CVFL Women’s | Round 15

North Bendigo celebrates long-awaited victory

NORTH Bendigo’s fight for a long-awaited victory in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition was capped on Sunday as the Bulldogs beat Kerang.

The Ricky Crotty-coached North Bendigo starred on home turf at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street to score a 69-1 victory in the seasons 15th round.

It was a win two years in the making.

Strong defensive efforts from every player was a key factor for the team in red, white and blue which also racked up 21 scoring shots.

In just her sixth game for the club, Kira Gibbons led the attack on five goals as Rachael Booth, Sophie Perkins and Kerri-Ann Zeunert were also on target.

Best afield for North Bendigo was the consistent Quetta Holloway-Jinks.

Gibbons had previously played for Carisbrook and Mount Compass and was among the best for the Bulldogs along with Sophie Perkins, captain Maddie Jelbart, Kirsty Galea and Eloise Wallis.

It was a tough afternoon for the Stephen Arthur-coached Kerang which defeated North Bendigo in round six on the Blues’ turf at Riverside Park.

A list of Kerang’s best players from Sunday’s match was not supplied.

Beaten the previous round, Golden Square struck back on home turf at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street to beat Kyneton by 41 points.

The Todd Deary-coached Golden Square led 27-6 at quarter-time and 45-12 by the main break.

Tegan Williams kicked a game-high three goals as Amanda Carrod and Bree Heiden added two majors in the 69-28 victory.

Kyneton’s goalkickers were Natalie Korinfsky, Taylah Moore, Jennifer Schellekens and Madeline Stott.

Best for the blue and gold were Emma Gilligan, Gemma Free, Amanda Carrod, Natasha Tile, Bree Heiden and Letisha Stewart.

Heidi Erasmus, Belinda Hateley, Shannon White, Lucille Mitchell, Teagan Ainslie and Taylah Moore worked hard for the Phil Hawkes-coached Tigers.

Bendigo Thunder moved to second spot on the ladder after a 62-7 win on Eaglehawk’s ground at Canterbury Park.

The Jac Louttit-coached Thunder led 25-0 at half-time and scored 5.7 to 1.1 in the second half to complete a 62-7 victory.

Jessica Gould, three; and Britney Mueck, two, were Thunder’s multiple goalkickers.

Kristal Lugosi goaled for the Hawks.

Thunder’s best were Megan Williamson, captain Phoebe Cuttriss, Jessica Gould, Katelyn Hazlett, Louise Bibby and Madeline Holt.

Kayla Cox, Ebony Whiley, Jasmine Burzacott, Emily Field, Kirstin Shaw and Olivia Murley were best for the Geoff West-coached Eaglehawk line-up.

Castlemaine and Strathfieldsaye had the bye.


Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 1001 per cent, 44 points; Bendigo Thunder 581, 36; Golden Square 547, 36; Kyneton 186, 32; Eaglehawk 184, 20; Strathfieldsaye 28, 12; North Bendigo 6, 4; Kerang 3, 4.


Leading goalkickers:

59 Britney Mueck, BT.

45 Shelby Knoll, Cm.

22 Keely Hare, GS.

21 Meg Ginnivan, Cm; Shannon Prendergast, Kyn.

17 Emily Collins, GS; Samantha Heron, Eh.

15 Georgia Gordon, BT.

14 Jasmine Burzacott, Eh.

12 Phoebe Cuttriss, BT; Jessica Kennedy, BT; Madeline Stott, Kyn.


Top teams Castlemaine and Golden Square clash in next Sunday’s round 16 action at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

Kyneton is at home at Kyneton Showgrounds to take on Eaglehawk.

Strathfieldsaye and North Bendigo will play on Storm’s turf at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane.

All matches start at 2.30pm.

Bendigo Thunder and Kerang have the bye.


Written by Nathan Dole.