CVFL Women’s | Round 18 WRAP UP

Thunder strikes to break Castlemaine’s unbeaten run

IT TOOK until the final round of the home and away series, but Castlemaine’s unbeaten streak in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition was broken on Sunday.

Bendigo Thunder played inspired football on Castlemaine’s turf at Camp Reserve to score a one-point victory.

The Tiahna Cochrane-coached Castlemaine led 13-5 at quarter-time, but Thunder struck back to win the second term, 12-2, to lead by two points at the long break.

Thunder’s pressure did not let up as it scored 1.3 and held the Magpies to just two points in the crucial third quarter.

The ‘Maine lifted in the last to score 2.2, but a goal was enough for the Jac Louttit-coached Thunder to claim a 32-31 victory.

The competition’s leading goalkicker, Britney Mueck booted two goals as Louise Bibby and Jaime Sawers added a goal each.

Castlemaine’s attack was led by Shelby Knoll, three, and Bridie Semmens.

Best for Thunder were Megan Williamson, Jessica Kennedy, captain Phoebe Cuttriss, Abbey Barber, Imogen Kendal and Katelyn Hazlett.

Castlemaine’s best were Victoria Christie, captain Meg Ginnivan, Tia Davidge, Jemma Finning, Bridie Semmens and Taylah Sartori.


Eaglehawk marked the trek north to Kerang’s Riverside Park and returned home 122-nil victors.

A list of the Hawks’ goalscorers was not supplied.

Best for the Geoff West-coached Eaglehawk were Courtney Smith, Hannah Kenny, Emily Field, Kelly Mensforth, Chloe Green and Grace Edlin.

Jessica Searle, Jedda Birch, Kate Spiers, Sarah Ride, Kendall Ash and Yasmin Harrington played well for the Stephen Arthur-coached Kerang.


Golden Square had 40 scoring shots in its match on Strathfieldsaye Storm’s turf at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

The Bulldogs led 31-1 at quarter-time and scored 5.5 to nil in the second term.

Led by the play of Bree Heiden, Charlotte Beavan and Ruby Campbell, Golden Square went on to win 135-2.

Vice-captain of the team, Bree Heiden kicked five goals as Charlotte Beavan and Mia Ward, four; and Sarah Baldwin, two, capitalised on Golden Square’s dominance at stoppages and centre clearances.

Best for the Todd Deary-coached Golden Square included Amanda Carrod, Emma Gilligan and Mia Ward.

Bryde and Ireland O’Rourke, Eliza Long, Molly Pianta and Caitlin Shaw were best for the Jake Donegan-coached Storm.


Kyneton and North Bendigo had the bye.


Semi-finals will be played this Sunday.

Castlemaine has home turf at Camp Reserve for a second semi-final showdown with Golden Square from 11.30am.

Bendigo Thunder and Eaglehawk meet in this Sunday’s first semi-final at Weeroona Oval in Napier Street, Bendigo at 2.30pm.

The winner of the second semi advances to the grand final to be played on September 9 under the lights at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

The beaten team in the second semi-final will play in the preliminary final on September 2 under lights at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.


Final ladder after 18 rounds in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football competition in 2022:

Castlemaine 702 per cent, 52 points; Golden Square 843, 48; Bendigo Thunder 456, 36; Eaglehawk 209, 32; Kyneton 185, 32; Strathfieldsaye 32, 16; North Bendigo 6, 4; Kerang 3, 4.


Leading goalkickers:

59 Britney Mueck, BT.

48 Shelby Knoll, Cm.

23 Shannon Prendergast, Kyn.

22 Meg Ginnivan, Cm; Keely Hare, GS.

18 Samantha Heron, Eh.

17 Emily Collins, GS.

16 Mia Ward, GS.

15 Georgia Gordon, BT.

14 Charlotte Beavan, GS.

13 Bree Heiden, GS; Jessica Kennedy, BT; Lily McNair, Cm; Britt Tangey, S’saye.

12 Madeline Stott, Kyn.

11 Phoebe Cuttriss, BT; Jordan Savoia, Kyn.

10 Taylah Moore, Kyn.; Freyja Pearce, Eh; Tegan Williams, GS.

Note: goals from Eaglehawk’s round 18 win at Kerang not included.