CVFL Women’s | Round 16 PREVIEW

Golden Square aims to break Castlemaine’s streak

GOLDEN Square will aim to break Castlemaine’s unbeaten run in Sunday’s 16th round of the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football competition.

It’s third against first as Golden Square makes the trek south to Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

In an incredible first season in the CVFL, Castlemaine has an 11-0 record and percentage of 1001.

The Tiahna Cochrane-coached Magpies had the bye last round and will be confident of another home-ground victory.

Castlemaine has not played since Pink Round on July 17 after North Bendigo forfeited the July 24 clash set down for Camp Reserve.

When Golden Square and Castlemaine last met in Indigenous Round it was the Magpies who won 33-29 on the blue and gold’s turf at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street.

The Magpies led 19-7 at half-time and 31-26 at a quarter to go.

Mia Ward kicked two goals for Castlemaine as Jemma Finning, Tia Davidge, Michelle Barkla and Lily McNair were best.

Golden Square’s best in that round seven showdown were Andrea Wilson, Charlotte Beavan, Liz Watkins and Arkie Donnelly.

A skilful Magpies’ line-up includes captain Meg Ginnivan, Shelby Knoll in attack, Lily McMahon, Jessica Ross, Bridie Semmens and Aisling Tupper.

Golden Square won last Sunday’s home game against Kyneton by 41 points as Tegan Williams, Amanda Carrod and Bree Heiden led the attack.

Players to watch in the Todd Deary-coached Bulldogs line-up include Gemma Free, Emma Gilligan, Carly Ladson,  Letisha Stewart and Natasha Tile.


Kyneton returns to Tigerland at Kyneton Showgrounds to take on Eaglehawk.

The Tigers marked 42-35 victory at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park in round seven as Shannon Prendergast and Madeline Stott kicked two goals apiece.

Best for Kyneton in that match were Teagan Ainslie, Amy Campbell, Terri Overstead and Rachael Williams.

The Hawks’ attack was led by Charlotte Edlin and Hannah Kenny on two goals as Kayla Cox, Molly Metcalf and Kelly Mensforth were best.

In-form players for the Phil Hawkes-coached Kyneton include Heidi Erasmus, Belinda Hateley, Lucille Mitchell, Taylah Moore and Shannon White.

After being outplayed by Bendigo Thunder last round, Eaglehawk will be determined to hit back.

Players to watch in the Geoff West-coached team from the Borough include Jasmine Burzacott, Kayla Cox, Emily Field, Olivia Murley, Kirstin Shaw and Ebony Whiley.


After a breakthrough victory at home last round, North Bendigo heads to Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane to take on Storm.

In round seven it was Strathfieldsaye which marked a 10-goal win on the Bulldogs’ turf at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

On that occasion it was Storm’s young gun Lila Keck who was best afield and Molly Pianta and Chelsea Reeves kicked three and two goals apiece.

Strathfieldsaye will be wary as North Bendigo’s confidence will have soared.

Kira Gibbons kicked five goals in the Bulldogs’ victory against Kerang and looms as a major danger to Storm.

Other players to watch in the red, white and blue include Cassandra Coughlan, Kirsty Galea, Quetta Holloway-Jinks, captain Maddie Jelbart and Sophie Perkins.

Storm will be refreshed by the bye and has Melissa Freestone, Lucy Gorrie, Bryde and Ireland O’Rourke, Britt Tangey and Lana Westaway capable of winning many contests.

All of Sunday’s matches start at 2.30pm.

Bendigo Thunder and Kerang have the bye.


Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 1001 per cent, 44 points; Bendigo Thunder 581, 36; Golden Square 547, 36; Kyneton 186, 32; Eaglehawk 184, 20; Strathfieldsaye 28, 12; North Bendigo 6, 4; Kerang 3, 4.


Leading goalkickers:

59 Britney Mueck, BT.

45 Shelby Knoll, Cm.

22 Keely Hare, GS.

21 Meg Ginnivan, Cm; Shannon Prendergast, Kyn.

17 Emily Collins, GS; Samantha Heron, Eh.

15 Georgia Gordon, BT.

14 Jasmine Burzacott, Eh.

12 Phoebe Cuttriss, BT; Jessica Kennedy, BT; Madeline Stott, Kyn.


Written by Nathan Dole.