CVFL Women’s | Round 17 WRAP UP

Thunder rolls to victory against Kyneton

BENDIGO Thunder rolled to a 40-point victory against Kyneton in Sunday’s 17th round in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football competition.

It had been a turbulent build-up to the match for Thunder after it was stripped of points won in rounds 14 and 15 against Golden Square and Eaglehawk because of a player points breach.

Thunder coach Jac Louttit played in a crucial showdown with Kyneton at Bendigo’s Weeroona Oval.

Thunder led 26-1 at quarter-time and scored 2.1 to a goal in the second.

Led by the play of Megan Williamson, Jessica Kennedy and captain Phoebe Cuttriss, Thunder added 3.3 to 2.1 in the second half to complete a 60-40 victory.

Louise Bibby, Britney Mueck and vice-captain Hannah Perry all kicked two goals each for the winners.

Goalkickers for the Phil Hawkes-coached Kyneton were Heidi Erasmus, Jane Rolls, and captain Jordan Savoia.

Thunder’s best included Imogen Kendal, Jac Louttit and Madeline Holt.

Best for Kyneton were Marnie Love, Teagan Ainslie, Heidi Erasmus, Emma Williams, Taylah Moore and Amy Campbell.

Castlemaine scored a 10-goal win under Eaglehawk’s lights in Canterbury Park on Saturday night.

Lily McNair kicked three goals and Lily McMahon added two in a 10.7 (67) to 1.1 (7) victory.

The Hawks’ leading goalkicker this season, Samantha Heron goaled for the Two Blues.

Best for the Tiahna Cochrane-coached Castlemaine were Aisling Tupper, Tia Davidge, Meg Ginnivan, Ella Cochrane, Jessica Ross and Emma Pedretti.

Eileen Mitchell, Hannah Kenny, Molly Metcalf, Kelly Mensforth, Kirstin Shaw and Grace Murley worked hard for the Hawks.

Despite the loss, Eaglehawk could regain fourth place in the final round as it plays at Kerang’s Riverside Park on Sunday and the fourth-placed Kyneton has the bye.

Golden Square claimed the four points without having to take to the field at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street as Kerang forfeited the match.

North Bendigo and Strathfieldsaye had the bye.


CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 733 per cent, 52 points; Golden Square 525, 44; Bendigo Thunder 509, 32; Kyneton 162, 32; Eaglehawk 181, 28; Strathfieldsaye 36, 16; North Bendigo 6, 4; Kerang 3, 4.


Leaders in the goalkicking race:

57 Britney Mueck, BT.

45 Shelby Knoll, Cm.

23 Shannon Prendergast, Kyn.

22 Meg Ginnivan, Cm; Keely Hare, GS.

18 Samantha Heron, Eh.

17 Emily Collins, GS.

15 Jasmine Burzacott, Eh; Georgia Gordon, BT.

13 Jessica Kennedy, BT; Lily McNair, Cm; Britt Tangey, S’saye.


The final round in the home and away series will be played next Sunday.

Kerang is on home turf at Riverside Park to tackle Eaglehawk from 1pm.

Castlemaine and Bendigo Thunder clash on the Magpies’ ground at Camp Reserve from 2.30pm.

Strathfieldsaye plays Golden Square from 2.30pm at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane.

It’s a bye for Kyneton and North Bendigo.


Written by Nathan Dole.