CVFL Women’s | Round 16 WRAP UP

Castlemaine fights to keep unbeaten run rolling

CASTLEMAINE’S undefeated run in its debut season in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football competition was almost broken in Sunday’s clash with Golden Square.

The Magpies and Bulldogs played out a brilliant contest befitting first against third in the 16th round.

The Tiahna Cochrane-coached Castlemaine had home-ground advantage at Camp Reserve and scored 3.0 to 1.2 in the opening term.

The Magpies’ were up by 15 points at half-time after they won the second quarter, 8-3.

Michelle Barkla, Bridie Semmens and captain Meg Ginnivan played key roles as Castlemiane kicked on to build a four-goal lead at a quarter to go.

The Todd Deary-coached Golden Square never gave up and scored four unanswered goals in the last.

Although Castlemaine added just two points in the final term it was enough to clinch a 44-42 victory.

Jemma Finning and Lily McNair led the Magpies’ attack on two goals each.

Tegan Williams kicked a match-high three goals for Golden Square as Mia Ward added two.

Castlemaine’s best included Tia Davidge, Jemma Finning and Aisling Tupper.

Best for Golden Square were Charlotte Beavan, Letisha Stewart, Keely Hare, Carly Ladson, Amanda Carrod and Bree Heiden.


Strathfieldsaye marked a big win against North Bendigo on Storm’s turf at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Storm led 2.3 to nil at quarter-time and added 2.6 to a point in the second.

Led by the play of the classy Lila Keck, Bryde O’Rourke and Melissa Freestone, Strathfieldsaye kicked away to score 8.5 in the second half.

Kerri-Ann Zeunert kicked North Bendigo’s sole goal of the game in the third term.

Britt Tangey booted four goals for Strathfieldsaye and Bryde O’Rourke added two.

Best for the Jake Donegan-coached Storm included Keisha Tonzing and Britt Tangey.

Tyesha Rainsbury, Ashlyne McInnes, Angela Iles, Mikala Creely, Leonie Schulz and Kayla-Brea McIntosh were best for the Ricky Crotty-coached North Bendigo.


Kyneton and Eaglehawk played out a thriller at Kyneton Showgrounds.

The Hawks led 13-1 at quarter-time before the Tigers took the lead by half-time after it score 2.4 to a point in the second term.

The Phil Hawkes-coached Tigers added a point in the third and kept the Hawks scoreless.

Inspired by the play of Molly Metcalf, Kristal Lugosi and Lucy Dawe it was Eaglehawk which scored 1.1 to a point in the last quarter to claim a 21-19 victory.

Goalkickers for Eaglehawk were Jasmine Burzacott, Lucy Dawe and Grace Murley.

Leader of Kyneton’s goalkicking race, Shannon Prendergast booted both of her team’s goals for a season tally of 23.

Best for the Geoff West-coached Borough included Eileen Mitchell, Drew Ryan and Hannah Kenny.

Teagan  Ainslie, Lucille Mitchell, Belinda Hateley, Marnie Love, Heidi Erasmus and Taylah Moore played well for the yellow and black.

Victory has kept the Hawks in the race for a top-four finish.


Fifth on the ladder, Eaglehawk has a 6-6 record and 181.4 per cent ahead of matches against Castlemaine aqt home, and Kerang, away.

Kyneton holds fourth place on an 8-5 record and 181 per cent.

The Tigers run to end the home and away series is to play Bendigo Thunder at Weeroona Oval and then a bye.

Bendigo Thunder and Kerang had the bye in the 17th round.


Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 722 per cent, 48 points; Bendigo Thunder 581, 36; Golden Square 452, 36; Kyneton 181, 32; Eaglehawk 181, 24; Strathfieldsaye 36, 16; North Bendigo 6, 4; Kerang 4, 3.


Leading goalkickers:

59 Britney Mueck, BT.

45 Shelby Knoll, Cm.

23 Shannon Prendergast, Kyn.

22 Keely Hare, GS.

21 Meg Ginnivan, Cm.

17 Emily Collins, GS; Samantha Heron, Eh.

15 Jasmine Burzacott, Eh; Georgia Gordon, BT.

13 Britt Tangey, S’saye.

12 Phoebe Cuttriss, BT; Jessica Kennedy, BT; Madeline Stott, Kyn.; Mia Ward, GS.


Round 17 kicks off Saturday night when Eaglehawk takes on Castlemaine in the battle of the Hawks and Magpies at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park from 5.15pm.

The round will be completed on Sunday.

Golden Square plays Kerang at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street from 2.30pm.

Bendigo Thunder and Kyneton meet from 2.30pm at Weeroona Oval in Bendigo’s Napier Street.

It’s a bye for North Bendigo and Strathfieldsaye Storm.


Written by Nathan Dole.