – 23 Shannon Prendergast, 12 Madeline Stott, 11 Jordan Savoia, 10 Taylah Moore, 8 Heidi Erasmus, 8 Emma Williams, 7 Natalie Korinfsky.

Strathfieldsaye – 13 Britt Tangey, 5 Lana Westaway.

North Bendigo – 6 Kira Gibbons.

Kerang – 1 Toni Kelly (details from round six win against North Bendigo not supplied).


Written by Nathan Dole.