CVFL Women’s | Round 18 PREVIEW

Castlemaine aims to mark unbeaten run into finals

A FIRST-YEAR competitor in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition, Castlemaine will aim to mark a 14th consecutive victory in this Sunday’s 18th round to complete the home and away series.

The Tiahana Cochrane-coached Castlemaine will be back before vocal fans at Camp Reserve to take on Bendigo Thunder from 2.30pm.

It’s first against third in the lead-up to the finals series.

Both teams had big wins last round.

Castlemaine won 67-7 at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park as Aisling Tupper, Tia Davidge, Meg Ginnivan and Ella Cochrane were best.

Thunder won 60-20 against Kyneton at Weeroona Oval as Megan Williamson, Jessica Kennedy, captain Phoebe Cuttriss, Imogen Kendal and coach Jac Louttit led the way.

When Thunder and Castlemaine met in round nine it was the BT line-up which led 25-15 at half-time.

The Magpies fought back to win the third term, 3.7, and added 4.4 in the last as it kept Thunder scoreless in the second half to complete a 68-25 victory.

Best for Castlemaine in that clash were Tia Davidge, captain Meg Ginnivan, Scarlett, Orritt and Jemma Finning.

Thunder’s best were Jessica Kennedy, Katelyn Hazlett, Jacqui Graham and Imogen Kendal.

The defensive workrate of Thunder’s team will be crucial to halt a hard-running and skilful Castlemaine team.


First of Sunday’s matches starts at 1pm when Kerang hosts Eaglehawk at Riverside Park.

The Stephen Arthur-coached Kerang forfeited last Sunday’s match against Golden Square.

Victory for the Geoff West-coached Eaglehawk will earn a finals berth as Kyneton, which has the bye, will drop from the fifth rung to fourth.

In round nine, Eaglehawk scored a big win at home against the Blues.

Strathfieldsaye is on home turf at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane to take on Golden Square from 2.30pm.

The Jake Donegan-coached Storm had the bye last round.

Key players for Strathfieldsaye include Lila Keck, Bryde and Ireland O’Rourke, Britt Tangey and Keisha Tonzing.

Other players to watch in Storm’s line-up are Melissa Freestone, Eliza Long and Lana Westaway.


Golden Square will be keen to be back in action after a forfeit.

In round 16 the Bulldogs put in a great effort  to almost break Castlemaine’s winning streak.

Scores were 44-42 in Castlemaine’s favour when the siren ended a superb clash at Camp Reserve.

Best for the Todd Deary-coached Golden Square were Charlotte Beavan, Letisha Stewart, Keely Hare and Carly Ladson.

In round nine the blue and gold scored a 58-14 win against Strathfieldsaye at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

A talented Golden Square line-up which has an 11-2 record includes Amanda Carrod, Emma Gilligan, Bree Heiden, Letisha Stewart and Andrea Wilson.


Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 733 per cent, 52 points; Golden Square 525, 44; Bendigo Thunder 509, 32; Kyneton 162, 32; Eaglehawk 181, 28; Strathfieldsaye 36, 16; North Bendigo 6, 4; Kerang 3, 4.


Leading goalkickers:

57 Britney Mueck, BT.

45 Shelby Knoll, Cm.

23 Shannon Prendergast, Kyn.

22 Meg Ginnivan, Cm; Keely Hare, GS.

18 Samantha Heron, Eh.

17 Emily Collins, GS.

15 Jasmine Burzacott, Eh; Georgia Gordon, BT.

13 Jessica Kennedy, BT; Lily McNair, Cm; Britt Tangey, S’saye.

12 Madeline Stott, Kyn.; Mia Ward, GS.

11 Phoebe Cuttriss, BT; Jordan Savoia, Kyn.

10 Charlotte Beavan, GS; Taylah Moore, Kyn.; Freyja Pearce, Eh; Tegan Williams, GS.


Written by Nathan Dole.