CVFL Women’s | Semi Finals WRAP UP

Square, Thunder dominate semi-final showdowns

GOLDEN Square and Bendigo Thunder marked winning starts to the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football semi-finals on Sunday.

In pursuit of back-to-back premierships, Golden Square played inspired football on Castlemaine’s turf at Camp Reserve in the second semi-final.

The Bulldogs had been beaten by the Magpies who had an unbeaten run of 13 games in both home-and-away matches.

The Tiahna Cochrane-coached Castlemaine was on the rebound from its first defeat of the season as it also lined up for its first final.

The Todd Deary-coached Golden Square led seven-nil at quarter-time and then added 2.2 to 2.1 in the second term.

After half-time it was the blue and gold which took control of centre breaks and stoppages to continually put the ball into its attacking 50.

Golden Square slammed on 4.1 to nil in a brilliant third quarter.

By the final siren, the Bulldogs led 7.6 (48) to 2.2 (14).

Brea Ross and Tegan Williams kicked two goals apiece as Carly Ladson and Charlotte Beavan added one apiece.

A list of best players was not supplied by either club.

Victory has put Golden Square, unbeaten premier in the 2019 season, into another grand final to be played on Friday, September 9 under the Queen Elizabeth Oval lights from 7pm.


Bendigo Thunder was too strong for Eaglehawk on Thunder’s ground at Weeroona Oval.

The Hawks stared well to lead 14-8 at quarter-time, but Thunder then scored 5.3 to nil in the second term.

Led by the place of Madeline Holt, Jessica Kennedy and Shae-Lee Murphy, Thunder’s team added 3.4 to 1.2 in the second half to complete a 63-22 victory.

The competition’s leading goalkicker, Britney Mueck played a starring role with five goals as Jaime Sawers added two and Jessica Kennedy and coach Jac Louttit booted a goal each.

Goalkickers for the Hawks were Courtney Coffey, captain Grace Edlin, and Freyja Pearce.

Thunder’s best included Jaime Sawers, captain Phoebe Cuttriss and Britney Mueck.

Best for the Geoff West-coached Hawks were Grace Murley, Grace Edlin, Molly Metcalf, Drew Ryan, Kayla Cox and Freyja Pearce.

Castlemaine now meets Bendigo Thunder in next Friday’s preliminary final to be played under lights at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park from 7pm.

The Magpies and Thunder met in the 18th and final round of the home-and-away series in which Castlemaine’s unbeaten run was broken in a one-point loss at Camp Reserve.


Written by Nathan Dole.